Research Guides: A Social Work Research Guide: Books

Boxes on This Books Page

Here are links to the boxes on this Books page. The links will quickly jump the screen to the boxes of information.
Useful Links for Books
Selected Free Electronic Books

Useful Links for Books

WUSTL's Library Catalog for Finding Books
Books in the Danforth/West and medical campus libraries with links to the MOBIUS books. https://spokane.wustl.edu/
AccessMedicine
Over 50 key medical e-books. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=accessmedicine
AccessSurgery
Surgical e-books. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=accesssurgery
Books@Ovid
Medical, Nursing, and Pharmacology e-books. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?a=all&q=books@ovid
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Many recent items are available online. https://catalog.gpo.gov
CRCnetBASE (Taylor and Francis Publisher)
Over 5,000 full-text books, including health, policy, science, social science, and technology. Change the T&F eBooks dropdown arrow to: All eBook Collections. After your search results display, apply the limit: Content I have access to. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=crcnetbase&p=1
GovInfo.gov
Site for the official version of many congressional, judicial, and some executive branch documents & books. https://www.govinfo.gov/
IMF eLibrary
International Monetary Fund. Free access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, etc. https://www.elibrary.imf.org/
Internet E-books that are Free to Read
The Multidisciplinary box in the Alumni section of this research guide. Collections of e-books that are free to read through the Internet. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301116#s-lg-box-888611
National Academies Press
Publications of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Covers agriculture, behavioral & social sciences, biography & autobiography, biology & life sciences, information technology, earth sciences, education, energy, engineering & technology, environment, food & nutrition, health & medicine, industry & labor, math, chemistry, physics, space & aeronautics, statistics, transportation & infrastructure. https://nap.nationalacademies.org/
Online Books or E-books
Research guide describes e-book resources at WUSTL, websites for locating electronic books, instructions on using various platforms, and tips for using e-readers. https://libguides.wustl.edu/ebooks
Open Social Work: Education: Open Textbooks for Social Work
https://opensocialwork.org/education/textbooks/
O'Reilly Online Learning: Academic Edition
More than 47,000 full-text e-books. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=o%27reilly&p=1

OverDrive Audiobook Collection
Access to downloadable audiobooks. For access on mobile devices download the Libby app. Limited to account holders with a Washington University email address. Click Additional Info below for instructions on creating an OverDrive account with your Washington University email.

1. Click the “Sign In With My Card” button.
2. Choose “Washington University in St. Louis” from the list under “Where do you
use your library card?”
3. On the next page, click the “Next” button.
4. Enter your Washington University email address on the Microsoft Sign in page and click the “Next” button.
5. You will be re-directed to the WUSTL Key Login page. Login with your
WUSTL Username and Password. (If off campus, you will need to use the
2FA (Duo) authentication process.)
6. On the “Here is your library card” page click “Next” or “Rename Card” if you
wish to give your card a name.
7. Search for available titles to borrow or place a hold on titles with a wait list.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work
Listing of important materials from all areas of social work selected by scholars and experts in their disciplines. The bibliography is regularly updated and linked to material owned by WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Oxford Reference Online
Contains hundreds of reference books published by Oxford University Press including dictionaries, health, policy, science & technology, and the social sciences. Apply the limit: Show books in my subscription. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=oxford%20reference%20online&p=1
ProQuest Ebook Central
After search results display, apply the limit: Owned and subscribed to by my library. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=proquest%20ebook
Reference Books and E-books at WUSTL
Selected reference books and e-books at WUSTL that relate to social work, social policy, and public health. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301059#s-lg-box-894791

SAGE Research Methods
Selected full text e-books on social-related research methods. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Selected Free Electronic Books

The following are free to read on the screen. Contact the copyright holder if you wish to use or adapt the information. Additional electronic books are in the Alumni Resources tab.

Alumni Resources Tab
https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301117

American Indian and Alaska Native Roundtable on Long Term Care: Final Report 2002
The Indian Health Service (IHS), in partnership with the Administration on Aging (AoA) and the National Indian Council on Aging (NICOA), held a Roundtable Conference on American Indian and Alaska Native Long Term Care on April 11, 12, 2002. Prepared by: Jo Ann Kauffman, Kauffman and Associates, Inc. under contract with the Indian Health Service (IHS). Copyright: Kauffman and Associates, Inc. Received permission to post the PDF.
The Children’s Bureau Legacy: Ensuring the Right to Childhood
Written and published by: Children’s Bureau, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. https://www.childwelfare.gov/pubPDFs/cb_ebook.pdf This item is in the public domain.
Cost analysis in program evaluation: A guide for child welfare researchers and service providers
Written by: Calculating the Costs of Child Welfare Services Workgroup. Published by: Children’s Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/documents/cb/cost_analysis_guide.pdf This item is in the public domain.
The Labor Market for Social Workers: A First Look
Written by: Michael C. Barth and Yvon Pho for The John A. Hartford Foundation, Inc. Published by: The John A. Hartford Foundation, Inc. Copyright: The John A. Hartford Foundation. Received permission to post the PDF.

Prevention Resource Guide (2021-2022)
Written and published by: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Children’s Bureau, Office on Child Abuse and Neglect. "... seeks to highlight the innovative ways that communities around the country are doing purposeful prevention work to help children and families thrive..." https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/preventing/preventionmonth/resources/resource-guide/ This item is in the public domain.
Resident Centered Community-Building: What Makes it Different?: A Report from the Connecting Communities Learning Exchange (2013)
Published by the Aspen Institute, Roundtable on Community Change. Copyright: Connecting Communities Learning Exchange. https://www.aspeninstitute.org/publications/resident-centered-community-building-what-makes-it-different/

Social Work & the Affordable Care Act: Maximizing the Profession’s Role in Health Reform
2015? Written by: Christina Andrews and Teri Browne. Published by: Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care. Copyright: Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care. Received permission to post the PDF. https://libguides.wustl.edu/ld.php?content_id=10384268

Unaffordable America: Poverty, Housing, and Eviction (2015).
Written by: Matthew Desmond. Published by: Institute for Research on Poverty, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Fast Focus No. 22-2015. Copyright: Regents of the University of Wisconsin System on behalf of the Institute for Research on Poverty. https://www.irp.wisc.edu/publications/fastfocus/pdfs/FF22-2015.pdf
Universal Coverage of Long-Term Care in the United States: Can We Get There from Here? (2012).
Editors: Douglas Wolf and Nancy Folbre. Published by: Russell Sage Foundation. Copyright: Russell Sage Foundation. https://www.russellsage.org/publications/universal-coverage-long-term-care-united-states
What We Believe: A History of the George Warren Brown School of Social Work, 1909-2007 (2008).
Written by: Candace O'Connor. Published by: Washington University in St. Louis. Copyright: Washington University in St. Louis. https://wustl.box.com/s/3k1944fvgur1sssykv84fn45np9e5o4s

The WIC Program: Background, Trends, and Economic Issues, 2009 Edition
Written by: Victor Oliveira and Elizabeth Frazao. Published by: United States Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. Economic Research Report Number 73. https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/pub-details/?pubid=46177 This item is in the public domain.
The WIC Program: Background, Trends, and Economic Issues, 2015 Edition
Written by: Victor Oliveira and Elizabeth Frazao. Published by: United States Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. Economic Information Bulletin Number 134. https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/pub-details/?pubid=43927 This item is in the public domain.

A Social Work Research Guide

Brown School Reference Librarian

Boxes on This Books Page

Useful Links for Books

Selected Free Electronic Books

Subpages for the Books Page