Full-text databases (subscribed or open access)
Subscribed databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Off-campus access requires WashU ID. Information about off-campus access (Proxy server and VPN).
You may also find the following databases as well as others at: A-Z Databases: Chinese Studies
- China Academic Journals Database (Series F, G, H, J) (1906 - ) This link opens in a new windowA periodical database with access to numerous Chinese language periodicals published in or after 1906. A PDF viewer with a Chinese simplified language pack is required to view articles.
Click “Academic journals/学术期刊”. Full-text access to the following four sections:
- Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy 哲学与人文社会科学
- Series G: Politics/Military Affairs/Law 社会科学 I
- Series H: Education/Social Sciences 社会科学 II
- Series J: Economy & Management 经济与管理科学
- China National Social Science Database (Open Access)国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库: It includes over 2,000 journals published by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, which can be accessed only from this database starting from 2013. Individual registration is required.
- PubScholar公益学术平台: Launched by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, PubScholar offers millions of academic papers, journal articles, dissertations, and patent documents at no cost.
- DuXiu This link opens in a new windowOver 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, including books, journal articles, newspapers, theses, conference proceedings, and video clips.
- National Index of Periodicals (Shanghai Library) (8 users) This link opens in a new windowThe platform contains three full-text databases of books, periodicals, and newspapers of modern China: 1) Chinese Periodical of Modern China, in specific, The Late Qing Dynasty Periodical 1816-1911 晚清期刊全文数据库 1816-1911 and Chinese Periodical 1911-1949 中文期刊全文数据库 1911-1949; 2) Books of Modern China 1840-1949 中国近代图书全文数据库 1840-1949; 3) North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists 1850-1951 字林洋行中英文报纸全文数据库 1850-1951.
To search a database, click the database icon and the “Use” button.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) This link opens in a new windowAlso known as “Airiti Library: Chinese Periodical Services (CEPS)”.
Provides access to articles in 900 Taiwanese periodicals in various subjects, from 1991 to current. They are full text searchable and the articles can be downloaded in PDF format.
- National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan (Open access)臺灣博碩士論文知識加值系統: National Central Library (NCL) provides free on-line services to general public on theses and dissertation of academic degrees, including citation information, abstracts and some full-text works.
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (Open Access)This collection provides full-text access to 22 newspapers from 1912 establishment of China’s first post-imperial government to the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949.
- Shen Bao Newspaper Archive (1872-1949) This link opens in a new windowEstablished in 1872, Shen Bao was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters.
- Zhongguo fang zhi ku: Database of Chinese Local Records (one concurrent user allowed)中国方志库: Contains 4,000 titles (2000 titles in series I & 2000 titles in series II) of rare and special edition local gazetteers printed in China from Song Dynasty to the Republican era. The database is fully searchable. All texts are provided in full-text and image format, allowing direct side by side comparison.
- Zhongguo ji ben gu ji ku: Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books (one concurrent user allowed)中国基本古籍库: Contains approximately 10,000 titles of Chinese classic ancient books from pre-Qin dynasty to the Republic of China. The database provides full-text search, basic/advanced search, and faceted browsing. It also allows a side by side comparison between the transcriptions and original editions.
- Library of Congress Chinese Rare Book Digital CollectionThe Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection draws from the 5,300 titles of Chinese rare books housed at the Asian Division of the Library of Congress. The online presentation includes nearly 2,000 digitized rare titles.
- Yong le da dian (Library of Congress)永樂大典: The Yongle da dian, or Yongle Encyclopedia, stands out as one of the most extensive attempts in world history to capture the entirety of human knowledge in book form. The 41 volumes digitized here represent the complete holdings for this title in the Asian Division of the Library of Congress.
- AM Explorer: China StudiesThis cross-searchable platform provides access to a vast range of primary sources relating to China's history, literature and culture. Spanning three centuries, the resources include rare printed books, pamphlets, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals. These are supported by a range of incredible art works, illustrations and photographs.