IPH 150 - Jewish and Black-ish: US Diasporic Cultures - A Guide to American Culture Studies - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Reference Works - A Place to Begin

African Americans

Encyclopedia of Black Studies by Molefi Kete Asante (Editor); Mambo Ama Mazama (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452265445
Publication Date: 2005
the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black experience. The concept for the encyclopedia was developed from the successful Journal of Black Studies (SAGE) and contains a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent. This single-volume reference is the vanguard of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field.
The World of Jim Crow America: a daily life encyclopedia by Steven A. Reich (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440850813
Publication Date: 2019
a thematically-arranged encyclopedia covering the social, political, and material culture of America during the Jim Crow Era. This Daily Life encyclopedia explores the lives of average people through the examination of social, cultural, and material history.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman, Editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780195167795
Publication Date: 2009
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.

Jewish Americans

Encyclopedia of American Jewish History by Stephen H. Norwood & Eunice G. Pollack, Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1851096434
Publication Date: 2007
Written by the most prominent scholars in American Jewish history, this encyclopedia illuminates the varied experiences of America's Jews and their impact on American society and culture over three and a half centuries.
Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture by Jack Fischel
Call Number: E184.35 .E54 2009 Olin Library Level 3 Stacks
ISBN: 9780313339899
Publication Date: 2008
This unique encyclopedia chronicles American Jewish popular culture, past and present in music, art, food, religion, literature, and more.

Other

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028661957
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Multicultural America by Carlos E. Cortes (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452216836
Publication Date: 2013
This comprehensive title is among the first to extensively use newly released 2010 U.S. Census data to examine multiculturalism today and tomorrow in America.
Multicultural Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood by James Robert Parish & T. Allan Taylor, Editors
Call Number: PN1995.9.M56 E52 200 Olin Library Level A Stacks
ISBN: 0816046042
Publication Date: 2002
Alphabetically arranged biographical and topical entries cover the treatment and progress of African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans in motion pictures and television.
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics [2 Volumes] by Jeffrey Schultz, Kerrry L. Haynie, Anne M. McCulloch, and Andrew Aoki, Editors
Call Number: E184.A1 E574 2000 Olin Library Level 3
ISBN: 1573561290
Publication Date: 1999
The Encyclopedia is the only resource available that focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture by Robert Gregg, Gary W. McDonogh, & Cindy H. Wong, Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0415161614
Publication Date: 2000
As a meeting point for world cultures, the USA is characterized by its breadth and diversity. Acknowledging that diversity is the fundamental feature of American culture, this volume is organized around a keen awareness of race, gender, class and space and with over 1,200 alphabetically-arranged entries - spanning 'the American century' from the end of World War II to the present day.
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Paul S. Boyer, Editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0195082095
Publication Date: 2001
Here is a volume that is as big and as varied as the nation it portrays. With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History by Lynn Dumenil, Editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780199743360
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History brings together in a single authoritative reference work an extraordinary wealth of information about the history of everyday life in America.

Book Searching

MOVING FROM KEYWORDS TO SUBJECT HEADINGS

African Americans -- Relations with Jews
most relevant Library of Congress subject heading for this class but not the only one
The Results of an Advanced Subject Search
"African Americans" AND "relations with Jews" as two, separate phrases within subject headings. Produces roughly 20 more titles than the previous link

Academic Journal Databases

EBSCO

America: History & Life (1964-)
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. Learn more about this database .

ProQuest

Political Science Database
(1985-)Full-text of 430 political science and international relations journals, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. Also included are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network, and more than 700 Oxford Analytica country profiles, from 2008 to current.

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR
Journals, books, images and primary sources.

Primary Sources

African American Newspapers (ProQuest)
Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
A primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life. Learn more about this database
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
Covers news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Honored by the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
American Israelite (1854-2000)
Publications of the American Israelite, an English-language Jewish newspaper, from 1854-2000.
MAS Ultra (1975 - )
Full text for more than 700 popular magazines, plus biographies, primary source documents, pamphlets, and reference books. Complements Academic Search Complete.
PressReader
Full-color, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world, providing instant access to 1000+ newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. For most papers, only the most current 60 days are available. Learn more about this database .
Nexis Uni
Up-to-date news, business, and legal information.
Academic Video Online
the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including American History, Black Studies, Music & Performing Arts, CNN, CBS, PBS channels, etc.