Classics Department Library Catalog (for items housed in the Dept. of Classics)
WashU Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. For the most part, material for the study of classical antiquity is located in the classes PA "Classical Philology and Literature," and DE, DF, and DG, for general Mediterranean, Greek, and Roman history respectively. However, a substantial amount of relevant material is distributed elsewhere in the classification system, largerly according to the subject matter of the work.
Editions of works in the original languages are, as a rule, classified under call number PA, with occasional exceptions. Translations of classical literary works (e.g. poetry, drama) are classified under PA; however, translations into English of "nonliterary" works, such as history, philosophy, and geography are usually classified according to their subject matter--so, for example, translations of Plato and Aristotle will in the "B's". Classifications of commentaries and secondary literature on such works is a bit less consistent.
Special Note: When looking for foreign language titles in the Library Catalog that include a non-English preceding article, e.g., L'amica geniale, Le "Etiopiche" di Eliodoro: Approcci narratologici e nuove prospettive, you must remove the article from the title when doing a "title" search, e.g., amica geniale, "Etiopiche" di Eliodoro: Approcci narratologici e nuove prospettive. If you do not remove the article, the search will yield no results. Follow the link provided above to see a full list of initial articles to be on the lookout for!
PA1–9 Periodicals
PA51–85 History, study & teaching
PA111–199 Greek & Latin Language
PA201–1179 Greek Philology & Language
PA2001–2995 Latin Philology & Language
PA3000–3049 Classical Literature (In General)
PA3050–5868 Greek Literature
PA6000– Latin Literature
D51-90 Ancient History (General)
DA145–147 Roman Britian
DC62–63 Roman Gaul
DE: The Greco-Roman World
DF1-500 Ancient Greece (to c. 323 CE)
DG1-399 Ancient Italy, Rome to 476 CE
DS54.3 Ancient Cyprus
DS71–75 Ancient Iraq to 638 A.D.
DS81 Phoenicia
DS96 Ancient Syria, including the Seleucids
DS111–123 Ancient Israel
DS275–287 Iran to 651 AD
DT57–93 Ancient Egypt, including the Ptolemies (DT92)
BL700–820 Classical Religion and Mythology
BR160–240 Early History of Christianity
CE21–46 Ancient Chronography, CE42–46 Greek & Roman Calendars
CJ201–1400 Ancient Numismatics.
CN1–1100 Ancient Epigraphy
G82–88 Ancient Geography, G1033 Atlases of the Ancient World
GT530–580 Ancient dress and costume
GV17–35, 573 Ancient Sports and Games
HC31–39 Ancient Economic History
HD132–137 Ancient Economic History (Land), HD4844 Labor in the Ancient World
HF355–381 History of Ancient Trade and Commerce
HN9–10 Ancient Social History
HQ13 Ancient Sexuality; HQ505–12 The Family in Antiquity; HQ1127–1139 Women in the Ancient World
HT863 Ancient Slavery
JC51–93 Ancient Political Institutions & Theory
KJA Roman Law
ML162-169 Ancient Music
N5320-5899 Fine Arts in Antiquity
NA210–340 Ancient Architecture
NA69–169 Ancient Sculpture
ND60–135 Ancient Painting
NK610–685 Ancient Decorative Arts
NK1180–1250 Ancient Decoration and Ornament
NK4645–4654 Greek & Roman Vases
P901–1099 Extinct Asian and European Languages
R126–127 Ancient Medical Works; R135 History of Ancient Medicine.
T16 Ancient Technology
U29–35 Warfare in Antiquity
Z105–115 Paleography, Z7016–7030 Bibliography of Classical Languages and Literature
Search these resources for dissertations and theses online. In the ProQuest Global database, use advanced search to limit to Washington University in St. Louis publications. Please note that print dissertations and theses that have not been digitized may not be available online.
Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. View 24-page previews of dissertations and theses and download the full text.
Citations, abstracts, or full-text access to dissertations and theses.
1979-present. Europe’s leading magazine of books and ideas. In addition to book reviews, LRB includes essays,poems, an exhibition review, ‘short cuts’, letters and a diary.
