Research Guides: A Guide to Classics Resources: Classical Texts & Resources

Classical Texts, Translations, and Textual Resources

Aristoteles Latinus Database
A full-text database of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
Classical and Post Classical Latin Texts - Packard Humanities Institute
This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text. More information about HathiTrust .
Library of Latin Texts
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas.
Loeb Classical Library
A virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature represented with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. Learn more about this database .

Open Greek & Latin
An international collaboration committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software.
PHI Latin Texts
This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
Perseus Digital Library
Perseus has a particular focus upon the Greco-Roman world and upon classical Greek and Latin, but the larger mission provides the distant, but fixed star by which we have charted our path for over two decades. Early modern English, the American Civil War, the History and Topography of London, the History of Mechanics, automatic identification and glossing of technical language in scientific documents, customized reading support for Arabic language, and other projects that we have undertaken allow us to maintain a broader focus and to demonstrate the commonalities between Classics and other disciplines in the humanities and beyond.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The goal of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Currently contains 12,000 works by 3,800 authors. Note: Each user must create a user profile to login to the Full Corpus.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
International Latin dictionary, first to cover all Latin texts from classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).

Trismegistos
Trismegistos is a platform aiming to surmount barriers of language and discipline in the study of texts from the ancient world, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 - 800 AD). The core component is Trismegistos Texts.
Trismegistos increasingly wants to be a platform where information can be found about all texts from antiquity, thus facilitating cross-cultural and cross-linguistic research. Learn more about this database

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Aristotle
An interlinked collection of authoritative editions of Greek philosophical writings by Aristotle. Includes volumes from the Oxford Classical Texts series and translations of most of the important works, including Nicomachean Ethics, Politics, Poetics, and Metaphysics.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Greek Comedy
The Greek Comedy module includes the works of Aristophanes and Menander. Original Greek texts from the authoritative Oxford Classical Texts series will be complemented by texts from other editions, together with translations and commentaries. Learn more about this database
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Greek Tragedy
The Greek Tragedy module includes the works of Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides. Learn more about this database
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Latin Drama
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Latin Drama provides full-text access to interlinked authoritative editions of classical works. The Latin Drama module includes the works of Plautus, Terence and Seneca. Look up individual Latin words in the Oxford Latin Dictionary widget.
Learn more about this database
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Latin History
Provides full-text access to hundreds of essential editions of Classical texts straight to your desktop. The Latin History module includes the works of Livy, Tacitus and Sallust. Look up individual Latin words in the Oxford Latin Dictionary widget.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Latin Poetry
Provides full-text access to essential editions of Latin poetry including the works of Ovid, Horace, Virgil, Martial and Propertius. Original Latin texts from the authoritative Oxford Classical Texts series are complemented by texts from other editions, together with translations and commentaries. Look up individual Latin words in the Oxford Latin Dictionary widget.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Latin Prose
Read texts in the original language with a translation alongside, together with commentary notes. Provides full-text access to hundreds of essential editions of Classical texts. The Latin Prose module includes writings by Marcus Aurelius, Apuleius, Cicero, Seneca, and many more. Look up individual Latin words in the Oxford Latin Dictionary widget. Learn more about this database.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Plato
Read texts in the original language with a translation alongside, together with commentary notes. Includes the five volume set of Oxford Classical Texts (Duke et al., 1995, Burnet, 1901-7, and Slings, 2003. Translations of most of the important dialogues, including the Apology, Meno, the Republic, and Symposium.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Thucydides
Read texts in the original language with a translation alongside, together with commentary notes. Learn more about this database

Papyrology

The Bulletin of the American Society of Papyrologists (WashU credentials required)
This is the official journal of the American Society of Papyrologists. BASP publishes a wide variety of articles and reviews of relevance to papyrology and related disciplines. From text editions to important synthetic articles, BASP has published studies on papyri, ostraca, and inscriptions in Greek, Latin, and Coptic. In the future, BASP will broaden its coverage to include Hieratic, Demotic, Aramaic, and Arabic texts.
Checklist of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets
The primary purpose of the Checklist of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets is to provide for scholars and librarians a ready bibliography of all monographic volumes, both current and out-of-print, of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic documentary texts on papyrus, parchment, ostraca or wood tablets.
Duke Papyrus Archive
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt.
Florentine Academy of Papyrology & Ancient World Studies
The aim of the Academy is the promotion of scientific research in the context of papyrological studies and of the various disciplines concerning the historical-cultural events of the ancient world. English is available as a translation option for this website.
HGV - Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der griechischen Paprusurkunden Agyptens
Heidelberger Complete Directory of Greek Papyrus Documents in Egypt including the ostraca etc., the Latin texts, and the corresponding documents from neighboring regions.
Organa Papyrologica
This site unites all the digital tools that are taken care of in Leipzig. Among them is the Papyrus Portal, which searches the digitized papyrological databases in Germany and in its neighbouring countries and displays the results in a homogeneous way. Part of it is also the Papyrus and Ostraca Project Halle-Jena-Leipzig. The data of the collections Basel, Bremen, Erlangen, Cologne, Marburg, Wuerzburg as well as those of Giessen are also available.
Papyri.info
The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
Papyrus Portal
In 2003 the papyrus collections Halle, Jena and Leipzig applied for a DFG-project aiming at the digitization, cataloguing and presentation of the results of indexing of the papyri which are stored in those collections. The results are available through an internet database.
Univ. Michigan - Papyrology Collection
The largest collection in North America, with at least 18,000 ancient texts and documents dating from about 1,000 BCE to 1,000 CE.
Washington University Papyri Collection
The Julian Edison Department of Special Collections in Olin Library houses 445 manuscript fragments, dating from the first century BCE to the eighth century CE. The fragments were excavated in 1922 Sir William Flinders Petrie and the Egypt Exploration Society at the site of the ancient Egyptian city of Oxyrhynchus.

Epigraphy

Abbreviations in Latin Inscriptions
This page provides access to a series of lists containing abbreviations found in Latin inscriptions. The series represents a new compilation of such abbreviations, assembled from digital texts of all Latin inscriptions published in L’Année Épigraphique between 1888 and 1993. There are two sets of lists, one containing common abbreviations (those occurring more than 10 times in the inscriptions sampled), and another containing all the abbreviations that occur in the inscriptions sampled.
Ancient documents and their contexts: First North American Congress of Greek and Latin Epigraphy (2011)
This collection gathers seventeen papers presented at this conference, ranging from technical discussions of epigraphic formulae and palaeography to broad consideration of inscriptions as social documents and visual records.
LIBRARY RESOURCE: WUSTL Login Required
Center for the Study of Ancient Documents
The Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents aims to provide a focus for the study of ancient documents within Oxford. The Centre provides a home for Oxford University's epigraphical archive, which includes one of the largest collections of squeezes (paper impressions) of Greek inscriptions in the world, together with the Haverfield archive of Roman inscriptions from Britain, and a substantial photographic collection. The strengths of the epigraphical archive lie in its broad coverage of early Greek inscriptions, Attic epigraphy and the Hellenistic world. Individual sites well represented in the archive include Chios, Samos, Priene, Rhodes, and Samothrace. The material in the archive is currently being reorganised and catalogued.
CLAROS: Concordance of Greek Inscriptions
The purpose of CLAROS is to make it easier to locate new editions of Greek inscriptions discovered throughout the last hundred years. This database does not intend to be exhaustive, nor does it try to collect every edition of each inscription included. It is only the sum of the concordances included at the end of many epigraphical collections that were published since the end of the 19th century. In addition, we have included a certain number of concordances prepared by the authors of the Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum for volumes that had an incomplete concordance or had no concordance at all. Finally, we established a number of concordances through direct reading of volumes that had no concordances, such as, among other collections, GVI, ICr., Hell., IGR, INomima, ISE, ISic.MG, RDGE, Schwyzer or Sokolowski.
Epigraphic Database Rome
The Epigraphic Database Rome (EDR) is part of the international federation of Epigraphic Databases called Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin Epigraphy (EAGLE). As part of the federation, it is possible to look through EDR both as a single database or together with its partner databases accessing EAGLE’s portal. In addition to EDR, the federation currently includes the Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg (EDH), the Epigraphic Database Bari (EDB) and Hispania Epigraphica (HE).
Etruscan Texts Project
Etruscan Texts Project (ETP) is an online editio minor of Etruscan inscriptions. When completed, the ETP database will include all Etruscan inscriptions that have been recovered and made public since 1990, the date at which Helmut Rix et al. Etruskische Texte (1991) went to press.
Inscriptiones Graecae (Digital Edition)
The Greek inscriptions of Europe are edited on the following plan: IG I–III Athens and Attica; IG IV–VI the Peloponnese; IG VII–IX Central Greece; IG X Northern Greece, Thrace, Skythia; IG XI–XII Aegean Islands; IG XIII Crete; IG XIV Italy and Sicily; IG XV Cyprus. The Digital Scholarly Edition currently offers access to the text, the translations (German and English), and the TEI (Epidoc) encoded sources of eleven volumes of the Inscriptiones Graecae.
NOTE: A list of IG titles that we have in print in Olin Library with catalog links can be found in the left-hand column of this web page.
L'Année épigraphique
Founded in 1888, L'Ánnee épigraphique takes an inventory of new Greek and Latin inscriptions relative to the Roman world that have been published in the past two and a half years. The journal also offers commentary on inscriptions already published and on primary sources based on epigraphic documentation.
LIBRARY SUBSCRIPTION - WUSTL Login Required
Latin Inscriptions: Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum
This is a list of over 500 English translations of Latin inscriptions from the time of the Roman Republic, which are available online. The inscriptions are almost all contained in the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum, the comprehensive collection of Latin inscriptions, and the Latin text of the inscriptions can be found in the Epigraphische Datenbank Clauss-Slaby. A few additional inscriptions can be found at the end of the list.
A New Interpretive Study of the Evolution of Slavery in Hellenistic and Roman Greece
Publication of Greek and Latin inscriptions has traditionally proceeded inscription by inscription, or site by site. The overall long-term goal of this project is to create an electronic archive of all Greek manumission inscriptions that can be of use to epigraphists, as well as historians of antiquity and of slavery in other historical periods. In an effort to make this material accessible to non-epigraphists, and indeed to non-classicists, e.g. students of slavery in other historical periods, English translations have been provided for all inscriptions in this archive, information about location and context when possible, and forms of tagging, e.g. to price, that will help non-specialists to gather information from this archive.
Roman Inscriptions of Britain
Browse and discover the voices of the past, drawn from the writings of those who lived, served, and died in Roman Britain.
Searchable Greek Inscriptions
PHI Greek Epigraphy Project

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online
Collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. Presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.

Numismatics

John Max Wulfing Coin Collection (WashU)
The John Max Wulfing Collection at Washington University in Saint Louis comprises an outstanding assemblage of c. 16,000 ancient Greek, Roman, and Byzantine coins along with many other items that span the world’s monetary history.
Mantis
The ANS collections database contains information on more than 600,000 objects in the Society’s collections. These include coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.
Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE)
Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE) is a revolutionary new tool designed to help in the identification, cataloging, and research of the rich and varied coinage of the Roman Empire. The project records every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage from Augustus in 31 BC, until the death of Zeno in AD 491. This is an easy to use digital corpus, with downloadable catalog entries, incorporating over 43,000 types of coins.
Online Greek Coinage
Online Greek Coinage is an international project with the goal of creating an ecosystem for the presentation of Ancient Greek Coinage on the World Web, drawing on a number of Linked Open Data resources.
Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum (SNG)
SNG is a British Academy Research Project, the purpose of which is to publish illustrated catalogues of Greek coins in public and private collections in the British Isles. Currently some 25,000 coins from the Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum volumes are online in the form of a searchable database.

Finding Additional Primary Sources

Here are a few additional resources that will help you identify primary source material.

Archive Finder
Directory of over 250,000 primary source collections housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,400 archival institutions are represented.
Gale Primary Sources (includes Gale NewsVault)
Search every Gale Primary Source from a single, powerful interface. The refreshed user interface and updated tools make it easier than ever to find documents for research and teaching. The new interface now features integration with leading cloud storage systems for saving and organizing your documents. Learn more about this database.