A Social Work Research Guide

Administration for Children & Families, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Resources, funding, and training information related to ACF's work with native communities. Includes fact sheets, statistical reports, and a program directory. https://www.acf.hhs.gov/tribal-affairs

Formerly the Administration on Aging. Programs and services for older AIAN. https://www.acl.gov/programs/services-native-americans-oaa-title-vi

Includes statistical reports, statistical tables, and interactive tools. https://www.census.gov/about/partners/cic/resources/data-links/aian.html

Free access to full text government documents. https://digitalcommons.law.ou.edu/indianserialset/

https://medlineplus.gov/americanindianandalaskanativehealth.html

Population profile with demographics and statistics. https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/omh/browse.aspx?lvl=3&lvlid=62

"...national survey reports, agency and federal initiatives, and related behavioral health resources." Includes statistical reports. https://www.samhsa.gov/behavioral-health-equity/ai-an

Scholarships, fellowships, internships, etc. for undergraduate and graduate degrees. https://www.aigcs.org/

From Arizona State University. "...covers prehistory to the present time and includes all topics dealing with the American Indian in Alaska, Canada, and the United States." Items are in the ASU libraries' special collections. https://spmi.lib.asu.edu/spmi?dbpiece=amii

Along with Arizona State University "As part of tribally-driven participatory research, the Policy Institute responds to tribal research direction and empowers Tribal Nations, tribal communities and American Indian students through projects that support self-determination and build tribal capacity." The legislative tab provides federal and Arizona updates.
https://aipi.asu.edu/

https://www.bia.gov/

Maintained by the Aspen Institute of Washington, D.C. and "dedicated to improving the health, safety and overall well-being of Native American youth ..." https://www.cnay.org/

By: Hilary N. Weaver, Lacey M. Sloan, Carenlee Barkdull, Palama Lee
https://www.cswe.org/getattachment/Education-Resources/Indigenous-and-Tribal-Content/CSWE-Statement-of-Accountability-and-Reconciliation-for-Harms-Done-to-Indigenous-and-Tribal-Peoples.pdf

See the American Indian box on the subpage, "Freely Searchable Databases by Subject for Alumni." https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301116#s-lg-box-888572

An oral history project supported by Doris Duke involving all tribes located in Oklahoma. Materials include social histories, gatherings, dance, etc. https://digital.libraries.ou.edu/WHC/duke/

Cultural, Legal, and Housing resources. Federally recognized tribes. https://www.usa.gov/tribes

"Our grantmaking program provides both financial and technical resources to tribes and Native nonprofit organizations to support asset-based development efforts." https://www.firstnations.org/grantmaking/

This portal provides links to social events, travel, breaking information and more on Indian Country. https://newsmaven.io/indiancountrytoday

Best practices for health and mental health. https://www.ihs.gov/forproviders/bestpractices/

Federal health program for American Indians and Alaska Natives. https://www.ihs.gov/index.cfm

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/public_indian_housing/ih

Cosponsored by Ho-Chunk, Inc. and Noble Savage Media. This site provides reliable news on important issues from an American Indian perspective. https://www.indianz.com/

Jefferson College's research guide. https://libguides.jeffco.edu/missouritribes

Washington University in St. Louis. "...study of American Indian issues related to social work." https://sites.wustl.edu/budercenter/

https://brownschool.wustl.edu/about/native-land-acknowledgement/

MHC Magazine. Missouri Humanities Council.
mohumanities.org MO Humanities
Fall 2018/Winter 2019. Acknowledging Native History in Missouri by Molly Tovar & Chris Leiker. pages 10-11.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Wz-oTmdVU4RFWRYh-K41uUyxbWHF64V1/view

The NCAI " is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."
https://www.ncai.org/

"...representing the health care interests of American Indians and Alaska Natives living in urban settings." https://www.ncuih.org/index

https://www.nicwa.org/

Educational resources, information, and statistics. https://www.niea.org/

https://www.nihb.org/

Numerous federal government publications. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/native-american-american-indian-publications

Online, Native American newspaper.
https://www.nativetimes.com/

From the University of New Mexico. Can search by tribe. https://nativehealthdatabase.net/

National Library of Medicine. Presents "Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness." https://www.nlm.nih.gov/nativevoices/index.html

"...project of the National Indian Education Association (NIEA) designed to house culture-based education (CBE) curriculum aligned with Common Core State Standard (CCSS). The repository will serve as a clearinghouse for quality curriculum respectful of cultural and traditional knowledge and utilizing innovative instructional strategies to ensure Native students succeed." https://www.niea.org/culture-and-language-based-curriculum

https://olderindians.acl.gov/

University of Alberta. "PolarInfo (1996 to June 2004) is a multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. All subject areas are covered including health, education, law, business, political science, geology, cold regions engineering, vegetation, and wildlife." https://polarinfo.library.ualberta.ca/index.cfm

From: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/tribal/index.html

For statistics, see the American Indian box on the statistics subpage. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301062#s-lg-box-892294

From the Indian Health Service. Scroll down to the Toolkits section. https://www.ihs.gov/sasp/resources/

By SAMHSA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. "...resources on all Tribal TTA Center topics: mental and substance use disorders, suicide prevention, bullying and violence, and mental health promotion. https://www.samhsa.gov/tribal-ttac/resources

Has community profiles dashboard with infectious disease, maternal child health, mortality, mental health, substance abuse. Has diabetes dashboard. Has reports with stat summaries. https://www.uihi.org/

Geared toward American Indian/Alaska Native teens. Covers health and culture.
https://www.wernative.org/