1928
Nineteen twenty-eight, A.D.
"1928 in the United States" Wikipedia
1939
"1939 in the United States" Wikipedia
Bolino, August C. From depression to war: American society in transition - 1939. Westport, CT; London: Praeger, 1998.
Kee, Robert. 1939: In the shadow of war. Boston: Little, Brown, 1984.
Flannery, Tom. 1939, the year in movies: A comprehensive filmography. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1990.
Taylor, Fred. 1939: A people's history: 'The war nobody wanted.' London: Picador, 2019.
Sangster, Andrew. An analytical diary of 1939-1940: the twelve months that changed the world. Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2017.
"Timeline 1939: A historical series." Whirlwind Media, Sebastopol, CA, 2001 (256 min.)
1944
Nineteen forty-four, A.D.
"1944 in the United States" Wikipedia
Brooks, Victor. The longest year: America at war and at home in 1944. New York, NY: Carrel Books, 2015.
Reading the postwar future: Textual turning points from 1944. Kirrily Freeman & John Munro, eds. London: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, 2019
"Timeline 1944: A historical series." Whirlwind Media, Sebastopol, CA, 2001 (251 min.)
1952
"1952 in the United States" Wikipedia
"The Baby boom years. 1952: The definitive collection of 1950s American music, news, fashion, fads and kitsch that continues to influence the world." Historic Films Archive, 2014.
"Timeline 1952: A historical series." Sebastopol, CA: Whirlwind Media, Inc., 2001 (180 min.)
1962
"1962 in the United States" Wikipedia
Kynaston, David. On the cusp: Days of '62. London: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, 2021.
"The Baby boom years. 1962: The definitive collection of 1960s American music, news, fashion, fads and kitsch that continues to influence the world." Historic Films Archive, 2013.
"Timeline 1962: A historical series." Sebastopol, CA: Whirlwind Media, Inc., 2001 (195 min.)
1984
Nineteen eighty-four, A.D.
"1984 in the United States" Wikipedia
Historic documents of 1984. Thousand Oaks, CA: CQ Press, 2013.
Matos, Michaelangelo. Can't slow down: How 1984 became pop's blockbuster year. New York, NY: Hachette Books, 2020.
Wertheim, L. Jon. Glory days: The summer of 1984 and the 90 days that changed sports and culture forever. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021.
Newspapers and Magazines
American Periodicals (1740 - 1940) - full-text periodicals including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
TIME (Chicago) 03/03/1923 to Present in Academic Search Complete
LIFE magazine (Chicago) 11/23/1936 - 12/29/1972 in Freely Accessible Journals
Newsweek (New York) 01/06/1975 to 09/27/2013 in Nexis Uni
MAS Ultra (1975 - ) full text for more than 700 popular magazines like Black Scholar and Black History Bulletin to Jet, Ebony, and Essence; to U.S. News & World Report, Economist, Time, National Review, The Nation, Newsweek, Forbes, New Yorker, Sports Illustrated, Scientific American, etc.
Historical American Newspapers (ProQuest) - includes The Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
African American Newspapers (ProQuest) - includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) - before there was the Internet, there was The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. The Reader's Guide indexed all the major, mainstream periodicals of its time. Much like the Guide, the Retrospective does not have the full text of the article, only the bibliographic citation.
Chronicling America - over 1000 full-text U.S. newspaper titles from 46 states & Puerto Rico published between 1793-1963. The focus of this collection is smaller circulating newspapers not the large, well-known, metropolitan papers available through ProQuest’s Historical American Newspapers.
Newspapers.com - available through St. Louis Public Library; historical newspapers from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. It contains a diverse blend of well-known regional and local newspapers in the US and other countries, including the St. Louis Globe Democrat (published 1852-1986; digitized 1863-1963).
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals 1845 - 2015 is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations.
Independent Voices - a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Ethnic Newswatch - full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Trade Journals
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive - the core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Media History Digital Library A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Collections feature Extensive Runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
Rock's Backpages an online archive of music journalism, sourced from freelance contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day.
Rolling Stone Archive (1967 - present)
Advertisements
Ad*Access - Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements from 1911-1955 covering five product categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda.
Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United States - A standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Contains over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources.
Public Opinion Surveys/Polls
Roper Center - holds polling data ranging from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present.
Polling the Nations - 500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
Video
Historic Films - the most comprehensive source for licensing stock, musical performance and entertainment footage.
Academic Video Online - the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc..