Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry and Market Research

This guide lists database and internet resources for industry and market research.

Library Databases - Broad Based

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information


Broad Based

AtoZdatabases 

AtoZdatabases is the premier job ssearch, reference and mailing list database including 30 million business and executive profiles and 240 million residents.  Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, and employment opportunities.   

Access: Danforth Campus

Business Monitor International
Business Monitor International (BMI) is a leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. BMI integrates Country Risk and Financial Markets analysis with Industry Research, to best inform decision-making at the highest level in multinational companies, financial institutions, multilaterals and government.                                                                                                             

Access: Business School only

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System) (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School) 

Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. Includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies, and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news.

Access: Business School

First Research
First Research creates industry reports for people who need to quickly learn about a target industry. Its Industry Profiles cover more than 300 business sectors and highlight industry trends and business issues.

Note: Limited to Business School students/faculty/staff on proxy. Available to all students on-site at Kopolow.

Access: Business School only                                                                                           

Frost and Sullivan
Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth research coverage of these industries: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Supplies; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control; Information and Communication Technologies; Measurement and Instrumentation.                                                                                                              

Access: Business School only

IBIS World
Covers over 700 United States industries. A variety of reports including the new "Global" Industry Reports, Industry Report, U.S. Industry Risk Rating Reports, Industry Profiles, and Economic & Demographic Profiles.                                                                                                     

Access: Danforth Campus

MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage provides coverage of 30,000+ companies and 3500+ industrial profiles as well as country profiles, country statistics, and financial statistics tracked by MarketLine. Updated annually.

Access: Danforth Campus

Mintel Market Sizes

Mintel Market Sizes allows users to easily source market sizes, market shares, and forecasts for 34 of the world’s most dynamic markets.

Access: Danforth Campus

Mintel Reports
Market research reports, including primary data and secondary source information, for a number of industries. Once connected, scroll down and click 'I agree' to enter the site. Free individual registration is required.

Here is a 15-minute video to walk through how to apply Mintel Reports to branding/advertising projects according to Mintel’s experience working with marketing agencies, it includes:

· Mintel Navigation

· The newest "Digital Advertising" Report, with examples of how agencies use the data in the real-world scenarios.

· The Interactive Databooks to narrow down your target demographics

Access: Danforth Campus

Nikkei Asia

Nikkei Asia was created to change the way the Asia region is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs. It delivers unique and exclusive coverage of Asia region economic, political, business and technology news in English as well as provides data on financial markets and top companies in Asia.

Access: Danforth Campus

S&P Capital IQ
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. This resource is widely used in the business community.

To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane zeggane@wustl.edu: 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2023, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Cap IQ account.

Access: Business school only

Value Line
Provides on-line access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Access: Business School only