Contact University Archives
How can we help you?
Approximately 25% of archive patrons who call, email, or visit the University Archives are WU staff members, searching for information related to the University's 150-plus years of history.
University Publications
University Archives often provides images and historic research to the writers of the Washington University Magazine. Below are a few examples:
If These Halls Could Talk by Publication Date: February 2014
Live at Wash. U. by Publication Date: October 2013Soon after the birth of rock ’n’ roll, Washington University became a tour stop for many famous musical artists, including Ray Charles, the Grateful Dead and U2.
Remembering Blair Gullion by Publication Date: October 2012
A Treasure Trove by Publication Date: February 2013
15 Secrets of Rudolph Hall by Publication Date: June 2012Provided research for fact #4: "Building houses huge crocodile, originally from downtown campus."
To Honor William Greenleaf Eliot’s Birth and Legacy by Publication Date: April 2012
A Rare & Notable Find by Publication Date: October 2011
Nature’s Nobleman by Publication Date: June 2011Recovered letters of famed mathematician William Chauvenet, Washington University’s second chancellor, shed new light on his life and tenure at the university.
Celebrating Commencement by Publication Date: June 2011On May 20, 2011, Washington University celebrated its 150th Commencement exercises; article featured images drawn from University Archives
Mary Fairchild: Washington University’s Forgotten Impressionist by Publication Date: Fall 2009
Reunions
Alumni and staff from all academic divisions access campus yearbooks and historic photograph collections for reunion invitations, facebook pages, event displays, memory books, and more.
Pictured: Adam Ulrich, Denver Wright, & Joseph Gorman (Class of 1964) review soccer images at University Archives to find the perfect shot for their 50th Reunion memory video. March 3, 2014 (University Archives Staff photo).
Campus Community
Here are just a few recent examples of how the campus community benefits from working with the Washington University Archives (WUA):
Fund Development staff created thank you gifts for 2012-13 Annual Fund using the WUA collection "Names That Live."
Campus architects and designers regularly consult archived plans and images when renovating or remodeling campus buildings.
EH &S Radiation Safety Division consulted the archives to determine when campus buildings were constructed, and therefore which might have hazardous emergency lights.
The Art on Campus Program is using the earliest campus architecture documents to provide historical perspective and background for the commissioned artists.
Public Affairs Newsroom staff works closely with WUA staff to locate historic images needed for outside media requests, generally needed on very short notice. The archives also regularly contributes to campus publications, such as this article honoring the life of Dean Burt Wheeler.
University Administration:
WUA archives the official records created by the Chancellor, and provide access for his office staff, and authorized researchers. A similar service is provided for the records of the Provost, Board of Trustees, Faculty Senate, and other offices.
WU Memory
Schools and departments find the archives very useful as they celebrate anniversary years, faculty milestones, or other special events:
- Imaging & Innovation: A History of Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology (1905-2012)