Research Guides: A Guide to Chinese Studies Resources: Archives

English language archives related to China

Archives Unbound (WU access only)
Also known as the Declassified Documents Reference Service. Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives. Chinese topics include:

Other archives:

True Crimes
A supplement to professor Robert Hegel's "True Crimes in Eighteenth-Century China: Twenty Case Histories", this resource provides a sample of crime reports from the Qing Dynasty translated into English.
Wilson Center Digital Archives: China
Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.

Chinese language archives

中华人民共和国中央人民政府
An official government portal provides free access to the government documents including statistics, white papers, work reports, budget reports, plan reports, government briefings, etc.
中国国家档案局公布档案
Provides free access to digitized archival materials hold in the State Archive Administration.
政府公報資訊網
National Central Library Gazette Online: Contains over 60 gazettes published since 1912 by various government institutions of the Republic of China.

CD-ROM/DVD

中国反右运动数据库, 1957- = Chinese anti-rightist campaign database, 1957- by 宋永毅
Call Number: DS778.5 .Z464 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A full-text searchable database containing conprehensive primary sources on Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign, including government documents, directives, bulletins, speeches and works by Mao Zedong and other officials, major newspaper editorials, and published "Rightist" views and their denunciations, etc.
中国文化大革命文库 = Zhongguo wen hua da ge ming wen ku by 宋永毅
Call Number: DS778.7 .Z46 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A full-text searchable database containing conprehensive primary sources on Chinese Cultural Revolution, including CCP documents, directives, speeches and works by Mao Zedong and other officials, major newspaper editorials, and selective Red Guard documents.
中国共产党文献资料库 = Zhongguo gong chan dang wen xian zi liao ku by 中央文献出版社
Call Number: JQ1519.A5 C5219 1998
Publication Date: 1998
CCP materials containing 2,733 documents from 1921-1949, 1,232 documents from 1949-1965, and 619 documents from 1978-1997.