Citation Linker is a resource that allows researchers to reverse-search a citation to locate the journal article. If the Libraries subscribe to the full-text of that article online, researchers will be linked to it; if the Libraries do not subscribe to the full-text, search results will display other options for acquiring it, such as InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Be sure to include as much information as possible to get to the link.
A major bibliographical database for classical archaeology based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Indexes journal articles, monographs, and conference proceedings on Greco-Roman antiquity and related areas in all major European languages. Searchable in English, German, French, and Italian. Note: on the first page, click the checkbox in front of 'IP access' and then click Start; it opens a new window. Click the British flag to search in English.
Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996 and considered to be the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.
Includes reference for study of ancient world. Database provides definitions and explanations of key people, places, and events in ancient history between the late Bronze Age and the 7th century CE. Covers entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt.
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
A virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature represented with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. Learn more about this database.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the theory, method, and the history of the study of art history.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Includes key primary source texts and critical literature that highlights new discoveries, interpretations, and theories in the field of Classical Studies.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture.
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. Updated monthly.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias are dynamic digital reference works for advanced scholars and students, composed of peer-reviewed overview articles that map the entirety of a field of study. The Oxford Classical Dictionary is the Oxford Research Encyclopedia covering classical studies.
An evolving collection of resources for the study of the ancient world, including archaeology, atlas, texts and translations, text tools and lexica.
The goal of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Currently contains 12,000 works by 3,800 authors. Note: Each user must create a user profile to login to the Full Corpus.
International Latin dictionary, first to cover all Latin texts from classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
The journals listed here cover a broad range of classical studies topics. For journals on particular topics, please look in the section of this guide dedicated to that topic. Please note that these are not exhaustive lists of all journals related to Classics that we have in the Libraries.
