Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry and Market Research

This guide lists database and internet resources for industry and market research.

Trade Publications

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.


Research Tip: A trade publication is one that focuses on a specific industry (e.g. Automotive News, Beverage World, Institutional Investor) and is targeted to people who work in that industry. Trade journals are especially useful to marketing students looking for information such as advertising information, market share data, general industry trends, product information, etc. Listed below are good sources for finding articles in trade publications.


Factiva
One of the premier resources produced by the publisher of The Wall Street Journal. It provides access to the full text of thousands of popular business and general publications. Also has the full text of all Dow Jones publications including The Wall Street Journal, hundreds of newspapers and financial information on public companies. Note: Limited to 6 concurrent users; logoff when done.

Access: Danforth Campus

Industrial Quick Search Directory

Created by Industrial Quick Search (IQS®), IQS Directory is a FREE, comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada. Industrial engineers and buyers rely on IQS Directory to specify products within a series of categories and buy products directly from manufacturers. Manufacturing Associations are also featured.

Access: Available to everyone

Nexis Uni
A full text resource to hundreds of business and general interest magazines and newspapers. Excellent source for company, industry and product information. Also good for general and political news. Legal and medical information can also be obtained. Updated daily.

Access: Danforth Campus                                                                                                                                   

Sports Market Analytics
SBRnet is a service focusing on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. Its mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.         

Access: Danforth Campus