A Guide to Latin American Studies Resources

See also, HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

General

• Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC (University of Texas, Austin)
• Bibliographies (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
• Bibliographies and Guides to Research on Latin America (Tulane University)
• BiblioNoticias Series(Benson Latin American Collection, University of Texas, Austin)

  Subject-oriented bibliographic series on Latin American studies. 

• Country Studies Each Country Studies/Area Handbook contains a bibliography. (Library of Congress: Federal Research Division)
• Handbook of Latin American Studies(Library of Congress, Hispanic Division)

  An essential bibliography on available resources for Latin America.

• H-LatAm Bibliographies

  H-LatAm is an international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American History. It is a member of the H-Net Humanities and Social Sciences Online initiative.

• Ibero-American Electronic Text Series (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
• Latin American Information Series(SALALM)

  Bibliographies related to Latin America or topics being studied in Latin American area studies courses.

Ecology/Environment

• Environmental History of Latin America (Stanford University) - Original version 
• Online Bibliography on Environmental History of Latin America (California State University, Long Beach) - Updated edition
• Rainforest Bibliography (California Academy of Sciences)
• Specialized Bibliography on Amazonian Aquaculture 

Films

• Bibliography of Latin American, Hispanic-American and Caribbean Videos (PDF) (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
• Chicanos/Latinos in the Movies: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
• Films & Videos on Latin American Studies (Available from First Run Icarus Films)
• Mexican, Caribbean, and Latin American Cinema: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
• Resources for Locating and Evaluating Latin American Videos (Cornell University)

Globalization

• Globalization in Latin America. (University at Albany Libraries, SUNY. Tina Viglucci)

Latino/a Studies

• Chicanos/Latinos in the Movies (University of California, Berkeley)
• Dominicanos en el Mundo
• Hispanic Americans and Health (University of Texas Health Center San Antonio)
• The Interpretation and Representation of Latino Culture (Smithsonian)
• Latino/a Art Community Bibliography
• Literatura Chicana: Bibliography of Creative and Critical Mexican American Writings(Updates 1984 edition and goes up to 1996, still a MUST for those looking to start/fill in their Chicano Literature collections)
• The Literature of the Puerto Rican Migration in the United States
• M.A. Reading List: Hispanic Southwest Studies(University of New Mexico)
• Mexican American History Bibliography
• Ph. D. Reading List: Chicana/o Literature (University of New Mexico)
• The Religion & Immigration Project Bibliography
• Selected Bibliography Puerto Rican Art in the United States
• U.S Border-Mexico Issues

Literature

• Bibliografías de Borges
• Bibliografía de Julio Cortázar 
• Bibliografía de Rubén Dário
• Early Spanish-American Literature
• Latin American Jewish Fiction, Poetry, Theatre and Film: A Bibliography of Works Published from 1996- (UCLA)
• Octavio Paz
• Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz: Recent Bibliography 1995-1997Recent Bibliography 1995-1997 (Dartmouth College)
• Introduction to a Bibliography of Women Writers: El Salvador and Panama by Nelly S. González

Mexican-American Border Region

• Biology Of The Rio Grande Border Region: A Bibliography
• Border Crossings: From Mexico to U.S., 1903-1957 (Ancestry.com)
• Border Studies Bibliography PDF (University of California, Santa Barbara)
• Derrumbando Fronteras: Breaking Boundaries: Bibliographies (University of Texas, San Antonio)U.S.-Mexico Border Issues: A Selected Bibliography from the Smithsonian Institution Libraries' Collections
• U.S.-Mexico Border and the Environment (Stanford University)

Politics and Government

• Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Sources (University of California, San Diego)
• Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) (University of Texas, Austin)
• Political Database of the Americas (Georgetown University) 

Sexuality

• Bibliography of Sexuality Studies in Latin America (Stanford University)

Women

• Bibliography on Women in Nicaragua
• Gender Studies of Latin America and the Caribbean (University of Cailfornia, Berkeley)
• Latina Women/Colonial Period Bibliography
• Latin American Women Artists: A Bibliographic Archive (San Diego State University, Cecilia Puerto)
• Women in Latin American Literature (Stanford University)
• Introduction to a Bibliography of Women Writers: El Salvador and Panama by Nelly S. González