archives (n.) c. 1600, "records or documents preserved as evidence," from French archif (16c., Modern French archives), from Late Latin archivum (plural archiva) "written records," also the place where they are kept, from Greek ta arkheia "public records," plural of arkheion "town hall, public building," from arkhē "government," literally "beginning, origin, first place" (verbal noun of arkhein "to be the first;" see archon). The sense of "place where public records and historical documents are kept" in English is from 1640s.

Librarianship is not only about the preservation of information but efficient organization of that information for the purposes of retrieval. The history of the organization of information involves the summary of content of extensive texts into simplified entries to retrieve those texts. Catalogs and indices are some of the more common and early forms of organizing information. Computers have enabled full-text, keyword searching, but more results do not always mean better results. Some agreed upon and intentional mode of information organization will always be necessary for efficient retrieval of information, yet it will inevitably miss some relevant content.

Bush, Vannevar (July 1945). "As We May Think". The Atlantic Monthly. 176 (1): 101–108 - an electrical engineer by training, Bush in many ways envisioned the modern computer. Although the core of his career was devoted to science for the purpose of warfare - he was the founder of the company which would become Raytheon at his peak, he was Director of the Office of Scientific Research and Development - he hoped that efficient organization of and broadened access to information would help to restrain the causes of war.  

Association of College and Research Libraries' Framework for Information Literacy (2016)*

* (ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, or ALA. Most of the following content is copy-pasted but I have changed some of the words.)

Authority Is Constructed and Contextual 

Authority is a type of influence recognized or exerted within a community to which some deference must be given to the extent that authority represents a functional description of reality. However, that authority should be viewed with an attitude of informed skepticism and an openness to new perspectives, additional voices, and changes in schools of thought, acknowledging factors other than the truth (like power, subjective desires, and groupthink) privileges some sources of authority over others. All evidence is to be critically examined all evidence and relevant questions should be asked about its origins, context, and applicability. 
 

Information Creation as a Process 

The information creation process does not conform to a single format (academic journal article, social media post, map) or mode of delivery (print, electronic, oral); all formats and modes of delivery are potentially valuable. The unique capabilities and constraints of each creation process as well as the specific information need determine how the product is used. Experts recognize that information creations are valued differently in different contexts, such as academia or the workplace. Elements that affect or reflect on the creation, such as a pre- or post-publication editing or reviewing process, may be indicators of quality. The dynamic nature of information creation and dissemination requires ongoing attention to understand evolving creation processes. Recognizing the nature of information creation, experts look to the underlying processes of creation as well as the final product to critically evaluate the usefulness of the information (epistemology = how do we know?).
 

Information Has Value 
Information possesses several dimensions of value, including as a commodity, as a means of education, as a means to influence, and as a means of individual and collective negotiating and understanding the world. Legal and socioeconomic interests influence information production and dissemination. The value of information is manifested in various contexts, including publishing practices, access to information, the commodification of personal information, and intellectual property laws. Creators and users of information should understand their rights and responsibilities when participating in discourse. The value of information may be wielded by powerful interests in ways that marginalize certain voices. However, value may also be leveraged by individuals and organizations to effect change and for civic, economic, social, or personal gains. Experts also understand that the individual is responsible for making deliberate and informed choices about when to comply with and when to contest current legal and socioeconomic practices concerning the value of information.

Research as Inquiry 

Research is a process that focuses on problems or questions in a discipline or between disciplines that are open or unresolved. Experts recognize the collaborative effort within a discipline to extend the knowledge in that field. Many times, this process includes points of disagreement where debate and dialogue work to deepen the conversations around knowledge. This process of inquiry extends beyond the academic world to the community at large, and the process of inquiry may focus upon personal, professional, or societal needs. The spectrum of inquiry ranges from asking simple questions that depend upon basic recapitulation of knowledge to increasingly sophisticated abilities to refine research questions, use more advanced research methods, and explore more diverse disciplinary perspectives. 
 

Scholarship as Conversation 

Research in scholarly and professional fields is a discursive practice in which ideas are formulated, debated, and weighed against one another over extended periods of time. Instead of seeking discrete answers to complex problems, experts understand that a given issue may be characterized by several competing perspectives as part of an ongoing conversation in which information users and creators come together and negotiate meaning. Experts understand that, while some topics have established objective truths through this process, not all questions have singular and objective answers. Scholars should therefore be inclined to seek out many perspectives, not merely the ones with which they are familiar. While novice learners and experts at all levels can take part in the conversation, established power and authority structures may influence their ability to participate and can privilege certain voices and information. Developing familiarity with the sources of evidence, methods, and modes of discourse in the field assists novice learners to enter the conversation. New forms of scholarly and research conversations provide more avenues in which a wide variety of individuals may have a voice in the conversation. Providing attribution to relevant previous research is also an obligation of participation in the conversation.

Searching as Strategic Exploration  

Searching for information is often nonlinear and iterative, requiring the evaluation of a range of information sources and the mental flexibility to pursue alternate avenues as new understanding develops. The act of searching often begins with a question that directs the act of finding needed information. Encompassing inquiry, discovery, and serendipity, searching identifies both possible relevant sources as well as the means to access those sources. Experts realize that information searching is a contextualized, complex experience that affects, and is affected by, the cognitive, affective, and social dimensions of the searcher. Novice learners may search a limited set of resources, while experts may search more broadly and deeply to determine the most appropriate information within the project scope. Likewise, novice learners tend to use few search strategies, while experts select from various search strategies, depending on the sources, scope, and context of the information need.

Encyclopedia, handbooks, and bibliographies - authoritative summaries of what is agreed upon and what is disputed. Reading these can stimulate questions, avenues of inquiry, and point to secondary (or, occasionally, primary) sources. These three terms almost always appear in the title and subject headings along with the content they are describing.

Examples:

Books Searching - Moving from Keywords to Subject Headings

Where does the computer search when you look for keywords? FIELDS

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and Library of Congress Call Numbers (LCCN)

Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) - used more widely by public and school libraries. Museums, special collections, and government documents have separate organizational methods and protocols.

Academic Journals - the most abundant form of Academic Communication

start with subject-specific, move to multidisciplinary collections

EBSCO – subject-specific collections (U.S. History, Sociology, Education, Communication, etc.) can be searched separately or collectively; EBSCO also uses simplified LCSH subject headings

ProQuest – has the same problem as their Ds&Ts database – overly broad, non-LCSH subject classifications, but they have good Education, Political/Social Science collections

JSTOR – multidisciplinary; lots of full text but hard to narrow results (no Subjects), but can search within Abstract only

Google Scholar – the largest single indexer of academic journal articles, so lots of results, but very difficult to narrow. Recommended only when one has a citation and one wants to know if one has full text access through WUSTL. Also good for finding a scholar’s complete body of work.