AMCS 250 - Introduction to Asian American & Pacific Islander Studies - A Guide to American Culture Studies - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Reference Works - A Place to Begin

Asian Americans -- Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today by Edith Wen-Chu Chen (Editor); Grace J. Yoo (Editor); Wendy Ng (Associate Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313347504
Publication Date: 2010
offers 110 entries on the current state of affairs, controversies, successes, and outlooks for future for Asian Americans. The sections include: Diversity and Demographics (unique entries on Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean, South Asian, Southeast Asian, and Thai Americans); Economy and Work (accent discrimination, glass ceiling, globalization, H-1B visas, housing, impact of Asian immigrants on the U.S. economy, labor unions, low-income workers, poverty, and small business ownership and employment); Education (affirmative action, Asian American Studies, bilingual education, college campus climate, community college students, cram schools, freedom schools, model minority myth, parental pressure and expectations, retention of college students, standardized testing, student groups, undocumented immigrant students); Health (cancer, cardiovascular health, complementary and alternative medicine, diabetes, end of life, gambling, health care access, infectious diseases, mental health, sexual health, substance abuse, suicide, tobacco use), and Identity (psychological approaches to understanding Asian American identity, Asian American identities in Hawai'i, beauty pageants, LGBTQ identity, multiracial Asian and Pacific Islanders, Pan-South Asian identity, racial features and cosmetic surgery, and religious identity and marginalization). Editors are professors at California State University - Northridge and San Francisco State University.
Multicultural America by Carlos E. Cortes, Editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1452216835
Publication Date: 2013
explores this pivotal moment and its ramifications with more than 900 signed entries not just providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories but also covering the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today. Pedagogical elements include an introduction, a thematic reader's guide, a chronology of multicultural milestones, a glossary, a resource guide to key books, journals, and Internet sites, and an appendix of 2010 U.S. Census Data. Finally, the electronic version will be the only reference work on this topic to augment written entries with multimedia for today's students, with 100 videos (with transcripts) from Getty Images and Video Vault, the Agence France Press, and Sky News, as reviewed by the media librarian of the Rutgers WashU Libraries, working in concert with the title's editors. The editor is Professor Emeritus of History from University of California - Riverside.
The Asian American Encyclopedia by Franklin Ng, Editor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1854356771
Publication Date: 1995
explores the experience of Asian immigrants and the communities which they and their descendants have created in the United States, and offers information about the history, language and culture of Asian Americans' diverse countries of origin. Editor is professor of Anthropology and Asian American Studies at California State University - Fresno.

Japanese Americans

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by Japanese-American National Museum Staff; Brian Niiya (Editor); Daniel K. Inouye (Foreword by)
Call Number: Olin Library Level 3 Stacks E184.J3 E53 2001
ISBN: 0816040931
Publication Date: 2001
Written under the auspices of the Japanese American National Museum, this reference work incorporates new materials and scholarly research, creating a current, all-encompassing, and accessible reference on the subject. In addition to an A-to-Z encyclopedia section, also includes a detailed chronology of major events in Japanese American history and an extensive bibliography of the best sources for further research.

Hollywood

Multicultural Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood by James Robert Parish & T. Allan Taylor, Editors
Call Number: Olin Library Level A Stacks PN1995.9.M56 E52 2003
ISBN: 0816046042
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
biographical and topical entries cover the treatment and progress of African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans in motion pictures and television. The editor has authored more than one hundred books about entertainment history and Hollywood celebrities

Politics

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics [2 Volumes] by Jeffrey Schultz, Kerry L. Haynie, Anne M. McCulloch, & Andrew Aoki, Editors
Call Number: Olin Library Level 3 Stacks E184.A1 E574 2000
ISBN: 1573561290
Publication Date: 2000
focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations. All the editors were political science professors at various U.S. universities and colleges.

In the Southern States

The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Race by Thomas Cleveland Holt, Laurie B. Green & Charles Reagan Wilson, Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781469607221
Publication Date: 2013
this concluding volume of the series challenges previous understandings, revealing the region's rich, ever-expanding diversity and providing new explorations of race relations. In 36 thematic and 29 topical essays. Together the essays paint a nuanced portrait of how concepts of race in the South have influenced its history, art, politics, and culture beyond the familiar binary of black and white. Potentially useful entries include: "Asian American Narratives between Black and White;" "Asians, Mexicans, Interracialism, and Racial Ambiguities;" "Chinese;" "Japanese American Incarceration during World War II;" "Pacific Worlds and the South," and "Vietnamese." The editors of this volume are professors of American and African American History.

Political Issues

CQ Researcher (1991 - )
Each report provides an in-depth exploration of a news topic. 44 reports per year.

Subject Headings

Southeast Asian American

Thai American

Vietnamese American

[National origin] -- Missouri -- Saint Louis

Academic Journal Article Databases

EBSCO

America: History & Life (1964-)
Bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts (1955-)
Historical journal coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journals, plus extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Access provided by the Brown School Library.
Business Source Complete (1965-)
Scholarly journals and other sources including books, conference proceedings, industry reports, company profiles, financial data, case studies, and more. Updated daily.
American Psychological Association (APA) PsycArticles
Journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience from the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group (English-language titles). Updated weekly.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (1975 - )
Index and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Gender Studies Database (1972- )
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Global Health (1973 - )
A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. Access is limited to 3 users at a time. Please log out when you are finished.

Multidisciplinary databases

JSTOR
Journals, books, images and primary sources.
Quick Search
Search or browse the Libraries’ books, journals, media, and electronic resources.

Primary Sources

Periodicals: Journals, Newspapers & Magazines

Periodicals: Journals, Newspapers & Magazines
comprehensive section under the "Articles" tab on the general U.S. History research guide

Other Periodicals

Ethnic Newswatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic and minority presses. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
MAS Ultra (1975 - )
Full text for more than 700 popular magazines, plus biographies, primary source documents, pamphlets, and reference books. Complements Academic Search Complete.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States
A standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Contains over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources.

U.S. Congress

ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes: CIS Legislative Histories (public laws back to 1969), Congressional publications (1817 - ), testimony from Congressional hearings (1824-), Congressional Record and Federal Register, U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969, Serial Set Maps, 1789-1969, and more.
Legislative Insight
Legislative Insight provides legislative histories with digital full-text publications. It contains over 27,000 legislative histories for federal laws, including some enacted as far back as 1789. Only includes congressional publications that are related to bills enacted into law that are included in this database. For other full-text congressional documents, see ProQuest Congressional.

Culture Industry

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-2015)
Full-page images of US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, as well as film fan magazines and music press titles. Primary sources from the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Rolling Stone Archive (1967 - present)
One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, spanning music, politics / society, and entertainment. Coverage is from Rolling Stone's launch in 1967, with ongoing addition of new issues. Rolling Stone initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.

Asian American St. Louis Resources

St. Louis History Guide
See Miranda Rectenwald, Curator of Local History, for further assistance
St. Louis Chinese-American History Guide
See Joan Wang, East Asian and Chinese Studies Librarian, for further assistance
St. Louis Japanese-American History Guide
see David Romney, Subject Librarian for East Asian Languages and Cultures (Japan & Korea), for further assistance
Culture Links
the International Institute's Directory of International/intercultural Resources in Metro St. Louis