The Oxford handbook of Tudor literature, 1485-1603. Mike Pincombe and Cathy Shrank, eds. Oxford University Press, 2011.
Oxford Bibliographies - combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia to guide researchers to the best available scholarship. Bibliopgraphies relevant to this class might include Atlantic History, British and Irish Literature, and Renaissance and Reformation. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Also includes expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline – whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set – to streamline the research process.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) - guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from Roman period to present day. This service is a partnership between Royal Historical Society, Institute of Historical Research and Brepols Publishers. A "help pack" (user guide) is available here.
Bibliography of English Women Writers (1500 - 1640) - contains a bibliography of numerous known and unknown women writers. Offers short descriptions of many of the texts described.
Gascoigne, Bamber. The Encyclopedia of Britain (New York: Macmillan Pub. Co., 1993) - a rare and unique reference works that is informative, entertaining, easy to use, and attractively packaged. At 720 pages, it has much broader coverage than The Cambridge Historical Encyclopedia of Great Britain and Ireland. The preface provides clear explanations of how the book is arranged and how headwords, population figures, titles, and dates are used. Cross-references are scattered throughout the body of the work, which is arranged alphabetically. There is no table of contents or index. Nevertheless the work is easy to use and arranged in a manner that allows for the rapid location of a subject.
Wagner, J. A. (John A.) Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World: Britain, Ireland, Europe, and America (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999) The first dictionary of history to focus exclusively on the reign of Elizabeth I, Wagner's guide provides its users with clear definitions and descriptions of people, events, institutions, ideas, and terminology relating in some significant way to the Elizabethan period.
Encyclopedia of Early Modern History - the online English version of the Enzyklopädie der Neuzeit, a fifteen-volume reference work published in print between 2005 and 2012. Over 4000 entries offer a multi-faceted view on the decisive era in European history stretching roughly from 1450 to 1850.
Cambridge Histories Online - First published in 1902, the is a globally respected series of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Continually updated and searchable by author, title and subject, this collection represents an impressive breadth and depth of scholarship that offers an unmatched resource for today's historians.
Cambridge Companions Online - 829 authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. It is fully searchable by author, title, topic, or theme.
Literary Encyclopedia - over 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics, written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world. Also lists over 22,000 works by date, country and genre. Covers canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian, and is extending its coverage of Italian, Spanish, Latin and Greek. Data can be arrayed by date, country and genre.
Subject-specific
Historical Abstracts (1955-) historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography - an index to literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship (books and articles) published throughout the world. Indexes material published from 1926-present.
Multidisciplinary
JSTOR database with full texts of journal articles and eBooks in the social sciences and humanities
JOHN FORTESCUE
Sir John Fortescue on the Laws and Governance of England, ed. Shelley Lockwood (Cambridge, 1997) - [KD600.F6713.1997] – Law Library LC and Political Science Collections
Fortescue, John, Sir, 1394-1476
JOHN FISHER
John Fisher’s Court Sermons: Preaching for Lady Margaret, 1507-1509, ed. Cecelia A. Hatt (Oxford, 2021) - [PDF of ‘Funeral Sermon for Henry VII’ from SH and on CANVAS]
Fisher, John, Saint, 1469-1535
JOHN SKELTON
John Skelton: The Complete English Poems, ed. John Scattergood (New Haven, 1983) - [PR2346.S3.1983] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
GEORGE CAVENDISH
The Life and Death of Cardinal Wolsey by George Cavendish, ed. R.S. Sylvester (London, Early English Text Society OS no.243, 1959) - [PR1119.A2.243] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
Schwartz-Leeper, Gavin. From princes to pages: The literary lives of Cardinal Wolsey, Tudor England's 'other king.’ Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2016. Also in eBook
Gardiner, L.R. "George Cavendish: an Early Tudor Political Commentator?" Parergon 6, no. 1 (1988): 77-87, https://muse-jhu-edu.libproxy.wustl.edu/pub/62/article/490961/pdf.
A Companion to the Cavendishes. Tom Rutter & Lisa Hopkins, eds. Leeds: Arc Humanities Press, 2021.
THOMAS MORE
Utopia, ed. Edward Surtz (New Haven, 1964) - [HX811.1616.E964] - Olin Library Level 2 Stacks
More, Thomas, Sir, Saint, 1478-1535 and Utopia. More, Thomas…
THOMAS ELYOT
A Critical Edition of Sir Thomas Elyot’s The Boke Named the Governour, ed. Donald W. Rude (New York, 1992) - [JC393.B3.E67.1992] - Law Library Political Science
ROBERT CROWLEY
The Select Works of Robert Crowley, ed. J.M Cowper (London, Early English Text Society OS no.15, 1872) - [PR1119.E5.15] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
Crowley, Robert, 1518?-1588 – nothing in WUSTL Libraries’ catalog
Thompsett, Frederica Harris. "Robert: Gospeller and Pamphleteer in Tudor England." PhD dissertation. The University of Chicago, 1973. http://libproxy.wustl.edu/login?url=https://www-proquest-com.libproxy.wustl.edu/dissertations-theses/robert-crowley-gospeller-pamphleteer-tudor/docview/251654407/se-2.
McCartor, Robert Lynn. “The Social and Political Theories of Robert Crowley, a Sixteenth-Century Radical.” M.A. Thesis, History. Texas Tech University, 1971, https://ttu-ir.tdl.org/server/api/core/bitstreams/af97f9be-991a-4509-8154-bada87957c01/content.
Graham, Kenneth J. E. (Kenneth John Emerson). "Distributive Measures: Theology and Economics in the Writings of Robert Crowley." Criticism 47, no. 2 (2005): 137-158, https://muse-jhu-edu.libproxy.wustl.edu/pub/27/article/206032/pdf.
HUGH LATIMER
Sermons (London, 1906) - [BX5133.L3.1906] - Olin Library Level B Stacks
THOMAS SMITH
A Discourse of the Commonweal of This Realm of England: attributed to Sir Thomas Smith, ed. Mary Dewar (Charlottesville, 1969) - [HC254.C74.1969] - Olin Library Level 2 Stacks
JOHN FOXE
John Foxe’s The Acts and Monuments Online-DHI
THOMAS SACKVILLE AND THOMAS NORTON
Thomas Sackville and Thomas Norton, Gorboduc, or Ferrex and Porrex, ed. Irby B. Cauthen (Lincoln NE, 1970) - [PR2729.N7.A7.1970] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
Dorset, Thomas Sackville, Earl of, 1536-1608
JOHN STUBBS
John Stubb’s ‘Gaping Gulf’ With Letters and Other Relevant Documents, ed. Lloyd E. Berry (Charlottesville, 1966) - [DA350.S7.1968] - Olin Library Level 3 Stacks
Stubbes, John, 1543-1591 – nothing in WUSTL Libraries
EDMUND SPENSER
The Shepheards Calendar, Containing Twelve Eclogues to the Twelve Months, ed. C.H. Hertford (London, 1925) - [PR2359.A2.H4] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
Spenser, Edmund, 1552?-1599 plus Spenser, Edmund, 1552?-1599. Shepherd's calender
PHILIP SIDNEY
The Countess of Pembroke’s Arcadia [The Old Arcadia], ed. Jean Robertson (Oxford, 1973) - [PR2342.A5.1973] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
MARTIN MARPRELATE
The Martin Marprelate Tracts: A Modernised and Annotated Edition, ed. Joseph L. Black (Cambridge, 2008) - [NOT HELD: PDF of ‘Tract IV: Hay Any Work for Cooper’ from SH and on CANVAS]
WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE
King Henry VI, Part 2, ed. Ronald Knowles (London, 2002) - [PR2815.A2.K56.2002] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
King Richard II, ed. Charles R. Forker (London, 2002) - [PR2820.A2.F67.2002] - Olin Library Level A Stacks
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 plus King Henry VI and King Richard II
If there are other texts which we have alluded to in class on which you might like to focus (e.g. More’s Epigrams, or Elyot’s Dialogues [including Pasquil the Plain], please come and see Professor Hindle to get access to a scholarly edition].
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1475-1700) - contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Early European Books Collection, series 1-4 - drawn from major repositories including the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Wellcome Library in London. Offers a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Browsing by country can give you a sense of what EEBC has from England.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) - a searchable database of rare books on medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland
Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (1460 - 1850) - presents more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials.