A Guide to Chinese Studies Resources

Washington University in St. Louis

Collection Development Policy

Library: East Asian Library & Olin Library

Subject: Chinese Studies

Collection: General

Date Revised: April 14, 2014

Subject Librarian:  Joan Wang

 

1. General purpose:

The Chinese studies collection supports the teaching, learning, and research needs of the faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures, Department of History, and various other departments and programs at Washington University, including Anthropology, Art and Art History, Comparative Literature, Economics, Film and Media Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religious Studies.

 

2. Subjects excluded:

• Materials in areas such as pure science and technology are excluded.   
• Currently the Chinese Studies collection does not actively pursue acquisition of materials in agriculture, architecture, archaeology, business, linguistics, and military science. 

3. Overlap with other collections or subjects:

• Main overlap areas are with:
  • Anthropology
  • Art and Art History
  • Comparative Literature
  • Economics
  • Film and Media Studies
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Religious Studies
  • Women Studies
  • Law

4. Languages included and excluded:

We collect materials in Chinese and English extensively.  Materials written in languages other than Chinese and English are generally not actively pursued, but not excluded if they pertain to specific research and teaching projects of faculty members and graduate students.

East Asian language materials are shelved in the East Asian Library.  English and Western European language materials are generally shelved in Olin Library. 

5. Geographical limitations:

Mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong are the primary areas for Chinese studies.

6. Chronological limits:

None

7. Retrospective acquisition:

Chiefly current publications, with some retrospective collecting, especially reprints of early Chinese works.

8. Types of material collected and excluded:

• Collected:  
  • Print monographs
  • Print periodicals
  • Reference Works
  • Electronic Resources 
  • Audio-visual items are occasionally acquired as part of the Chinese Studies collection, but shelved in Olin Library.
  • Microforms
    •  These are only considered when no other alternatives are possible.  
• Excluded:  
  • Most textbooks, except selective college-level language materials. Most translations of Western works into Chinese language.  Elementary and juvenile materials. 

9. Other factors to consider:

• The areas of strength of the collection are the humanities and social sciences, with particular emphasis on the humanities.  The collection is strong in language and literature, history (especially Ming and Qing dynastic histories), collectanea, religion, and fine arts.  We need to continue to strengthen our collection in these fields, to support teachings and research.
• In recent years, as EALC expands its range of study into some new fields, such as film and visual culture studies, gender and women studies, material culture or cultural history, and Taiwan studies.  And, faculty and graduate students in History Department are engaged in a broad spectrum of research on Southern China.  We must consider many publications for acquisition, both retrospective and current.
• Chinese language materials are also collected by the Law Library, which has approximately 4,150 titles (7,375 volumes).  Collections in Art & Architecture Library, Music Library, and some other libraries on campus also have some Chinese language materials and materials related to Chinese studies, but they are not managed by the Chinese Studies Librarian.

10. Subjects and Collecting Levels:

	Chinese Language Materials in East Asian Library
Anthropology	3B
Archeology	2
Architecture	2
Art History	3B
Buddhism	4
Economic History	2
Economics (Modern)	2
Education	2
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.	3B
Film and Media	3B
Folklore	3A
Geography	2
History, pre-Ming	3
History, Ming & Qing	3A
History, 20-century	3B
Literature, pre-Ming	3A
Literature, Ming & Qing	4
Literature, 20-century	4
Military Science	1
Performing Arts: Pre-modern	3B
Performing Arts: Modern	3A
Philosophy, pre-modern	3A
Philosophy, 20-century	3A
Political science	3A
Religion	3B
Women’s Studies	3B

	English Language Materials in Olin Library
History, pre-Ming	3B
History, Ming & Qing	4
History, 20-century	4
Literature, pre-Ming	3B
Literature, Ming & Qing	4
Literature, 20-century	4