Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007)'Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.' (from database homepage)
Encyclopedia of African Religion (2009)The Encyclopedia of African Religion is the first comprehensive work to assemble ideas, concepts, discourses, and extensive essays on African religion. Over the years, there have been numerous encyclopedias on religion from other parts of the world, but African religion has often been relegated to “primitive religions,” “African mythologies,” or “tribal religions” sections of such works on religion. It is as if African religion is an afterthought in the eyes of the authors and editors of such volumes. Of course, these designations are clearly based on outmoded and problematic Western notions of Africa, and we have created this encyclopedia as a monument to the memory of those Africans who left us enough information from which to rediscover for the world the original beauty and majesty of African culture. -- Publisher's Description
Encyclopedia of Religion (2005)The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. -- Publisher Description
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature (2008)"The Encyclopedia critically explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life."
Encyclopedia of Taoism (2007)An international team of scholars on Taoism contributed to this two-volume encyclopedia, which focuses on the history and traditions of the religion. The initial 200 page overview on Taoism is the equivalent of a textbook on the topic. The alphabetical entries offer more detailed coverage of religious practices, sacred texts, and important people. Both student researchers and experts in Taoism will find the appendices a valuable source of bibliographic information for further research. In short; a well rounded important new work.
Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought (2010)"From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anticolonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements"
Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics (2014)" Based on the 2009 publication 'The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World', this work brings together new and updated entries, organised thematically around the major themes of political science: concepts, values, thought, ideologies, structures, institutions, and systems. It covers in-depth topics that are unique to the Muslim world, including basic beliefs; Muslim political history; Islam in specific geographic regions; thinkers and reformers; movements, society and economy; and international relations."
Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women (2013)"Information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women. With more than 450 articles with a concentration on contemporary issues."
Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam (2014)" Based on the 2009 publication 'The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World', this work includes complete coverage of Islamic philosophy, sciences, and technologies from the classical to the contemporary period. Containing scholarly overviews of the thinkers, movements, instruments, theories, institutions, processes, events, and historical developments related to Islamic classical history and the contemporary quest for knowledge, this encyclopaedia provides scholars and advanced students with in-depth surveys on the most important issues in the study of these topics."
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (2005)The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe. -- Publisher description
Science, Religion, and Society: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and controversy (2007)"This unique encyclopedia explores the historical and contemporary controversies between science and religion. It is designed to offer multicultural and multi-religious views, and provide wide-ranging perspectives. Science, Religion, and Society covers all aspects of the religion and science dichotomy, from humanities to social sciences to natural sciences, and includes articles by theologians, religion scholars, physicians, scientists, historians, and psychologists, among others."
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion (1998)"In more than 300 entries, this volume brings to life the women who pioneered American's religious institutions and places their work in the broader social, cultural, and political contexts of their times."
Encyclopedia of Native American Healing (1996)"Introduces readers to renowned Native American healers throughout history; societies and divisions into which healers were categorized; sacred objects used in healing rituals and how each was used; types of healing ceremonies conducted; plants used to increase healing powers; symbolic motifs used in healing rituals; major concepts that formed Native American healing traditions; and major scholars of Native American healing, complete with first-hand accounts of their experiences."
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: sacred ceremonies of North America (1998)"An authoritative account of the various shamanic powers that have been observed among the Native Americans of North America since the sixteenth century. Surveying aspects of Native American sacred ceremonies in Canada and all 50 of the United States, this book focuses on "medicine" ceremonies in which the power of the Creator is manifested for all to behold."
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2003)"How do the latest medical developments affect our beliefs in faith's healing power? Can artificial intelligence compare with human consciousness? Are genetic engineers interfering with Nature's work? This reference work deals with these questions and others, examining the issues and the history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion. Articles by scientists of many fields, philosophers and thinkers from all the major world religions present a variety of perspectives on the major scientific discoveries of our time and their effects on our religious belief system."
Mythologies (1991)Compiled by Yves Bonnefoy. A restructured translation of Dictionnaire des mythologies et des religions des sociétés traditionnelles et du monde antique.
Science, Religion, and Society: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and controversy (2007)"This unique encyclopedia explores the historical and contemporary controversies between science and religion. It is designed to offer multicultural and multi-religious views, and provide wide-ranging perspectives. Science, Religion, and Society covers all aspects of the religion and science dichotomy, from humanities to social sciences to natural sciences, and includes articles by theologians, religion scholars, physicians, scientists, historians, and psychologists, among others."
