Skip to Main Content

A Guide to Chinese Studies

Research Guide for Chinese Studies

Print References at EAL

The East Asian Library has a printed reference section in Chinese, Japanese and Korean in the reading room. Please search the Library Catalog or ask assistance at the reference desk.

Pinyin/Wade-Giles Conversion

Pinyin to Wade-Giles Conversion Table
FAQ -- What's the difference between Wade-Giles and Pinyin?
Library of Congress

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
WU access only
The Encyclopedia of Taoism
WU access only
Cambridge Companion to Modern Chinese Culture
WU access only
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film
WU access only
古今圖書集成
1934 version

Dictionaries

漢典
汉辞网：汉语大辞典
林語堂：當代漢英詞典 (CUHK)
Lin Yutang's Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage, Chinese University of Hong Kong
成語字典
書法字典
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
WU access only
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
WU access only
電子佛教詞典
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
Dictionaries of the Study of Buddhism and East Asian Language and Thought

Calendar, Weight and Measure, Translator

兩千年中西曆轉換
2000 year Chinese/Gregorian calendar conversion, Academia Sinica
天干地支对照表
Heavenly Stems and Earthly Branches conversion table
中国历代衡制演变简表
Historical Chinese measurement systems simple evolution table
Google Translate
Dictionary.com translator
On-line Chinese Tools by Erik E. Peterson
Includes a Western-Chinese calendar converter, a way to repair corrupted Chinese e-mails, and more.

Government Information

People's Republic of China official government website
中央人民政府门户网站
Library of Congress Country Studies: China
The World Bank in China
政府白皮书
中华人民共和国国务院办公室 The State Council Information Office of the People's Republic of China
Office of the President, Republic of China (Taiwan)
中華民國總統府
Government Portal of the Republic of China
我的E政府

CIA World Factbook: China | Hong Kong | Taiwan

Maps

Google Maps China
WWW Virtual Library: Geography (China)
China Historical Maps
University of Texas at Austin: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
中国古今名大词典

Bibliography

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - ) This link opens in a new window
References to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Classical Historiography for Chinese Studies
中國經典文獻工具書錄, compiled by Benjamin A. Elman at Princeton University
Song Research Tools
Bibliography of Oriental Studies
東洋学文献類目検索, in Japanese

Biography and Genealogy

China Biographical Database Project (CBDB)
中國歷代人物傳記資料庫, Harvard
明人文集聯合目錄與篇名索引資料困
Biographical Database of Chinese Buddhism in Sung, Yuan, Ming and Qing
宋元明清漢傳佛教人物資料庫
Chinese Names of Western Scholars
by Philip Clart
China Collection of Genealogies
中國, 族譜收藏
My China Roots
中華家脉
FamilySearch
The Treasury of Lives
A biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region

Statistics

National Bureau of Statistics, People's Republic of China
中国人民共和国国家统计局
分省年度数据
中国国家统计局人口普查
中国统计年鉴
China Data Online
中国数据在线
China Family Panel Studies (CFPS) at Peking University
中国家庭追踪调查
The World Bank in China

UNdata (United Nations Data) This link opens in a new window
Official statistics, estimates, and projections produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. Includes indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Learn more about this database

Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department
香港政府統計處
National Statistics of the Republic of China (Taiwan)
中華民國統計資訊網
Taiwan Colonial Statistics Database
臺灣法實證日治時期資料庫
Statista

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2024 12:31 PM
URL: https://libguides.wustl.edu/chinese
Print Page

Subjects: East Asian Languages & Culture

Tags: area_studies, asia, asian, china, chinese, east_asia, east_asian, hong_kong, taiwan