Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to American History

This page brings together various information resources on the subject of American History.

Required Texts

Brundage, Anthony, 1938- . Going to the Sources: A guide to historical research and writing (2018) - WUSTL 
Kimmel, Michael S. Manhood in America: A cultural history (3rd ed., 2012) - WUSTL 2-hr Reserve * MOBIUS 

Brown, Claude, 1937- . Manchild in the Promised Land (1965) - WUSTL * MOBIUS orig. McMillan edNew American Library edSimon & Schuster 1999 ed. Scribner 2012 ed. * SLPL * MLC CD audiobook 

Major Subject Headings

African American men [a number of useful subheadings like "Psychology" and "Attitudes"]
Asian American Men [a very underrepresented area in WUSTL Libraries catalog, but it does exist as a subject heading]
Gender identity
Hispanic American men [includes relevant subheadings like "Psychology"]
Machismo -- United States.
Masculinity -- United States
["United States" can be substituted for regions like "Southern States" or state names]
Masculinity -- Political aspects -- United States
Masculinity (Psychology) -- United States 
Men -- United States 
Men, White -- United States --
[includes relevant subheadings like "Psychology" and "Attitudes"]
Middle class men -- United States -- [additional subheadings like "Attitudes," "Psychology," and History"]
Older men -- United States.  
Rich people -- United States
Upper class -- United States
Working class men-- United States 
[includes relevant subheadings like "Attitudes"]
Young men -- United States

Journals & Journal Articles Databases

Gender and History (spring 1989-present) - print v.2-19 (1990-2007)  electronic 1997 to Present ; "the major international journal for research and writing on the history of femininity and masculinity and of gender relations. Spanning epochs and continents, Gender & History examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts." - publisher's website
Gender Studies & Research - "an interdisciplinary scientific journal, critically analyzing the perspectives of today's sex and gender systems research, covering the humanities and social sciences, the arts and popular culture. Analyzing social, cultural and educational, historical and social issues from a gender perspective in order to dialogue between academic and interdisciplinary communication." - publisher's website. Published by the Lithuania Siauliai University Center for Gender Studies
Journal of Men's Studies - "cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural character disseminates material by men’s studies scholars from various perspectives (political, social, cultural, and historical) as well as various disciplines (anthropology, sociology, history, psychology, literature, theology)" - publisher's website
Men and Masculinities (July 1998-present) print v.1-9 (1998-2006) electronic 1999 to present "peer-reviewed empirical and theoretical scholarship grounded in the most current theoretical perspectives within gender studies, including feminism, queer theory and multiculturalism." - publisher's website
Psychology of Men and Masculinity (Jan. 2000-present) print v.1-9 (1998-2006) electronic 2000-present "is devoted to the dissemination of research, theory, and clinical scholarship that advances the psychology of men and masculinity. This discipline is defined broadly as the study of how boys' and men's psychology is influenced and shaped by both gender and sex, and encompasses the study of the social construction of gender, sex differences and similarities, and biological processes." - publisher's website Published by the American Psychological Association

Primary Source Collections in Print

Library catalogers use the subheading "Sources" at the end of a string of subheadings to indicate anthologies of primary sources. However, cataloging is not a perfect science, so not every collection of primary sources has this subheading. For example, a search for the keyword phrase "documentary sourcebook" in the WU Libraries' catalog produces seven titles, only three of which have "sources" as a subheading. In other words, performing a subject search will not produce a complete list of all primary source collections. Sometimes the source one wants to find is not in an anthology but cited in a bibliography of another work. You might want to try an advanced search with a combination of subject headings and keywords like “sources,” "sourcebook," "primary sources," "primary documents," etc.  Other subheadings which indicate bound, primary source collections include personal narratives, correspondence, manuscripts, maps, literary collections, biography, et. al. 

Newspapers

Chronicling America - over 1000 full-text U.S. newspaper titles from 46 states & Puerto Rico (as of 8/30/18)

The subject headings of most U.S. newspapers take the form of "City (state abbreviation) -- newspapers" such as Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Newspapers. However, that's not always the case. For example, the St. Louis Argus has been categorized as African Americans -- Missouri -- Newspapers and has two catalog records: one for microform and one for the digitized version, the latter of which does not appear under that subject heading.

Primary Source Databases

A Few Standout Titles

Congdon, Brad, 1981- . Leading with the Chin: Writing American masculinities in Esquire, 1960-1989 (Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 2018)

Dean, Robert D., 1956- . Imperial Brotherhood: Gender and the making of Cold War foreign policy (Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2001) 
Stecopoulos, Harry and Uebel, Michael, eds. Race and the Subject of Masculinities (Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1997)
Graham, Lawrence. Our Kind of People: Inside America's Black upper class (NY: HarperCollins, 1999)
Herman, Andrew, 1957- . The "Better Angels" of Capitalism: Rhetoric, narrative, and moral identity among men of the American upper class (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1999)
Neary, Timothy B., 1970- . Crossing Parish Boundaries: Race, sports, and Catholic youth in Chicago, 1914-1954 (Chicago; London: The University of Chicago Press, 2016)
Norwood, Stephen H. (Stephen Harlan), 1951- . Strikebreaking & Intimidation: Mercenaries and masculinity in twentieth-century America (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2002)
Paap, Kris, 1968- . Working Construction: Why white working-class men put themselves--and the labor movement--in harm's way (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2006)