Encyclopedia
Xizang li shi wen hua ci dian / 西藏历史文化辞典. Wang Yao, Chen Qingying, eds. Lasa, Hangzhou: Zhejiang ren min chu ban she, 1998.
Xizang bai ke quan shu/Encyclopedia of Tibet. Lasa: Xizang ren min chu ban she, 2005.
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern world. Peter N. Stearns, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Treasury of Lives is a biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region.
Bibliographies
Tibet. John Pinfold, ed. Oxford; Santa Barbara, CA: Clio Press, 1991. - @West Campus; must be Requested.
Doctoral dissertations on China and on inner Asia, 1976-1990: An annotated bibliography of studies in western languages. Frank Joseph Shulman, ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
Chand, Attar. Tibet, past and present: A select bibliography with chronology of historical events, 1660-1981. New Delhi: Sterling, 1982.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - ) - references to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Handbooks
A Handbook of Tibetan culture: A guide to Tibetan centres and resources throughout the world. Graham Coleman, ed. Boston: Shambhala, 1994.
Hoffmann, Helmut. Tibet: A handbook. Bloomington: Published for the Asian Studies Research Institute by the Research Center for the Language Sciences, Indiana University, 1975.
Books
Tibet is a subject headings with A LOT of subheadings.
Pay attention to the subheading "historiography."
Academic Journal databases
Subject-Specific
American Theological Library Association's (ATLA)'s Religion
Multidisciplinary
In Print
Tibetan sourcebook. Ling, Nai-min, ed. Hong Kong, Union Research Institute, 1964.
Sources of Tibetan tradition. Kurtis R. Schaeffer, Matthew T. Kapstein, and Gray Tuttle, eds. New York: Columbia University Press, 2013 - The most comprehensive collection of Tibetan works in a Western language, this volume illuminates the complex historical, intellectual, and social development of Tibetan civilization from its earliest beginnings to the modern period. Including more than 180 representative writings, Sources of Tibetan Tradition spans Tibet's vast geography and long history, presenting for the first time a diversity of works by religious and political leaders; scholastic philosophers and contemplative hermits; monks and nuns; poets and artists; and aristocrats and commoners. The selected readings reflect the profound role of Buddhist sources in shaping Tibetan culture while illustrating other major areas of knowledge. Thematically varied, they address history and historiography; political and social theory; law; medicine; divination; rhetoric; aesthetic theory; narrative; travel and geography; folksong; and philosophical and religious learning, all in relation to the unique trajectories of Tibetan civil and scholarly discourse. The editors begin each chapter with a survey of broader social and cultural contexts and introduce each translated text with a concise explanation. Concluding with writings that extend into the early twentieth century, this volume offers an expansive encounter with Tibet's exceptional intellectual heritage.
Stein, R. A. Rolf Stein's Tibetica antiqua: With additional materials. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2010 - Herein, Stein discusses the cultural and religious interactions among Tibet, India, and China which resulted in what we now consider "Tibetan Buddhism" from the point of view of our earliest sources, the Dunhuang manuscripts. Stein first discusses the basic tool of religious language, and the extent to which translations from Chinese, often apocryphal, scriptures competed with translations from Sanskrit. Stein also analyzes evidence for the introduction of Buddhism to Tibet, as well as what a pre-Buddhist religion may have looked like, as distinct from modern Bon.
The Thirteenth Dalai Lama on the run (1904-1906): Archival documents from Mongolia. Sampildondov Chuluun, Uradyn E. Bulag, eds. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2013 - In 1904, the Thirteenth Dalai Lama fled from the British invasion of Tibet to Mongolia in search of support from Russia. Although the mission failed, his extended sojourn in Mongolia marked the beginning of political modernity in both Mongolia and Tibet. The Thirteenth Dalai Lama on the Run (1904-1906) is a facsimile collection comprising hitherto unpublished archival documents from Mongolia about this historical episode. Written in Mongolian, Manchu and Chinese, the documents concern the operation of the Mongol princes in hosting the Dalai Lama in Mongolia and the attempts made by the Qing frontier officials to remove him from Mongolia back to Tibet. Details of his extensive travels within the country, the associated elaborate ritual activities and the great financial costs incurred which were borne by the Mongols, come to light for the first time in this publication. The documents which are supported by detailed captions are discussed in an in-depth introduction.
Digital Collections
British Foreign Office docs
China and the Modern World Imperial China and the West 1815 - 1905 - Digitized in two parts from the FO 17 series of British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives, Part 1 of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1815–1881; and Part II is from 1865-1905. Here, scholars will find material relating to the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships between other Western powers keen to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East.
British Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 - The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980.
U.S. State Department docs
Political Relations Between China, the U.S. and Other Countries, 1910-1929 This collection includes the microfilmed U.S. State Department records for 1910-1929 relating to the political relations between the United States and China and relations between China and other states. The collection includes instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied with enclosures. Also included in these records are the correspondence, reports, and journals of the commissions concerned with extraterritoriality in China, as well as notes between the State Department and foreign diplomatic representatives in the United States, memoranda prepared by officials of the State Department, and correspondence with officials of other government departments and with private firms and individuals.
Country Intelligence Reports on China - This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1961 on China.
Political Relations and Conflict Between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939 - The records in this collection relate to political relations between China and Japan for the period 1930 -1939. The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied by enclosures. Also included in these records are notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomatic representatives in the United States, memorandums prepared by officials of the Department. There are records on: the Japanese occupation of Manchuria, beginning with the Mukden incident, in 1931; military action at Shanghai in 1932; further Japanese political and economic penetration into China, 1935-1936; and the course of the undeclared war between Japan and China, 1937-1939.
Subject Files of U.S. State Department's Office of the Republic of China Affairs, 1951-1978 - This collection consists of briefing books, correspondence, memoranda, policy papers, reports, statistics, and other miscellaneous records from the Office of the Country Director for the Republic of China.
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 - The U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, charged with operational control of American policy toward China, amassed information on virtually all aspects of life there immediately before, during, and after the revolution. Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period. This product comprises all 41 reels of the former Scholarly Resources microfilm product entitled Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955.
Other U.S. gov docs
Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941 - This collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics). Also includes documents created by other U.S. Government agencies and foreign governments from the records of the Military Intelligence Division.
Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950 - This collection of essential U.S. Information Service collections on the Civil War period provides a unique opportunity to understand immediate post-World War II Chinese history, comparative revolution, and early Cold War history. This combination of smaller press collections weave together the strands of military, social, political, and free world history and includes an analysis of how the Chinese Communist Party achieved victory in the Chinese civil war of 1946-1950.
Other
Immigrations, Migrations, and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941 - 1996 - News and analysis from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Additionally, the archive contains one-of-a-kind analysis of the reports.
China: Trade, Politics, Culture - With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period. Discover over 200 years of Chinese history, charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power.
India, Raj and Empire - Sourced from the Manuscript Collections of the National Library of Scotland, and documenting the history of South Asia from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.
German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 documentation on Germany’s relations with China during the interwar period. Germany was instrumental in modernizing China’s industrial base and provided a military training mission and equipment for the armed forces of the Republic of China prior to the Second Sino-Japanese War.
China: Culture and Society - spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
Open Access
The PRC History Group An interdisciplinary collective of PRC history scholars. The website has a useful collection of primary and secondary sources, plus an extensive list of outside resources.
The Mao Era in Objects Website devoted to understanding the Mao era through objects and daily artifacts.
Cold War International History Project A collection of primary sources on the Cold War, most of which are bilingual. You may find a range of transcripts and documents on China and Taiwan during the Cold War.
Chinese Propaganda Posters An extensive collection of propaganda posters from the PRC. Especially useful for understanding what kind of information was disseminated by the party both domestically and globally.
The Maoist Legacy Collection of official documents that shed light on the history of justice during the post-Mao transition. Especially important for sources on the Gang of Four. The Peking Review The PRC’s official English-language organ that circulated widely around the world from 1958 onward.