Skip to Main Content
Anthropology Encyclopedias (Online)
Cambridge World Prehistory
"Provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa 2 million years ago to the beginnings of written history, which in some areas started only two centuries ago."
Ethnographic Video Online (2010-)
ntended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
Oxford Companion to World Exploration (2007)
From Antarctica to the North Pole, The Oxford Companion to World Exploration offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age. In addition to examining the lives and expeditions of heroic and influential explorers, the book covers navigational and marine sciences and ranges from ancient cultures through modern space exploration. With articles from leading scholars, this landmark set offers students, scholars, and amateurs a treasure of information on this dynamic field of study.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt (2005)
Full-text. 'Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.' (from database homepage)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (2006)
'...the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America... Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region...' (from database homepage)
Anthropology Encyclopedias (Print)