Research Guides: A Guide to Classics Resources: Lexical Resources

Greek Lexical Resources

The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek
Greek-English dictionary in Ancient Greek with translations into English
The Cambridge Greek Lexicon
The Lexicon is based upon principles differing from those of existing Greek lexica. Entries are organised not primarily according to chronological or grammatical criteria, but according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Definitions are given in addition to translations; both are expressed in contemporary English.
Commentaria et lexica Graeca in papyris reperta (CLGP)
The ancient Greek commentaries that were preserved on papyrus, i.e. the hypomnemata and marginalia on Greek authors as well as glossaries and lexica, have previously been published in scattered works. This corpus is unique in the academic world in that it presents these texts in collected form.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL)
A unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature

Etymological Dictionary of Greek
This dictionary is a treasure trove covering 2000 years of Ancient Greek: from Mycenaean via Homer and the classical period to lexicographers, such as Hesychius (5th century A.D.).It at last brings together all new data, resulting in scores of thoroughly revised etymologies. This is a truly indispensable tool for classicists in search of a deeper understanding of the Greek vocabulary, its history and, therewith, a better understanding of the language.
A Greek-English Lexicon
Liddell & Scott's Greek-English Lexicon is the most comprehensive and up-to-date ancient Greek dictionary in the world. Used by every student of ancient Greek in the English-speaking world, the dictionary covers every surviving ancient Greek author and text discovered up to 1940, from the Pre-Classical Greek of Homer and Hesiod to Classical Greek to the Hellenistic Period, including the Greek Old and New Testaments.
The Greek Particles
A reprint of the Oxford University Press edition of 1966. Copublished in the U.K. by Gerald Duckworth and Company, Ltd.

In his classic work of scholarship, conceived as a study not just of Greek grammar and etymology but of Greek literature as well, Denniston presents the necessarily encyclopedic material with a lucid and delightful prose. This edition incorporates his additions and corrections to the first edition of 1934, and it includes indexes of combinations and references by K. J. Dover.
Greek-Spanish Dictionary (DGE)
The Greek-Spanish Dictionary (DGE) aspires to become the lexicon of ancient Greek more complete and up to date, using modern lexicographical methods in the internal organization of its entries.
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
This lexicon provides scholars and students of Greek civilization with a list, supported by evidence, of personal names known from literature, inscriptions, papyri, vases, coins, and other objects dating from the earliest period to the 7th century A.D. It promises to replace the mid-19th-century work of Pape and Benseler and offer fresh impetus to a wide range of historical and literary research. Produced under the auspices of the British Academy, the complete lexicon will be published in six volumes.
Particles in Ancient Greek Discourse
Particles in Ancient Greek Discourse undertakes an analysis of particle use across five genres of ancient Greek discourse: epic, lyric, tragedy, comedy, and historiography. A print copy of this book has been ordered for the Library.
Standard Languages and Language Standards: Greek, Past and Present
This a collection of essays with a distinctive focus and an unusual range. It brings together scholars from different disciplines, with a variety of perspectives, linguistic and literary, historical and social, to address issues of control, prescription, planning and perceptions of value over the long history of the Greek language, from the age of Homer to the present day.
* An electronic copy of this work has been ordered for the Libraries

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The goal of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Currently contains 12,000 works by 3,800 authors. Note: Each user must create a user profile to login to the Full Corpus.

Latin Lexical Resources

Contributions to Latin Lexicography (1889)
For the words he covered, many of Nettleship's entries are more detailed and specialised than Lewis and Short's, and there is a far greater emphasis placed on early Roman literature and Latin glossaries in the notes on etymology and usage. The critical thoroughness of the work has ensured its continued use by Latin scholars and lexicographers.

Database of Latin Dictionaries
Three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries.

Etymological dictionary of Latin and the other Italic languages
This new etymological dictionary covers the entire Latin lexicon of Indo-European origin. It consists of nearly 1900 entries, which altogether discuss about 8000 Latin lemmata. All words attested before Cicero are included, together with their first date of attestation in Latin. The dictionary also includes all the inherited words found in the other ancient Italic languages, such as Oscan, Umbrian and South Picene; thus, it also serves as an etymological dictionary of Italic.
Latin Lexicon: An Illustrated Compendium of Latin Words and English Derivatives
A charming compendium of Latin words and English derivatives, encompassing over 365 words required for Latin GCSE, one for each day of the year. Each Latin entry is accompanied by key notes on grammar, translations and some playful and memorable derivatives. A concise introduction and a glossary of Latin in common usage combine to make this a vade-mecum (essential companion) for all learners of Latin as well as cruciverbalists. The text is imaginatively punctuated by 20 full-colour illustrations by Amanda Short.
Oxford Latin Dictionary
The world's most authoritative dictionary of Classical Latin, the monumental, two volume Oxford Latin Dictionary offers unsurpassed coverage of the language of Rome from its beginnings until AD 200.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
International Latin dictionary, first to cover all Latin texts from classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).

Print & eBooks - WashU

This is not an exhaustive list of books on this topic at WashU Libraries.

Please visit the Libraries' website to find additional resources.

Approaches to Greek and Latin language, literature and history by Edited by Sandra Rodríguez Piedrabuena, Gréta Kádas, Sara Macías Otero and Kevin Zilverberg
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1527518493
Publication Date: 2019
This peer-reviewed collection of essays provides an account of several current foci of research in Classics. It gathers fifteen contributions covering subjects such as Greek and Latin papyrology and epigraphy. It also includes approaches to various key literary texts, from Homer to post-classical Humanists, in addition to chapters on navigation, coinage, and sculpture.
Formal Linguistics and the Teaching of Latin by Renato Oniga; Rossella Iovino; Giuliana Giusti
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781443829885
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
This volume offers a coherent collection of 26 papers presented at an international conference held in November 2010, exploring the latest achievements of formal and comparative linguistics applied to the teaching of Latin. The three sections (syntax and morphology, semantics and pragmatics, history and theory of teaching) compare Latin with different ancient and modern languages, aiming to represent grammar rules as the product of mental processes. The book is addressed to linguists, teachers and students, who are looking for new perspectives to update their approach to classical Latin.
Latin Grammar: A QuickStudy Language Reference Guide by Liliane Arnet; Rachel Jacobs
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781423236511
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
This 6 page laminated reference guide is designed for quick access, easy review and focus. With the most important aspects of the language pin-pointed by our author and professor.
Latin Hexameter Verse by S. E. Winbolt
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781108078269
Publication Date: 2011-06-02
Samuel Edward Winbolt (1868-1944) spent his entire working life from 1892 to 1926 teaching classics at his old school, Christ's Hospital. In his later years, he was best known for his work on Romano-British history and archaeology; but Latin Hexameter Verse, published in 1903, is the book by which he deserves to be remembered and which has earned him his place in the history of classical scholarship. Its subtitle and its stated aim of offering 'help to fifth and sixth forms, and undergraduates at universities' belie its true and continuing importance. Winbolt's detailed, sensitive and copiously illustrated analysis of the technique of Latin verse-writing still provides the most accessible and illuminating guide to a just appreciation of the craftsmanship which went to the formation of the Latin hexameter, ' the stateliest measure ever moulded by the lips of man'.
The Noun Phrase in Classical Latin Prose by Olga Spevak
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789004265684
Publication Date: 2014-01-09
The Noun Phrase in Classical Latin Prose offers an account of the semantic and syntactic properties of nouns and modifiers and their ordering within the noun phrase.
The Phonology of Classical Latin by Andras Cser
Call Number: PA2111 .C74 2020
ISBN: 9781119700609
Publication Date: 2020-08-31
This work is a comprehensive corpus-based description of the synchronic segmental phonology of Classical Latin. Provides a full description of the phonology of a dead language and also highlights how the patterns and processes described contribute to phonological theory Research results include novel analyses of segmental phenomena, phonotactics, phonological processes, inflectional morphology, and certain diachronic questions Informed by specific hypotheses about how phonological representations are structured and how phonological rules work, and in turn how the findings corroborate these hypotheses.
Pragmatic Approaches to Latin and Ancient Greek by Camille Denizot (Editor); Olga Spevak (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789027259554
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
This book explores various pragmatic phenomena in these two languages, which are accessible through corpora consisting of a broad range of text types. It comprises empirical synchronic studies that deal with three main topics: (i) speech acts and pragmatic markers, (ii) word order, and (iii) discourse markers and particles. The specificity of this book consists in the discussion and application of various methodological approaches. It provides new insights into the pragmatic phenomena encountered, compares, where possible, the results of the investigation of the two languages, and draws conclusions of a more general nature. The volume will be of interest to linguists working on pragmatics in general and to scholars of Latin and Ancient Greek in particular.

Journals - WashU

This is not an exhaustive list of journals on this topic at WashU Libraries.

Please visit the Libraries' website to find additional resources.

American Journal of Philology