Research Guides: Encyclopedias: Art

Art Encyclopedias (Online)

Oxford Art Online (2007-) Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Grove Art Online (1998-) Searchable database of reference work covering all forms of visual art from prehistory to the present. Includes Grove dictionary of art. Acess provided as part of Oxford art online.
Art & Architecture (2013) Art, American -- Southern States -- Encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998)
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2014)
Erotic Encyclopædia (2012) Erotic art -- Encyclopedias. "This book disregards conventional thinking and presents 800 reproductions that illustrate erotic art from Ancient Greece down to the present era in both Europe and Asia: when reproduction is not seen as an end in itself. With no hesitation nor inhibition, the author explains why erotic art is a key factor of societal development."
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (2011)
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (2007-)
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts (2006-)
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture (2009)
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art (2008)
Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture (2013)
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art (2009)
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Volume 23, Folk art (2013)
Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (2015)
Universal Principles of Art: 100 key concepts for understanding, analyzing, and practicing art (2015)

Art Encyclopedias (Print)

Art Business Encyclopedia (1994) Art -- Economic aspects -- Encyclopedias Art -- Marketing -- Encyclopedias Art -- Collectors and collecting -- Encyclopedias
Art in the Modern Era: a guide to styles, schools & movements, 1860 to the present (2002) Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Encyclopedias. Art movements -- History -- 20th century -- Encyclopedias.
Artists' and Illustrators' Encyclopedia (1977)
Britannica Encyclopedia of American Art (1973)
Color Encyclopedia of World Art (1975)
Concise Encyclopedia of Antiques (1955-1961) Art objects -- Dictionaries
Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in Art (2004)
Design Encyclopedia (2004)
Dictionary of Art (1996)
Dutch Art: an encyclopedia (1997)
Elements of Design: a practical encyclopedia of the decorative arts from the Renaissance to the present (2003)
Encyclopedia of African American Artists (1999)
Encyclopedia of American Art Before 1914 (2000)
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art (2004)
Encyclopedia of Art Deco (1988)
Encyclopedia of Art Techniques (2003)
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists (2007)
Encyclopedia of Australian Art (1968)
Encyclopedia of Australian Art (1994)
Encyclopedia of Colour Decoration from the Earliest Times to the Middle of the XIXth Century, with explanatory text (1928)
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: themes depicted in works of art (1998)
Encyclopedia of Illustration Techniques (1997)
Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist Art (2000)
Encyclopedia of Jewish American Artists (2007)
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art (1999)
Encyclopedia of Modern Art Auction Prices (1971)
Encyclopedia of Painting: painters and painting of the world from prehistoric times to the present day (1963)
Encyclopedia of Painting: painters and painting of the world from prehistoric times to the present day (1979)
Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques (1992)
Encyclopedia of Sculpture (2004)
Encyclopedia of Sculpture Techniques (1989)
Encyclopedia of the Arts (1966) Art -- Dictionaries. Artists -- Dictionaries.
Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in Painting; mythological, Biblical, historical, literary, allegorical and topical (1971)
Encyclopedia of Tibetan Symbols and Motifs (1999)
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art (1996)
Encyclopedia of World Art (1959-1987)
En︠t︡siklopedi︠i︡a russkoĭ zhivopisi (1999) Painting, Russian -- Encyclopedias. Painting, Modern -- Russia (Federation) -- Encyclopedias.
Graphic Arts Encyclopedia (1979)
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through American History (2008)
Hanʼguk kŭn-hyŏndae misul ŭi yŏksa = The history of Korean modern art (2006) Art, Korean -- 20th century -- Encyclopedias.
Harper's Encyclopedia of Art: architecture, sculpture, painting, decorative arts (1937)
Iconographic Encyclopedia of the Arts and Sciences (1885) Volume 3: Sculpture and painting, by M. Carrière; Ancient art, by A. Marquand; Early Christian and mediaeval art, by A.L. Frothingham, jr.: Modern art, by S.G.W. Benjamin.
Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists of the American West (1976)
Images Encyclopedia: journey into the language of life (1990) Symbolism -- Encyclopedias Signs and symbols -- Encyclopedias Serpents in art -- Encyclopedias Art and mythology -- Encyclopedias Serpents -- Religious aspects -- Encyclopedias Animals -- Symbolic aspects -- Encyclopedias Cosmology, Ancient -- Encyclopedias
L'encyclopédie de l'art (1997)
Larousse Encyclopedia of Byzantine and Medieval Art (1981)
Larousse Encyclopedia of Modern Art, from 1800 to the Present Day (1965)
Larousse Encyclopedia of Prehistoric and Ancient Art (1962)
Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art (1967)
Mawsūʻat al-ʻimārah wa-al-āthār wa-al-funūn al-Islāmīyah (1999) Islamic art -- Antiquities -- Encyclopedias. Islamic Antiquities -- Encyclopedias. Islamic architecture -- Antiquities -- Encyclopedias.
Memoria: Cuban art of the 20th century (2002)
Memoria: Cuban art of the 20th century (2002) Art, Cuban -- 20th century -- Encyclopedias. Artists -- Cuba -- Biography.
Museum of American Folk Art Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century American Folk Art and Artists (1990)
Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture (1996)
Phaidon Encyclopedia of Expressionism: painting and the graphic arts, sculpture, architecture, literature, drama, the expressionist stage, cinema, music (1978)
Phaidon Encyclopedia of Impressionism (1978)
Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Oriental Arts (1969)
Praeger Encyclopedia of Old Masters (1959)
Praeger Picture Encyclopedia of Art; a comprehensive survey of painting, sculpture, architecture and crafts, their methods, styles and technical terms, from the earliest times to the present day (1958)
Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts (2004)
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Art (2002)
Spemanns Goldenes Buch der Kunst: eine Hauskunde für Jedermann (1904) Art -- Encyclopedias. Art -- Bio-bibliography.