signage at the San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
[keyword] encyclopedia
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus' voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.
Librarians organize information using controlled vocabulary. Books in most academic libraries are organized by Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) in addition to author and title, and most subjects are subdivided by more specific subheadings. Not even your subject specialist librarian has memorized all of the LCSHs for his fields. If you don't know the LCSH for the topic you are searching, you can begin with a keyword ("Word(s)") search in the Classic Catalog. When you find a title that fits your topic, you can click on its record, find its LCSH ("Subjects"), and then click on that link to find all titles in the WUSTL libraries under that subject heading. Sometimes, when you find a subheading, it is worth searching under the broadest subject heading, so that you can see all the subheadings under that subject. Keep in mind, most books have multiple subject headings, and not all books which you might consider relevant to your topic will appear under the same subject heading. Assigning subject headings is a human process subject to error, judgment calls, and language conventions of the day. Below are some common subject headings for this class.
Indexes over 200 library and information science periodicals published internationally, and more than 600 books per year. Updated monthly.
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Sources
Newspapers
Pictorial Works
