If you prefer not to buy the course readings, there are free ways to access them. If WUSTL Libraries do not have a copy, you may be able to borrow one through MOBIUS. If MOBIUS does not have a copy, you may be able to borrow one through one of the local, public library systems (St. Louis Public Library - SLPL, St. Louis County Library - SLCL, or the Municipal Library Consortium of participating St. Louis County municipalities - MLC). 

Doris Bergen, War and Genocide: A Concise History of the Holocaust, 3^rd Ed (2016) - WUSTL * MOBIUS * WUSTL (2nd ed.) * MOBIUS (2nd ed.) * WUSTL (1st ed.) * MOBIUS (1st ed.) * SLPL (1st ed.) * MLC (1st ed.)

Ruth Kluger, Still Alive: A Holocaust Girlhood remembered - WUSTL * MOBIUS 1st ed or 2012 reprint * SLPL * MLC print or eBook

Michael Kutz, If, By Miracle - WUSTL * WorldCat

These newspapers all gave extensive coverage to WWII and its aftermath.

• The Times [London] Digital Archive (1785-1985)

• New York Times, Historical (1851-2003)

• Palestine Post (1932 - 1950)

• Aufbau (New York, 1934-2004) -German & English w/ audio in English. 

  Aufbau began publication in 1934 as a newsletter for the German-Jewish Club of New York.  Overtime, its articles focused more and more on international events and especially the treatment of Jews in Germany. Aufbau became one of the leading anti-Nazi publications of the German press in exile.  -- summary from the  Leo Baeck Institute.  More info.
  

The Camp System: A primary source supplement based on documents from the International Tracing Service

Women under Nazi persecution: A primary source supplement based on documents from the International Tracing Service

Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets. Collection

• Survivor Testimonies (British Library) Jewish refugees who came to live in Britain
• Voices of the Holocaust Project (IIT) Interviews in refugee camps (English interviews)
•  Personal Histories (U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
  

A variety of maps to visualize various landscapes of the Holocaust -- psychological, intellectual, logistical.

These first two databases are not fulltext and do not have direct links to the WU Catalog or ILLiad (Interlibrary loan).Open a 2nd browser window to connect to them.

Here is the complete record of political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports received by the British Foreign Office following the breakdown of normal diplomatic relations. Collection

EuroDocs Shoah (Holocaust)
Portal to various websites on the Holocaust. Includes links to video and audio archives.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Very comprehensive educational and scholarly resource for many aspects of Holocaust Studies. Of particular note:

• Bibliographies on the Holocaust
• Collections and Archives
• Holocaust Encyclopedia
• Photo Archives
• Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive: Films in the public domain can be viewed and heard. And there are many of them.
  

Witnessing the Holocaust: Personal Accounts of a Crime Against Humanity, BBC Archive

These programs and documents chart the reactions and personal testimonies of some of those who witnessed the Nazis' "Final Solution". Interviews, journals and documentaries starkly convey the realities of the camps. Survivors recount their experiences of the genocide and its continuing legacy. This collection also illustrates the shock felt by the liberators and how the atrocities were revealed by UK broadcasters.

Remember.org : a cybrary of the Holocaust

An educational community of contributors (survfivors, liberators, historians, and authors), sharing research resources and stories through art, photography, painting, audio/video, and remembrance.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Very comprehensive educational and scholarly resource for many aspects of Holocaust Studies. Of particular note:

• Bibliographies on the Holocaust
• Collections and Archives
• Holocaust Encyclopedia
• Photo Archives
• Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive: Films in the public domain can be viewed and heard

Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive
Hosted by the Univ. of Michigan Dearborn, an archive of over 300 audio and video interviews of Holocaust survivors.

H-Holocaust
Part of the H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine network. Includes discussion lists, reviews, syllabi, and links to resources.

A passport issued to eleven-year-old Gertrud Levy (the donor), a German-Jewish refugee child, before her departure from Germany on a Kindertransport to England, August 23, 1939.

ArtStor  (Andre W. Mellon Foundation) is a database of 1 million images: paintings, sculpture, manuscripts, architecture, cities, maps, and archeological sites. Under fair use practices, all the images may be used for class instruction or student projects. Tips for finding Jewish images

Enter the ArtStor Digital Library

• Search by Collection - examples -
• • Giza Archaeological Expedition Archive  
  • Egyptian and Other Ancient Art
  • Islamic Art and Architecture -  at the pull down search menu change "All collections" to  "Within this category" search synagogue

• Search by Classification
• 
  
• • Architecture and City Planning - search "Within this category" Jerusalem
  • Social Sciences and Humanities -search "Within this category" crusades
  • Maps, Charts, Graphs
    

• Search by Geography
• • Israel