Skip to main content

About WU Archives

This guide will help you navigate University Archives' more than 300 unique collections, most of which document the history of Washington University from 1853 to today. Other collections are related to 20th century St. Louis history.

Finding Aids by Subject: Architecture

Collections held by University Archives on this topic include architectural drawings for residential and commercial buildings from various St. Louis architects including Harris Armstrong, William Bernoudy, and Maritz & Young; Dept. of Architecture publications; photographs of various architectural structures from the 19th century from the Russell Sturgis Photograph Collection; and material compiled by the Washington University Technology Associates, Inc. to document, restore, and preserve the physical properties of three-dimensional artwork; and more. 

Finding aids for architecture related collections:

History of Architecture Education At WUSTL

The Washington University School of Architecture was originally part of the School of Engineering and Architecture. The program was first housed in Cupples I, and the first professor of architecture, Frederick M. Mann, came to teach. In 1910, the School of Architecture was separated from the engineering program as a separate unit. It is one of the 10 founding members of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. Twenty years later, Joseph Givens, whose father had been the architect for the university’s first (downtown) campus, donated money for the construction of a new building to house the School of Architecture -- Givens Hall, which opened in 1932. Since then, deans of the school have included Alexander Langsdorf, Joseph Murphy, and Constantine E. Michaelides, who served in that position from 1973 to 1993, becoming one of the longest-serving dean at the university. In 2005 the College of Architecture joined with the Art program as part of the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts.

More Resources