Encyclopedia of American immigration. Carl L. Bankston III, ed. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2010 - covers the full depth and breadth of American immigration history. In addressing all the diverse demographic, economic, legal, political, and social aspects of immigration, the set provides both a comprehensive picture of the role of immigration in American history and contemporary perspectives on modern immigration. eBook
Daniels, Roger. American immigration: A student companion. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001 - more than 300 entries, covering multiple aspects of immigration history and policy: ethnic groups; key immigration legislation; terms and concepts; categories of immigrants; immigration stations, religious groups and churches. Further reading lists and cross-references follow each entry. eBook
Encyclopedia of immigration and migration in the American West. Gordon Morris Bakken & Alexandra Kindell, eds. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006 - Immigration from foreign countries was a small part of the peopling of the American West but an important aspect in building western infrastructure, cities, and neighborhoods. This work provides much more than ethnic groups crossing the plains, landing at ports, or crossing borders; this two-volume work makes the history of the American West an important part of the American experience through sweeping entries, focused biographies, community histories, economic enterprise analysis, and demographic studies. eBook
Immigration and asylum: From 1900 to the present. Matthew J. Gibney and Randall Hansen, eds. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005. is an accessible and up-to-date introduction to the key concepts, terms, personalities, and real-world issues associated with the surge of immigration from the beginning of the 20th century to the present. It focuses on the United States, but is also the first encyclopedic work on the subject that reflects a truly global perspective. With contributions from the world's foremost authorities on the subject nearly 200 entries organized around four themes: immigration and asylum; the major migrating groups around the world; expulsions and other forced population movements; and the politics of migration. Print
Encyclopedia of diasporas: Immigrant and refugee cultures around the world. Melvin Ember, Carol R. Ember, and Ian Skoggard, eds. New York: Springer, 2005 - This encyclopedia consists of two volumes covering three main sections: Diaspora Overviews covers over 20 ethnic groups that have experienced voluntary or forced immigration. These essays discuss the history behind the social, economic, and political reasons for leaving the original countries, and the cultures in the new places; Topics discusses the impact and assimilation that the immigrant cultures experience in their adopted cultures, including the arts they bring, the struggles they face, and some of the cities that are in the forefront of receiving immigrant cultures; Diaspora Communities include over 60 portraits of specific diaspora communities. Print
Books
"historiography" and "bibliography" are LCSH subheadings
Academic Journal databases
America: History & Life A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.
Historical Abstracts coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
JSTOR a digital library of almost 2,000 journals academic journals. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar a freely accessible search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines including peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents (approximately 79–90% coverage of all articles published in English with an estimate of 100 million).
In print
Library catalogers use the subheading "Sources" at the end of a string of subheadings to indicate anthologies of primary sources. However, cataloging is not a perfect science, so not every collection of primary sources has this subheading. For example, a search for the keyword phrase "documentary sourcebook" in the WashU Libraries' catalog produces seven titles, only three of which have "sources" as a subheading. In other words, performing a subject search will not produce a complete list of all primary source collections. Sometimes the source one wants to find is not in an anthology but cited in a bibliography of another work. You might want to try an advanced search with a combination of subject headings and keywords like “sources,” "sourcebook," "primary sources," "primary documents," etc. Other subheadings which indicate bound, primary source collections include personal narratives, correspondence, manuscripts, maps, literary collections, biography, et. al.
Databases
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 - a collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954 - primary sources addressing key topics such as the immigration process and evolution of early Jewish Settlements, differing strands of Judaism in America, Jewish schools and charitable institutions, and civil rights and minority rights issues.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (1996-2022) - data tables on foreign nationals granted lawful permanent U.S. residence, admitted as temporary nonimmigrants, granted asylum or refugee status, or are naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including apprehensions and arrests, removals, and returns.
Newspapers
American Periodicals: Newspapers & Magazines from the LibGuide to American History "Articles" tab
Chronicling America - over 1000 full-text U.S. newspaper titles from 46 states & Puerto Rico (as of 8/30/18)
The subject headings of most U.S. newspapers take the form of "City (state abbreviation) -- newspapers" such as Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Newspapers. However, that's not always the case. For example, occasionally African American newspapers like the St. Louis Argus had been categorized as African Americans -- Missouri -- Newspapers and not under St. Louis (Mo.) -- Newspapers (that has since been corrected).
Law & Government
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, Parts I and II the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
HeinOnline more than 900 searchable full-text law journals and many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Campus-wide access is due to subscription by the WU Law Library.
ProQuest Congressional comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes: CIS Legislative Histories (public laws back to 1969), Congressional publications (1817 - ), testimony from Congressional hearings (1824-), Congressional Record and Federal Register, U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969, Serial Set Maps, 1789-1969, and more.
