Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry and Market Research

This guide lists database and internet resources for industry and market research.

Case Studies

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to these restricted resources. View Remote Access for more information.

With the help of context and detailed data, students can analyze case studies and determine what they would and would not do in a particular situation, why, and how. Listed below are case study resources.

Business Source Complete
Full text articles from scholarly business journals and other sources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

The following journals are dedicated to case studies, and more cases are findable through Advanced Search: Asian Case Research Journal, Business Case Journal and Journal of Case Research. Updated daily. Learn more about this database      

Access: Danforth Campus

eBooks & Print books
Many business book chapters feature case studies.  From the Library Search page, add the phrase: "case studies" to a broad keyword search, e.g.: "case studies" AND management.

MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage provides coverage of 30,000+ companies and 3500+ industrial profiles as well as country profiles, country statistics, and financial statistics tracked by MarketLine. Case studies, approximately 10 pages long, typically address either industry trends or a company's strategy.  Updated annually.

Access: Danforth Campus

MIT Sloan School of Management - LearningEdge

Launched in January 2009 under the name MIT Sloan Teaching Innovation Resources or MSTIR, LearningEdge is a collection of teaching case studies and management flight simulations developed by MIT Sloan faculty and students. All the materials featured on this site carry a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed free of charge by anyone worldwide. Although the LearningEdge collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are on the cutting edge, including entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics.

Access: Available to everyone