Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to World History

Search Oxford Reference Online

Search Oxford Reference Online:, an electronic collection of subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press.

Oxford Reference Online Search ORO
 

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of World History (Oxford University Press, 1998) 
 

The Princeton Companion to Atlantic History 
 

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through World History 
 

Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (7 volumes)
 

A World History of Tax Rebellions 
 

The Encyclopedia of World History (Houghton Mifflin, 2001) 
 

Encyclopedia of African Peoples 
 

The Cambridge World History of Food 
 

The Encyclopedia of Cold War Politics 
 

Encyclopedia of Geographical Features in World History : Europe and the Americas  
 

Keesing's Record of World Events and Contemporary Archives - a long-running printed summary of world news published from 1931 until 1988 as Keesing's Contemporary Archives and as Keesing's Record of World Events from 1988 until 2015. The most recent 12 months are available full-text online. Its purpose is to provide a detailed, factual and neutral account of events

Online Reference Sources

Specialized sources

WUSTL has access to many specialized collections that cannot be searched via MultiSearch groups. Links to some of these resources are below.