This guide will help you navigate University Archives' more than 300 unique collections, most of which document the history of Washington University from 1853 to today. Other collections are related to 20th century St. Louis history.
The collection includes scrapbooks chronicling the history of the WRC from 1973 – 2002, WRC group journals with both personal and business notes, WashU newsletters and course listings, photograph and video recordings of events, and various publications.
The collection includes administrative information for the Women's Studies Program, including correspondence, planning documents, course descriptions and evaluations, curriculum changes, publications, event material, and more.
This collection is comprised of documents that detail the formation of the Committee of Education for Women at WashU, which formed in 1963 to address issues related to providing substantive undergraduate and graduate degree-granting programs for women.
This collection documents the planning and promotion of the 1977 conference at Washington University. It includes audio recordings of various session and speakers at the conference, and related conference ephemera.
The office of Dean of Women was started at Washington University in 1913, with primary responsibility for all female students (commonly referred to as “co-eds”) on campus. Duties included recruitment, advising, student conduct, dormitories, and all other non-academic areas.
Published Primary Sources at Special Collections, Olin Library: