HIST 3220 - Modern Mexico - A Guide to Latin American Studies - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Reference Sources

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American history - substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated; combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing eBook

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies- combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia to guide researchers to the best available scholarship in Latin American Studies. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Also includes expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline – whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set – to streamline the research process. eBook

Coerver, Don M., Suzanne B. Pasztor, and Robert M. Buffington. Mexico: An encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2004) print

Werner, Michael, ed. Concise Encyclopedia of Mexico (Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, Inc., 2001) eBook

Alisky, Marvin. Historical Dictionary of Mexico 2nd ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2008) print

Enciclopedia de México (Ciudad de México, Instituto de la Enciclopedia de México, 1966- ) - Spanish; 12 volumes print

Jay Kinsbruner and Erick D. Langer, eds. Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture 2nd ed. (Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008) eBook

George Torres, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American popular music (Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2013) print

Minahan, James B. Ethnic groups of the Americas: An encyclopedia (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2013)

Diana Kapiszewski & Alexander Kazan, eds. Encyclopedia of Latin American politics (Westport, CT; London: Oryx Press, 2002) print

Thomas M. Leonard, Jürgen Buchenau, Kyle Longley, and Graeme S. Mount, eds. Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American relations (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE/CQ Press, 2012). eBook

The Library of Congress subheading "bibliographies" is exactly what it suggests: a printed bibliography on the subject. Before the digital age, librarians and scholars created print bibliographies of all the known, important works on particular subjects. If you find the appropriate subject headings for your topic by catalog searching, scroll down the list of subheadings and look for "bibliographies" or use it in a keyword search.

Secondary Sources

Historical Abstracts (1955-) Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Article citations about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Analyses of current political, economic, and social issues as well as unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Abstracts and complete bibliographic information for published materials about Latin America on topics in the social sciences and humanities. Available in English or Spanish.

JSTOR Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals in over 50 disciplines.

Bibliografia Mesoamericana Assembled by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies Inc. (FAMSI; under the Los Angeles County Museum of Art), a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica (México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador). Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines.

Google Scholar The most extensive index of academic journal articles. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable Get It! and Web of Science Links from within Google Scholar citations.

Primary Sources

PRINT

Library catalogers use the subheading "Sources" at the end of a string of subheadings to indicate anthologies of primary sources. However, cataloging is not a perfect science, so not every collection of primary sources has this subheading. For example, a search for the keyword phrase "documentary sourcebook" in the WU Libraries' catalog produces seven titles, only three of which have "sources" as a subheading. In other words, performing a subject search will not produce a complete list of all primary source collections. Sometimes the source one wants to find is not in an anthology but cited in a bibliography of another work. You might want to try an advanced search with a combination of subject headings and keywords like “sources,” "sourcebook," "primary sources," "primary documents," etc. Other subheadings that are specific to different kinds of primary sources are "Maps," "Correspondence," "personal narratives," etc.

NEWSPAPERS

Latin American Newspapers (1822-1922)
Over 80 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Latin American Anarchist and Labor Periodicals Online
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Latin American Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile). MOST OF THE CONTENT IS FROM THE LAST 10-30 YEARS.

BROADCAST MEDIA

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975 - 1996)
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.

MEXICAN REVOLUTION

Coleccion Revolucion, 1910-1921
This collection was collected and collated by members of the Committee on Historical Research of the Mexican Revolution, under the direction of Isidro Fabela in 1958, in preparation for the publication of historical documents on the Mexican Revolution. This collection reproduces documents from various archives, under the protection of the Archivo General de la Nación, and is divided into the following documentary series: (1) The Flores Brothers revolutionary activities MAGO: movement Comun in the Baja California region; (2) Revolution and regime Madero: correspondence, reports and military activities, reports on the political situation in some States; (3) Emiliano Zapata, the Plan of Ayala and his agrarian policy: land deals, reports of troops and mail operations; (4) Revolution and regime Constitutionalist: circulars, laws, decrees and manifestos; and, (5) Sovereign revolutionary Convention: together prior to the sessions and sessions held 1914-1915.
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and its aftermath: records of the U.S. State Department
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath -1910-1924. These unique and insightful records provide an unprecedented look at the Mexican Revolution, which began in 1910 and continued sporadically until the new Constitution was adopted in 1917, through to and including the election of Calles.
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands.
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
The collection contains correspondence addressed to Emiliano Zapata; combat reports; relations with troop commanders and officers; promotion and appointment requests; allegations of abuses committed by military personnel; applications for food, uniforms and ammunition; letters and telegrams on the transfer of prisoners. Document types include: transcripts, journals, laws and draft laws on land, drafts of circulars and manifestos by General Emiliano Zapata; and documents relating to the signing and ratification of the Plan de Ayala organizations.

STATISTICS/PUBLIC OPINION

Latin America - Data & Statistics
Social Science Data Curator and GIS Librarian's (Dorris Scott) guide to national, social, culture, political, and ethnic data for Latin America
Latinobarómeter (1995 - )
An annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants.

U.S. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion. U.S./Mexico relations constitute about 1/4 of this archive.
U. S. Declassified Documents Online
Selected previously classified government documents ranging from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Search by name, date, word, or phrase, or focus on document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, date declassified, sanitization, completeness, number of pages, and document number. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
Cold War intelligence online: the secret war between the U.S. and the USSR, 1945-1991
This collection of 2,360 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

OTHER

World Scholar Historical Archive: Latin America
Full text, searchable access to primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The scope ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets, letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, newspaper accounts, news feeds, audio and video, and more.