A Social Work Research Guide

Administration for Community Living. AGing, Independence, and Disability (AGID) Program Data Portal. Stats and profiles. https://agid.acl.gov/

https://www.acl.gov/aging-and-disability-in-america/data-and-research

A web portal that brings together numerous government websites related to aging topics. https://agingstats.gov/

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/aging/data/index.htm

https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems

"... review the history and major provisions of Title XVIII and Title XIX of the Social Security Act, as well as the history of health spending in the U.S. and projected national health expenditures." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/MedicareProgramRatesStats/SummaryMedicareMedicaid

"... includes summary information on total program enrollment, utilization, expenditures, as well as total number of Medicare providers including physicians by specialty area." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/CMS-Fast-Facts

"... detailed summary statistics on Medicare populations, utilization, and expenditures, as well as counts for Medicare-certified institutional and non-institutional providers." https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/statistics-trends-and-reports/cmsprogramstatistics

"...prevalence of chronic conditions among Medicare beneficiaries and the impact of chronic conditions on Medicare service utilization and spending." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Chronic-Conditions

https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/statistics-trends-and-reports/thechartseries

National food programs. Participation and costs at national and state levels. National school lunch program, School breakfast program, Special milk program, Child & adult care food program, Summer food service program. https://www.fns.usda.gov/pd/child-nutrition-tables

By the United States Census Bureau. See the tabs on the left for Data and Library. Inside Library, see Publications and also Working papers. Click on All instead of viewing results by each year. https://www.census.gov/topics/population/older-aging.html

By the International Social Security Association (ISSA) in partnership with the U.S. Social Security Administration. https://ww1.issa.int/country-profiles

From the Social Security Administration. https://www.ssa.gov/policy/

From the American Association of Retired Persons. See the Issues & Topics section and also the State Resources section for stats and survey results. https://www.aarp.org/research/

This U.S. Census Bureau site includes tribal, organizational, and census information. The data tools are near the bottom. https://www.census.gov/about/cong-gov-affairs/intergovernmental-affairs/tribal-aian.html

From the Census Bureau. https://www.census.gov/about/cong-gov-affairs/intergovernmental-affairs/tribal-aian/data.html

https://www.census.gov/about/partners/cic/resources/data-links/aian.html

By the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). https://www.samhsa.gov/data/all-reports?f%5B0%5D=population_groups%3A261&items_per_page=100

Census and health quick facts. https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/omh/browse.aspx?lvl=3&lvlid=62

https://www.va.gov/vetdata/docs/SpecialReports/AIAN.pdf

In addition to the links on the Tribal crime and justice homepage, there are more detailed stats in the tabs to the right: Jails in Indian Country, Tribal Courts, Tribal Crime, Tribal Law Enforcement. https://bjs.ojp.gov/topics/tribal-crime-and-justice

MedlinePlus. Statistics section. https://medlineplus.gov/americanindianandalaskanativehealth.html#cat_79

Indian Health Service. https://www.ihs.gov/sdpi/fact-sheets/

https://www.ihs.gov/newsroom/factsheets/

National Center for Education Statistics. https://nces.ed.gov/fastfacts/display.asp?id=1143

From the National Center for Health Statistics. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/databriefs/db372.htm

https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/american-indian-health.htm

From the National Center for Health Statistics. Limit to the most recent Health U.S. edition. Limit the Population subgroups to American Indian or Alaska Native. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus/data-finder.htm

https://www.cdc.gov/healthytribes/index.htm

Division of Program Statistics. "... tables and charts that describe the IHS program and the health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives." https://www.ihs.gov/dps/publications/

https://www.niea.org/native-education-research

"... confinement facilities, detention centers, jails, and other facilities operated by tribal authorities or the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Information is gathered on inmate counts, movements, facility operations, and staff." https://bjs.ojp.gov/topics/tribal-crime-and-justice/jails-in-indian-country

My Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS). https://www.census.gov/tribal/

From the National Center for Health Statistics. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/nvsr/nvsr70/NVSR70-12.pdf

Publications & Products by subject index A-Z. American Indians. https://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/index.asp?HasSearched=1&searchcat2=subjectindex&L1=112&L2=0

"... overview of the Native education landscape across the United States. You will find information on the number of Native students in each state, the types of schools that Native students attend, and much more." https://www.niea.org/statebystate-landscape

Has community profiles dashboard with infectious disease, maternal child health, mortality, mental health, substance abuse. Has diabetes dashboard. Has reports with stat summaries. https://www.uihi.org/

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/ahs/

https://www.adb.org/what-we-do/data/main

https://www.bea.gov/

https://www.bls.gov/

Statistics on many modes of transportation and some commerce topics. https://www.bts.gov/

National Transportation Library collection of transportation statistics. https://ntl.bts.gov/ntl

Has statistical publications. https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/

Establishments by the employment size. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/data/tables.html

"...learning typical pay for more than 800 occupations in your area..." https://www.careeronestop.org/ExploreCareers/Plan/salaries.aspx

Choose a topic and then scroll down to the publications. https://www.clasp.org/

Employee Benefit Research Institute. https://www.ebri.org/publications/by-the-numbers

From the Employee Benefit Research Institute. See the boxes for: Fast Facts; Infographics and EBRInteractives. https://www.ebri.org/publications/research-publications

By the Census Bureau. "... five-year measure of American businesses providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/economic-census/data/tables.html

https://www.ers.usda.gov/

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. https://www.eeoc.gov/data

Federal statistics on people, places, and businesses. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/

https://fred.stlouisfed.org/

"...how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting households across the country from a social and economic perspective." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/household-pulse-survey/data.html

"...how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting households across the country from a social and economic perspective." https://www.census.gov/data-tools/demo/hhp/#/

https://www.ilo.org/global/statistics-and-databases/lang--en/index.htm

The elibrary build your own report may also be helpful. https://www.imf.org/en/Data

"Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system." https://www.irs.gov/statistics

"...contains statistical tables and organizational information on a fiscal year basis. The report provides data on collecting the revenue, issuing refunds, enforcing the law, assisting the taxpayer, and the budget and workforce." https://www.irs.gov/statistics/soi-tax-stats-irs-data-book

https://www.irs.gov/statistics/soi-tax-stats-products-publications-and-papers

https://www.bls.gov/cps/

"...employment, earnings, and job flows at detailed levels of geography and industry and for different demographic groups...workers' residential patterns." Includes: Job-to-Job Flows Explorer; QWI Explorer (Quarterly Workforce Indicators); OnTheMap; OnTheMap for Emergency Management; LED Extraction Tool (Local Employment Dynamics); Cornell VirtualRDC (public-use data). https://lehd.ces.census.gov/applications/

Missouri Dept. of Economic Development. "...industries, workforce, regions and economic conditions, with observations on the state's business climate." https://meric.mo.gov/

Conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Includes, production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid, labor and wages, finances, etc. https://www.nass.usda.gov/

"NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following broad areas of interest: Research and development; The science and engineering workforce; U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D; The condition and progress of STEM education in the United States." https://ncses.nsf.gov/

FINRA Investor Education Foundation's webpage for state, country, and military statistics from their national studies. "...provides important insights into the financial capability of U.S. adults—including financial knowledge, resources, access, experience, and attitudes—to help decision makers at all levels understand the financial circumstances and needs of households in communities around the country... is collected every three years..." https://finrafoundation.org/knowledge-we-gain-share/nfcs

"The NPP Database offers state data on socio-economic needs and federal expenditures, and allows you to create customized tables, graphs and reports. The database is free of charge, although after your first visit you will be asked to register." https://www.nationalpriorities.org/

Demographic characteristics, reasons for being unbanked/underbanked. National, state, and large metropolitan statistical area (MSA) levels. https://www.fdic.gov/analysis/household-survey/

Stats on the nonprofit sector. https://nff.org/learn/survey

Current. https://www.bls.gov/ooh/

OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) provides a wide range of comparable economic data across countries. https://data.oecd.org/economy.htm

https://data.oecd.org/

National level statistics. https://stats.oecd.org/

"...online mapping and reporting application showing where workers are employed and where they live...worker characteristics...earnings, or industry groups." https://onthemap.ces.census.gov/

https://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/poverty.html

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/qtax.html

From Census Bureau.
"...measures the effect of changing business conditions during the Coronavirus pandemic on our nation’s small businesses... providing high-frequency, detailed information on the challenges small businesses are facing during the Coronavirus pandemic... includes information on small business operations and finances, requests and receipt of assistance, and measures of overall well-being and expectations for recovery. Data is available by sector and state for the fifty most populous Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs)... subject to suppression based on overall response and disclosure avoidance thresholds..."
https://portal.census.gov/pulse/data/

From the Social Security Administration. https://www.ssa.gov/policy/

2021. By Liz Deichmann. https://stldata.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/STL-Nonprofit-Indicators-Final-September-2021.pdf

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/gov-finances.html

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/stc.html

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/susb.html

Data for economic developers. "...service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business..." https://www.statsamerica.org/

From the International Labour Organization. https://www.ilo.org/ipec/ChildlabourstatisticsSIMPOC/Questionnairessurveysandreports/lang--en/index.htm

country, economic, forestry, gender, health, education, transport, social, science, millennium development goals, migration, etc. https://w3.unece.org/PXWeb/en/

https://covid19.census.gov/?utm_campaign=20201223mspios2ccobsnl&utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

"Collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment." https://www.eia.gov/

https://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/wealth.html

https://data.worldbank.org/

Scroll down to the section: Economy & Growth. https://data.worldbank.org/indicator

The AHS is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/ahs/

Establishments by the employment size. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/data/tables.html

https://www.census.gov/

https://www.census.gov/about/index.html

Federal statistics. "Use the geography, frequency, topic, and subtopic filters above to discover surveys relevant to your needs." Helps you find surveys that cover your topics at the level you need. https://www.census.gov/data/data-tools/survey-explorer/

Tutorials for finding census statistics. See also the Data Gems tab and the Resources tab for additional help with using the census website. https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars.html

Table of census surveys and the survey coverage years for data that appear in data.census.gov. https://ask.census.gov/prweb/PRServletCustom/app/ECORRAsk_/YACFBFye-rFIz_FoGtyvDRUGg1Uzu5Mn*/!STANDARD?pzuiactionrrr=CXtpbn0rTEpMcGRYOG1vS0tqTFAwaENUZWpvM1NNWEMzZ3p5aFpnWUxzVmw0TjJqMkV0dXBFN09Jc3FNc3NFNmNaN25K*

https://www.census.gov/topics/population/children.html

"In addition to being the primary source of monthly labor force statistics, the CPS is used to collect data for a variety of other studies that keep the nation informed of the economic and social well-being of its people... Supplemental inquiries vary month to month and cover a wide variety of topics such as child support, volunteerism, health insurance coverage, and school enrollment. " https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cps/library/publications.html

"...data on a wide variety of demographic, social, and economic characteristics of the population..." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cps/data.html

Census statistics related to: African American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian American, Hispanic, Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander. https://www.census.gov/about/partners/cic/resources/data-links.html

Demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

By the Census Bureau. "... five-year measure of American businesses providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/economic-census/data/tables.html

Federal statistics on people, places, and businesses. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/

https://www.census.gov/topics/families.html

"...data records on all types of financial assistance awards made by Federal agencies to all types of recipients during the indicated quarter." https://www.usaspending.gov/

https://www.census.gov/topics/health/health-insurance.html

https://www.census.gov/library/publications/1960/compendia/hist_stats_colonial-1957.html

By Amy Symens Smith, Charles Holmberg, and Marcella Jones-Puthoff, Issued September 2012. Census counts for people at emergency and transitional shelters, soup kitchens, regularly scheduled mobile food vans, and targeted non-sheltered outdoor locations.
https://www.census.gov/library/publications/2012/dec/c2010sr-02.html

Population stats. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/international-programs/about/idb.html

https://www.bls.gov/cps/

https://mcdc.missouri.edu/

Census data and GIS for 1790 - present. https://www.nhgis.org/

Demographic characteristics, reasons for being unbanked/underbanked. National, state, and large metropolitan statistical area (MSA) levels. https://www.fdic.gov/analysis/household-survey/

https://libguides.wustl.edu/statistics?p=301898

"...online mapping and reporting application showing where workers are employed and where they live...worker characteristics...earnings, or industry groups." https://onthemap.ces.census.gov/

From The Reinvestment Fund (TRF). Requires free registration. "Free datasets include Census, Postal Service, city crime rates from the FBI, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act, current unemployment rates from BLS, County Business Patterns, HUD, HHS and much more." https://www.policymap.com/maps

https://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/poverty.html

From the Census Bureau. Includes local, state, federal government's employment, payroll, finances, taxes, some expenditures, etc. https://www.census.gov/topics/public-sector.html

Current and historical census data. Includes maps and tables. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=social%20explorer&p=1

Fewer features compared to the Premier version. But, excellent and can meet many needs. https://www.socialexplorer.com/us-census-data

When census dept. ceased publishing Stat. Ab., ProQuest began publishing an online version. Off-campus access restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/susb.html

https://covid19.census.gov/?utm_campaign=20201223mspios2ccobsnl&utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

https://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/wealth.html

current plus archive. https://www.childstats.gov/pubs

Current and archive.https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb/data-research/child-maltreatment

"...examines and monitors more than 100 indicators that focus on risks and positive developments for children..." https://www.childtrends.org/indicators?a-z

https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/statistics/

Demographics, Maltreatment, Foster Care, Permanency/Adoption, Race/Ethnicity Data, Age Group Data, Context Data, Outcomes Data, Composite Measures. https://cwoutcomes.acf.hhs.gov/cwodatasite/

https://stats.oecd.org/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=CWB

https://www.census.gov/topics/population/children.html

Current and archive. https://www.dss.mo.gov/re/csar.htm

https://www.childstats.gov/

Choose a topic and then scroll down to the publications. https://www.clasp.org/

State & National data. "...National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN)..." https://www.childhealthdata.org/home

From the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP), Food and Nutrition Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. "...estimates of the cost of raising children from birth through age 17 for major budgetary components." https://www.fns.usda.gov/resource/expenditures-children-families-reports-all-years

https://www.census.gov/topics/families.html

https://datacenter.kidscount.org/

Current and archive. https://dss.mo.gov/re/canar.htm

https://missourikidscountdata.org/

"...is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults." Covers drugs and smoking.
https://monitoringthefuture.org/results/data-products/tables-and-figures/

Current Population Reports. By Lindsay M. Monte Issued March 2017. A person who has multiple partner fertility (MPF) is someone who has had biological children with more than one partner. https://www.census.gov/content/dam/Census/library/publications/2017/demo/p70br-146.pdf

https://www.nccp.org/

National food programs. Participation and costs at national and state levels. National school lunch program, School breakfast program, Special milk program, Child & adult care food program, Summer food service program. https://www.fns.usda.gov/pd/child-nutrition-tables

National Crime Information Center. https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/2021-ncic-missing-person-and-unidentified-person-statistics.pdf/view

https://www.missingkids.org/ourwork/ncmecdata

https://ojjdp.ojp.gov/statistics

"Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, the PeriStats Web site provides free access to US, state, county, and city maternal & infant health data." https://www.marchofdimes.org/peristats/

Current plus archive. https://www.unicef.org/reports/state-of-worlds-children

Statistical reports related to the SNAP program. https://www.fns.usda.gov/resources?f%5B0%5D=program%3A2&f%5B1%5D=resource_type%3A153&f%5B2%5D=resource_type%3A200&f%5B3%5D=resource_type%3A155&f%5B4%5D=resource_type%3A6

From the International Labour Organization. https://www.ilo.org/ipec/ChildlabourstatisticsSIMPOC/Questionnairessurveysandreports/lang--en/index.htm

United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund. Now called: United Nations Children's Fund. https://data.unicef.org/

Children of Metropolitan St. Louis. Statistics and information related to the well-being of metropolitan area's children. https://www.visionforchildren.org/data-research/

"... monitors six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including— Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence; Sexual behaviors related to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection; Alcohol and other drug use; Tobacco use; Unhealthy dietary behaviors; Inadequate physical activity. YRBSS also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma and other health-related behaviors plus sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts." https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/data/yrbs/

By the United Nations, Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific.
Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
"...data and analysis at regional, subregional and country levels on SDG statistics for Asia and the Pacific." https://data.unescap.org/

https://www.adb.org/what-we-do/data/main

"...data on small business, small farm, and community development lending reported by certain commercial banks and savings institutions..." https://www.ffiec.gov/craadweb/national.aspx

"...access and proximity to a grocery store; number of foodstores and restaurants; expenditures on fast foods; food and nutrition assistance program participation; quantities of foods eaten; food prices; food taxes; and availability of local foods...food insecurity; diabetes and obesity rates; and physical activity levels...demographic...metro-nonmetro status; natural amenities; and recreation and fitness centers." https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-environment-atlas/go-to-the-atlas.aspx

Hundreds of indicators; many excel spreadsheet stats. https://www.gapminder.org/data/

Current and archive. https://www.adb.org/publications/series/key-indicators-for-asia-and-the-pacific

Current and archive. https://unctad.org/topic/vulnerable-economies/least-developed-countries/ldc-report

"...interactive system that allows the user to create and download tables, based on selected variables from the following data files." Behavioral, Health, Population, TANF, Crime. https://healthapps.dhss.mo.gov/MoPhims/MOPHIMSHome

From the United Nations. Archived. Use the Data tab. Newer data is in Sustainable Development Goals. https://unstats.un.org/unsd/mdg/default.aspx

https://data.oecd.org/

From the United Nations, Department Of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Reports and a "quick links" section of statistical products. https://unstats.un.org/sdgs/

From the United Nations, Department Of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. https://unstats-undesa.opendata.arcgis.com/

From the United Nations, Department Of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division. Data on more than 210 SDG indicators for countries by indicator, country, region or time period. https://unstats.un.org/sdgs/dataportal

United Nations Human Settlements Programme promotes sustainable human settlements development. https://unhabitat.org/

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. https://core.unesco.org/en/home

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. https://www.unesco.org/en/ideas-data/data-center

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, Institute for Statistics. https://uis.unesco.org/

https://www.americorps.gov/about/our-impact

https://data.worldbank.org/

From the World Bank. https://databank.worldbank.org/reports.aspx?source=world-development-indicators

Current plus archive. https://www.worldbank.org/en/publication/wdr/wdr-archive

https://bjs.gov/

This site analyzes, crime, criminals, victims, etc. for the period 1994+; presented by the Bureau of Justice. https://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=pbse&sid=20

Current and archive. https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/ucr/publications

https://www.fbi.gov/how-we-can-help-you/more-fbi-services-and-information/ucr

Current and archive. "...rates and levels of criminal victimization in the U.S." https://bjs.ojp.gov/library/publications/list?series_filter=Criminal%20Victimization

Current and archive. https://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=pbse&sid=6

From the U.S. Census Bureau and the University of Michigan. Measures the economic and health outcomes of people who have been involved with the criminal justice system. Criminal justice involvement can include criminal charges, prison releases, and probation and parole sentences. Outcomes measured include employment, earnings, government program participation, and mortality. 2000 - 2020 for selected state and county data. https://www.census.gov/data/experimental-data-products/justice-outcomes-explorer.html

https://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/SAC/index_960grid.html

"This dynamic analysis tool allows you to examine National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) data on both violent and property victimization by select victim, household, and incident characteristics." https://ncvs.bjs.ojp.gov/Home

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/ucr/use-of-force

https://ojjdp.ojp.gov/statistics

https://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/SAC/data_and_statistics_ucr.html

https://ucr.fbi.gov/

Federal courts. https://www.uscourts.gov/statistics-reports

https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/disabilityandhealth/data.html

National and state stats. From the CDC. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/disabilityandhealth/dhds/index.html

https://disabilitycompendium.org/

https://www.census.gov/topics/health/disability.html

National and state stats. https://disabilitystatistics.org/

National Center for Health Statistics. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/disability.htm

https://nces.ed.gov/quicktables/result.asp?SrchKeyword=disability&Topic=All

From the Social Security Administration. https://www.ssa.gov/policy/

See also the state profiles. https://stateofthestates.org/

National Reporting System for Adult Education. No logon needed. Use as a Public user. "View and download reports on statistical, financial and narrative data on Adult Basic Education (ABE), Adult Secondary Education (ASE) and English as a Second Language (ESL), ranging from enrollment data, outcome measures, longitudinal data and beyond from 2000 to present." https://nrs.ed.gov/

"Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States. CCD is a comprehensive, annual, national database of all public elementary and secondary schools and school districts." https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/

https://www.cswe.org/Research-Statistics/Research-Briefs-and-Publications.aspx

"...annual report provides a compilation of 435 downloadable tables of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school. Topics in the Digest include: the number of schools and colleges; teachers; enrollments; graduates; educational attainment; finances; federal funds for education; employment and income of graduates; libraries; technology; and international comparisons." https://nces.ed.gov/programs/digest/index.asp

U.S. Department of Education. "Web site designed to improve the public's ability to access and explore high-value state- and district-level education data collected by the U.S. Department of Education." https://eddataexpress.ed.gov/

"The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing." https://www.census.gov/topics/education.html

"...admission to graduate school, first-time and total graduate student enrollment, and graduate degrees and certificates conferred...broad field, gender, race/ethnicity, citizenship, attendance status, institutional characteristics, and more." Council of Graduate Schools. https://cgsnet.org/data-insights/admissions-enrollment-and-completion/graduate-enrollment-and-degrees-2/

Council of Graduate Schools. "...changes in the enrollment of students from abroad seeking master’s and doctoral degrees from U.S. colleges and universities..." https://cgsnet.org/data-insights/international-engagement/international-graduate-admissions-survey/

https://dese.mo.gov/school-data

https://dhewd.mo.gov/data/

https://nces.ed.gov/

https://nces.ed.gov/quicktables/result.asp?SrchKeyword=disability&Topic=All

National food programs. Participation and costs at national and state levels. National school lunch program, School breakfast program, Special milk program, Child & adult care food program, Summer food service program. https://www.fns.usda.gov/pd/child-nutrition-tables

"...online tool that allows users to export data and create tables, charts, and maps using data from international assessments...reading achievement of fourth-grade students; responses to a student questionnaire about their background, attitudes, and school experiences; responses to a teacher questionnaire about instructional practices, resources, and background and training; and responses to a school questionnaire about school characteristics and resources." https://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pirls/idepirls/

https://data.chronicle.com/

https://www.higheredjobs.com/salary/

Current plus limited archive. https://www.cswe.org/Research-Statistics/Research-Briefs-and-Publications

Statistical reports on the impact of AmeriCorps. https://americorps.gov/about/our-impact

AmeriCorps, the federal agency, brings people together to tackle the country's most pressing challenges through national service and volunteering. https://data.americorps.gov

https://www.philanthropy.com/tag/data

"...data records on all types of financial assistance awards made by Federal agencies to all types of recipients during the indicated quarter." https://www.usaspending.gov/

"Produced for Nonprofit Missouri, this report demonstrates the economic impact of nonprofit organizations, providing data by county on expenditures, assets and employment." https://www.visionforchildren.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/NPMO_LandscapeReport-Final.pdf

The Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University. Browse by Subjects is a popular choice. https://scholarworks.iupui.edu/handle/1805/6307

https://nccs.urban.org/

Stats on the nonprofit sector. https://nff.org/learn/survey

https://www.americorps.gov/

https://www.americashealthrankings.org/

Stats on healthcare professions, training, education, health facilities, hospital utilization & expenditures, etc. https://datawarehouse.hrsa.gov/topics/ahrf.aspx

Stats related to physicians, medical schools, and medical students. https://www.aamc.org/data/

By the American Cancer Society. https://cancerstatisticscenter.cancer.org/#!/

https://wonder.cdc.gov/

https://www.cdc.gov/DataStatistics/

https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems

"... review the history and major provisions of Title XVIII and Title XIX of the Social Security Act, as well as the history of health spending in the U.S. and projected national health expenditures." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/MedicareProgramRatesStats/SummaryMedicareMedicaid

"... includes summary information on total program enrollment, utilization, expenditures, as well as total number of Medicare providers including physicians by specialty area." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/CMS-Fast-Facts

"... detailed summary statistics on Medicare populations, utilization, and expenditures, as well as counts for Medicare-certified institutional and non-institutional providers." https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/statistics-trends-and-reports/cmsprogramstatistics

"...prevalence of chronic conditions among Medicare beneficiaries and the impact of chronic conditions on Medicare service utilization and spending." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Chronic-Conditions

Can compare cities. "With support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the City Health Dashboard has expanded to offer data on 37 measures for the 500 largest U.S. cities - those with populations of about 66,000 or more – representing approximately one-third of the U.S. population." https://www.cityhealthdashboard.com/

"...program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support leaders in growing community power to improve health equity. The Rankings are unique in their ability to measure the health of nearly every county in all 50 states, and are complemented by guidance, tools, and resources designed to accelerate community learning and action. CHR&R is known for effectively translating and communicating complex data and evidence-informed policy into accessible models, reports, and products that deepen the understanding of what makes communities healthy and inspires and supports improvement efforts." https://www.countyhealthrankings.org

Research guide from Washington University Becker Medical Library. https://beckerguides.wustl.edu/covid19/DataTracking

"...data on a wide variety of demographic, social, and economic characteristics of the population..." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cps/data.html

"The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians." https://www.dartmouthatlas.org/

State & National data. "...National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN)." https://www.childhealthdata.org/home

Includes statistics for Member States covering heath status, determinants of health, health services, and health interventions. https://ec.europa.eu/health/indicators/echi/list_en

World Health Organization, Regional Office for Europe. Wide range of health issues including environmental health. Also includes in-depth country profiles. https://gateway.euro.who.int/en

Analysis of health systems and policies across Europe. Publishes material on country health systems and country health profiles. Includes an interactive tool for comparing health care systems across different countries (in the health systems and policy monitor). https://eurohealthobservatory.who.int/home

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps. https://www.countyhealthrankings.org/explore-health-rankings

https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets

https://www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/stats_tutorial/cover.html

"...Child Nutrition, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Food Distribution Program, Women, Infants and Children, Food Security, Nutrition Education...School Meals...Nutrition Assistance Programs..."
https://www.fns.usda.gov/data-and-statistics

"...access and proximity to a grocery store; number of foodstores and restaurants; expenditures on fast foods; food and nutrition assistance program participation; quantities of foods eaten; food prices; food taxes; and availability of local foods...food insecurity; diabetes and obesity rates; and physical activity levels...demographic...metro-nonmetro status; natural amenities; and recreation and fitness centers." https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-environment-atlas/go-to-the-atlas.aspx

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation. Can search the data or download reports. https://www.healthdata.org/gbd

https://www.kff.org/global-health-policy/

Scroll down to the "Explore the AHRQ Data Tools" section. There is a Deep dive and a Fast facts. https://datatools.ahrq.gov/

From the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities. "Visualize data and locate information critical to understanding minority health, health disparities and their determinants." https://hdpulse.nimhd.nih.gov/index.html

From the American Hospital Association. Hospital statistics. https://www.aha.org/data-insights/health-care-big-picture

https://www.census.gov/topics/health/health-insurance.html

"As the Nation’s Access Agency, HRSA focuses on uninsured, underserved, and special needs populations." https://data.hrsa.gov/

https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus/index.htm

Hospital care data, including information on inpatient stays, ambulatory surgery and services visits, and emergency department encounters. https://www.ahrq.gov/research/data/hcup/index.html

From the National Center for Health Statistics. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/healthy_people/hp2020.htm

A product of the Robert Woods Johnson foundation and the University of Wisconsin’s Population Health Institute. Provides rankings down to the county level for every state. https://www.countyhealthrankings.org/

https://dph.illinois.gov/data-statistics.html

https://www.cdc.gov/injury/wisqars/index.html

Comparable data across a range of health indicators and countries. Includes information on the global burden of disease by country and also the Global health data exchange. https://www.healthdata.org/

Population stats. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/international-programs/about/idb.html

"...summary national- and state-level information on enrollee demographic and eligibility characteristics, Medicaid service use, and Medicaid expenditures..." https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Computer-Data-and-Systems/MedicaidDataSourcesGenInfo/MAX_Chartbooks

"The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) developed its Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) Scorecard to increase public transparency about the programs’ administration and outcomes." https://www.medicaid.gov/state-overviews/scorecard/index.html

https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/financial-management/state-expenditure-reporting-for-medicaid-chip/expenditure-reports-mbescbes/index.html

https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/statistics-trends-and-reports/thechartseries

https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/research-statistics-data-and-systems

Annual statistical supplement. https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/statistics-trends-and-reports/archives/mmss

https://www.cms.gov/research-statistics-data-and-systems/statistics-trends-and-reports/thechartseries

https://medlineplus.gov/healthstatistics.html

"...interactive system that allows the user to create and download tables, based on selected variables from the following data files." Behavioral, Health, Population, TANF, Crime. https://healthapps.dhss.mo.gov/MoPhims/MOPHIMSHome

https://health.mo.gov/data/

The Monthly Management Report is a monthly publication detailing information concerning the Temporary Assistance, Medicaid and Food Stamp programs administered by the Family Support Division and the MO HealthNet Division. https://dss.mo.gov/re/fsd_mhdmr.htm

https://mffh.org/publications/

Current. https://www.kff.org/state-category/medicaid-chip/?state=MO

Current and archive. Data & Statistical Reports category has annual reports. https://health.mo.gov/data/vitalstatistics/

Primary U.S. agency for vital and health statistics. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/

https://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/nhqrdr/index.html

"...birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics..." https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/nvsr.htm

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/nvss/index.htm

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. National-level statistics for OECD and several non-OECD countries. Includes health expenditure and financing; health status; health care resources; health care utilisation; and non-medical determinants of health. https://www.oecd.org/els/health-systems/health-data.htm

https://www3.paho.org/data/index.php/

"Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, the PeriStats Web site provides free access to US, state, county, and city maternal & infant health data." https://www.marchofdimes.org/peristats/

PLACES provides model-based, population-level analysis and community estimates of health measures to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States. https://www.cdc.gov/places/

Population Trends, Education, Economic, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Reproductive Health. https://www.prb.org/resource-library/

Rural health stats. Can compare some metropolitan and state areas to the rural. https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org/data-explorer

"...a premier source for cancer statistics in the United States. We collect information on incidence, prevalence and survival from specific geographic areas..." From the National Cancer institute. https://seer.cancer.gov/

Health Insurance Coverage Status for Counties and States. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/sahie.html

From USAID. Demographic and health stats worldwide. Includes household environment, literacy, education, interpersonal relations, etc. https://www.statcompiler.com/en/

Cancer stats for nation, states, counties. https://statecancerprofiles.cancer.gov/index.html

Can do state comparisons. https://www.kff.org/statedata/

Quality and disparities in delivering healthcare. https://datatools.ahrq.gov/nhqdr

Statistical reports related to the SNAP program. https://www.fns.usda.gov/resources?f%5B0%5D=program%3A2&f%5B1%5D=resource_type%3A153&f%5B2%5D=resource_type%3A200&f%5B3%5D=resource_type%3A155&f%5B4%5D=resource_type%3A6

United Nations. Includes HIV and AIDS. https://www.unaids.org/en/topic/data

Statistics from the Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. Includes eating, health, food access/availability, nutrition, consumption, prices/expenditures, production, food security, organic food, etc. https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products.aspx

https://covid19.census.gov/?utm_campaign=20201223mspios2ccobsnl&utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Births, deaths, infant death, fetal death. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data_access/Vitalstatsonline.htm

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/vsus.htm

Statistics by indicator or by country. https://www.who.int/data/gho

"...is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data." https://www.cdc.gov/injury/wisqars/index.html

https://www.who.int/data

"Datadot (data.who.int) is an accessible, trusted and actionable source for the full breadth of the world's health data... Harmonizing and consolidating WHO's wealth of health data assets and data sets in a central location..." https://data.who.int/home

Current plus archive. https://www.who.int/data/gho/publications/world-health-statistics

https://www.hudexchange.info/homelessness-assistance/ahar/#2022-reports

Comprehensive Report of Sheltered Homeless Persons; Total Extrapolated Counts of Sheltered Homeless Persons; Two-Year Comparison Counts of Sheltered Homeless Persons; Demographics of Sheltered Homeless Persons; Prior Living Situations of Sheltered Homeless Persons; Length of Stay of Sheltered Homeless Persons; Demographics of Long-Term Stayers in Emergency Shelter. Data is more recent than webpage indicates. https://hudhdx.info/PublicReports.aspx

"Point-in-Time (PIT) count is a count of sheltered and unsheltered homeless persons on a single night in January. Housing Inventory Count (HIC) is a point-in-time inventory of provider programs within a Continuum of Care that provide beds and units dedicated to serve persons who are homeless..." https://www.hudexchange.info/programs/hdx/guides/pit-hic/#general-pit-guides-and-tools

Click on the Fact sheets tab. https://nationalhomeless.org/references/publications/

Samhsa's Drug & Alcohol Services Information System. Treatment Episode Data Set (TEDS). Discharges from Substance Abuse Treatment Services. Has some homeless stats. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/treatment-episode-data-set-teds-2020-admissions

Samhsa's Drug & Alcohol Services Information System. Uniform Reporting System's output tables. Each state has some homeless stats. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/2021-uniform-reporting-system-urs-output-tables

By Amy Symens Smith, Charles Holmberg, and Marcella Jones-Puthoff, Issued September 2012. Census counts for people at emergency and transitional shelters, soup kitchens, regularly scheduled mobile food vans, and targeted non-sheltered outdoor locations.
https://www.census.gov/library/publications/2012/dec/c2010sr-02.html

Samhsa's Projects for Assistance in Transition from Homelessness (PATH). State data is at the end of the report. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/path-2020-evaluation

February 27, 2024. Written by: Brian Glassman. United States Census Bureau. https://www.census.gov/library/stories/2024/02/living-in-shelters.html

Statistics on homelessness. https://endhomelessness.org/homelessness-in-america/homelessness-statistics/state-of-homelessness-report/

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. VA Homeless Programs. https://www.va.gov/homeless/The-State-of-Unsheltered-Veteran-Homelessness.pdf

https://www.usich.gov/about-usich/agency-reports/

Department of Homeland Security immigration statistics and reports. https://www.dhs.gov/immigration-statistics

From the Migration Policy Institute (MPI). https://www.migrationpolicy.org/research/fact-sheets

From the Migration Policy Institute (MPI). International and also U.S. Data. https://www.migrationpolicy.org/topics/immigrant-profiles-demographics

From the Migration Policy Institute (MPI). U.S. data, international data, and maps. https://www.migrationpolicy.org/programs/migration-data-hub

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). https://www.unhcr.org/en-us/data.html

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/legal/visa-law0/visa-statistics.html

"...is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence...were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis...applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized...also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions." https://www.dhs.gov/immigration-statistics/yearbook

https://www.adb.org/what-we-do/data/main

From the United Nations, ECLAC (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean). [Comision Economica Para America Latina Y El Caribe] "...gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC." Social & demographic, Economic, Environmental, Multi-domain statistics and indicators. https://statistics.cepal.org/portal/cepalstat/index.html?lang=en

From the United Nations, Economic Commission for Africa. Scroll down to see the African Statistical Yearbook. https://ecastats.uneca.org/data/

Public opinion survey statistics from the European Union members. https://www.europarl.europa.eu/at-your-service/en/be-heard/eurobarometer

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat

Statistics on a range of topics for European countries. Topics include health, economic and finance, population, and social conditions. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/data/database

Hundreds of indicators; many excel spreadsheet stats. https://www.gapminder.org/data/

Maps of selected public datasets. https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

Population stats. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/international-programs/about/idb.html

https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=1096234&p=7994478

https://www.ilo.org/global/statistics-and-databases/lang--en/index.htm

Current and archive. https://www.adb.org/publications/series/key-indicators-for-asia-and-the-pacific

Current and archive. https://unctad.org/topic/vulnerable-economies/least-developed-countries/ldc-report

From the United Nations. Archived. Use the Data tab. Newer data is in Sustainable Development Goals. https://unstats.un.org/unsd/mdg/default.aspx

https://www.nationmaster.com/

After opening, click on the Statistics tab. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL faculty/staff/students. https://catalog.wustl.edu/record=b4373248~S2

https://data.oecd.org/

"OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies." https://stats.oecd.org/

Population Trends, Education, Economic, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Reproductive Health. https://www.prb.org/resource-library/

"...online tool that allows users to export data and create tables, charts, and maps using data from international assessments...reading achievement of fourth-grade students; responses to a student questionnaire about their background, attitudes, and school experiences; responses to a teacher questionnaire about instructional practices, resources, and background and training; and responses to a school questionnaire about school characteristics and resources." https://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pirls/idepirls/

By the International Social Security Association (ISSA) in partnership with the U.S. Social Security Administration. https://ww1.issa.int/country-profiles

From USAID. Demographic and health stats worldwide. Includes household environment, literacy, education, interpersonal relations, etc. https://www.statcompiler.com/en/

https://www.statcan.gc.ca/

Requires free registration. "...curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom. With several thousand datasets relating to society, both historical and contemporary..." https://www.data-archive.ac.uk/

United Nations Human Settlements Programme promotes sustainable human settlements development. https://unhabitat.org/

country, economic, forestry, gender, health, education, transport, social, science, millennium development goals, migration, etc. https://w3.unece.org/PXWeb/en/

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. https://core.unesco.org/en/home

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. https://www.unesco.org/en/ideas-data/data-center

https://data.un.org/

Provides statistics on an international scale for various topics. Some information is free; some must be subscribed to; and some is available for a charge. https://unstats.un.org/UNSDWebsite/

https://data.worldbank.org/

"... history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/

Has statistics, report cards, and key findings. https://www.lung.org/research/sota

Has statistics, state and federal grades, key findings, and some quick facts towards the bottom of the webpage. https://www.lung.org/research/sotc

https://www.lung.org/quit-smoking/smoking-facts

Has State of Lung Cancer report and statistical reports. https://www.lung.org/research/trends-in-lung-disease

2020. Behavioral health United States is now called Behavioral health barometer. Statistics on behavioral health, mental health, and substance abuse. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/behavioral-health-barometer-united-states-volume-6

https://www.cdc.gov/mentalhealth/data_publications/index.htm

In addition to the boxes, also consider the Quick Links to Tools & Resources section. https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/

Statistics related to addiction in the countries of the European Union. https://www.emcdda.europa.eu/data/stats2021_en

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). Statistical briefs on mental health. https://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/reports/statbriefs/sb_mhsa.jsp

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). Topical stats reports on mental health. https://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/reports/mhsa.jsp

https://dmh.mo.gov/behavioral-health/data-analytics

"...is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults." Covers drugs and smoking.
https://monitoringthefuture.org/results/data-products/tables-and-figures/

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Statistical reports. Use the Filter by Topics drop-down arrow. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/mmwr_additional_resources.html

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Key statistics on Alzheimer's disease, attention deficit, depression, mental health, alcohol use, drug overdoses, illicit drug use, smoking, suicide and self-inflicted injury. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/default.htm

From the National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health. Monitoring The Future survey (MTF) measures drug and alcohol use and related attitudes among adolescent students. A nationally representative sample reports their drug use behaviors across three time periods: lifetime, past year, and past month. https://nida.nih.gov/research-topics/trends-statistics/monitoring-future

From the National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health. Search has limited the NIDA publications to statistics-related items. https://nida.nih.gov/search?sort=unified_date:desc&content_category=Trends%20%26%20Statistics,Research%20Report,Publications,DrugFacts,Infographic

https://nida.nih.gov/research-topics/trends-statistics

Most options have a Diagnosis limit. https://www.ahrq.gov/data/hcup/index.html

"... estimates of substance use and mental illness at the national, state, and substate levels. NSDUH data also help to identify the extent of substance use and mental illness among different subgroups, estimate trends over time, and determine the need for treatment services." https://www.samhsa.gov/data/data-we-collect/nsduh-national-survey-drug-use-and-health

"...statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders." https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/statistics/index.shtml

Also has state level mental health data. https://www.nri-inc.org/our-work/nri-reports/

"OSHData presents comprehensive tobacco prevention and control data in an online, easy to use, interactive data application." Includes state data. https://www.cdc.gov/oshdata/

From the Saint Louis Mental Health Board. https://stlmhb.com/wp-content/uploads/MHB-2018-Stl-Adult-Behavioral-Health-Community-Needs-Assessment-September-2018.pdf

By the Saint Louis Mental Health Board. https://stlmhb.com/wp-content/uploads/2017-St-Louis-Youth-Behavioral-Health-Needs-Assessment-Full-Report.pdf

https://www.datafiles.samhsa.gov/

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration. Reports, data tables, statistics, survey results, etc. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/

Short statistical reports on a variety of mental health topics. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/all-reports?f[]=field_report_and_document_type:6457&order=desc&sort=field_date_printed_on_report

National Cancer Institute. https://progressreport.cancer.gov/prevention/smoke

Missouri Department of Mental Health. https://dmh.mo.gov/alcohol-drug/reports/status

CDC. https://www.cdc.gov/vitalsigns/youth-tobacco-use/index.html

"... monitors six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including— Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence; Sexual behaviors related to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection; Alcohol and other drug use; Tobacco use; Unhealthy dietary behaviors; Inadequate physical activity. YRBSS also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma and other health-related behaviors plus sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts." https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/data/yrbs/

https://www.census.gov/

From the United Nations, ECLAC (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean). [Comision Economica Para America Latina Y El Caribe] "...gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC." Social & demographic, Economic, Environmental, Multi-domain statistics and indicators. https://statistics.cepal.org/portal/cepalstat/index.html?lang=en

The agency’s economists and budget analysts produce reports and cost estimates on a wide variety of federal topics. https://www.cbo.gov/

"...data on a wide variety of demographic, social, and economic characteristics of the population..." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cps/data.html

Thousands of statistics in numerous categories. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

https://data.gov/

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat

Federal statistics on people, places, and businesses. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/

Interact with, explore, and analyze Gallup data from the U.S. as well as over 160 countries...create and export custom data tables, trends, charts, and scatterplots. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Hundreds of indicators; many excel spreadsheet stats. https://www.gapminder.org/data/

Maps of selected public datasets. https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

Interactive maps and data by the Social Science Research Council. Social, education, and health data for states and cities. https://www.measureofamerica.org/maps/

https://www.nationmaster.com/

After opening, click on the Statistics tab. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL faculty/staff/students. https://catalog.wustl.edu:443/record=b4373248~S2

"...public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research..." https://www.pewresearch.org/

From The Reinvestment Fund (TRF). Requires free registration. "Free datasets include Census, Postal Service, city crime rates from the FBI, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act, current unemployment rates from BLS, County Business Patterns, HUD, HHS and much more." https://www.policymap.com/maps

Population Trends, Education, Economic, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Reproductive Health. https://www.prb.org/resource-library/

Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Congressional Research Service reports on federal policy related to a large variety of topics. https://crsreports.congress.gov/

From USAID. Demographic and health stats worldwide. Includes household environment, literacy, education, interpersonal relations, etc. https://www.statcompiler.com/en/

Database of statistics related to metropolitan areas, cities, and suburbs. Includes demographics, economics, crime, buildings, employment, business, & government finances. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/socds.html

Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

When census dept. ceased publishing Stat. Ab., ProQuest began publishing an online version. Off-campus access restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

https://libguides.wustl.edu/statistics

https://www.statcan.gc.ca/

Requires free registration. "...curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom. With several thousand datasets relating to society, both historical and contemporary..." https://www.data-archive.ac.uk/

From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. https://www.unesco.org/en/ideas-data/data-center

https://data.un.org/

Provides statistics on an international scale for various topics. Some information is free; some must be subscribed to; and some is available for a charge. https://unstats.un.org/UNSDWebsite/

"...portrait of the American population, government finances, and government’s impact on society." https://usafacts.org/

General facts and statistics. https://www.wolframalpha.com/

https://thearda.com/

https://www.pewresearch.org/topic/religion/

Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. Click on the Reports tab. InfoGroup and RCMS surveys.

https://www.city-data.com/indexes/neighborhoods/MO/1/

https://www.slmpd.org/crime_stats.shtml

https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/health/documents/Reports-and-Data.cfm

"A collection of City datasets by topic, department, and format" https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/data/

https://www.slmpd.org/crime_mapping.shtml

Neighborhood, tract, parcel, ward stats. Buildings, valuation, business, census stats. https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/planning/research/Geo-St-Louis.cfm

"...data collected from the point-in-time homeless census count in the City of St. Louis Missouri." "...inventory of sheltered and unsheltered homeless persons and beds and units dedicated to serve homeless persons" https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/human-services/homeless-services/documents/2019-point-in-time-count.cfm

From the Saint Louis Mental Health Board. https://stlmhb.com/wp-content/uploads/MHB-2018-Stl-Adult-Behavioral-Health-Community-Needs-Assessment-September-2018.pdf

Basic census stats by neighborhood. Use the drop-down arrow to choose the neighborhood. https://dynamic.stlouis-mo.gov/census/neighborhood.cfm

City, neighborhood, and ward statistics. https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/planning/research/census/data/index.cfm

https://stlouiscountypolice.com/st-louis-county-municipal-crime-map/

https://stlouiscountymo.gov/st-louis-county-departments/public-health/health-data-and-statistics/

"... open data portal for the St. Louis Region... you will find publicly available data from all over the St. Louis area, compiled and documented by the St. Louis Regional Data Alliance." https://rdx.stldata.org/

https://www.stlrhc.org/current-work/access-to-care-data-book/

2021. By Liz Deichmann. https://stldata.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/STL-Nonprofit-Indicators-Final-September-2021.pdf

By the Saint Louis Mental Health Board. https://stlmhb.com/wp-content/uploads/2017-St-Louis-Youth-Behavioral-Health-Needs-Assessment-Full-Report.pdf

Choose a neighborhood on the map. Choose a category on the right. For more recent stats or additional topics, you can choose a neighborhood and then change the tab from zip code to Tracts. Write down the tract numbers and find all the demographics in Explore Census Data or Social Explorer. Note: there is an imaginary decimal point before the last two digits of the tract number. https://statisticalatlas.com/place/Missouri/St-Louis/Overview

Children of Metropolitan St. Louis. Statistics and information related to the well-being of metropolitan area's children. https://www.visionforchildren.org/data-research/

"...produced every three years by East-West Gateway." https://www.ewgateway.org/research-center/where-we-stand/

https://www.census.gov/topics/families.html

The AHS is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/ahs/

Statistics related to presidents and presidential elections. https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/statistics

https://dss.mo.gov/re/

HUD stats for subsidized households down to census tract level. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/assthsg.html

interactive data tool provides a range of demographic, economic and agricultural data for small towns and rural areas across the United States. Users can compare rural economic and social conditions among counties, states or regions within particular areas of interest. The atlas provides more than 60 statistical indicators, capturing conditions and trends across different types of non-metropolitan regions. https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/atlas-of-rural-and-small-town-america/go-to-the-atlas/

https://www.census.gov/

Choose a topic and then scroll down to the publications. https://www.clasp.org/

Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. "Socioeconomic indicators like poverty rates, population change, unemployment rates, and education levels vary across U.S. States and counties. ERS compiles the latest statistics on these measures..." https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/county-level-data-sets.aspx

Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

"In addition to being the primary source of monthly labor force statistics, the CPS is used to collect data for a variety of other studies that keep the nation informed of the economic and social well-being of its people... Supplemental inquiries vary month to month and cover a wide variety of topics such as child support, volunteerism, health insurance coverage, and school enrollment. " https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cps/library/publications.html

"...data on a wide variety of demographic, social, and economic characteristics of the population..." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cps/data.html

https://data.gov/

https://uselectionatlas.org/

Demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Federal statistics on people, places, and businesses. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/

https://www.census.gov/topics/families.html

"...Child Nutrition, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Food Distribution Program, Women, Infants and Children, Food Security, Nutrition Education...School Meals...Nutrition Assistance Programs..."
https://www.fns.usda.gov/data-and-statistics

"...access and proximity to a grocery store; number of foodstores and restaurants; expenditures on fast foods; food and nutrition assistance program participation; quantities of foods eaten; food prices; food taxes; and availability of local foods...food insecurity; diabetes and obesity rates; and physical activity levels...demographic...metro-nonmetro status; natural amenities; and recreation and fitness centers." https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-environment-atlas/go-to-the-atlas.aspx

Maps of selected public datasets. https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

"...how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting households across the country from a social and economic perspective." https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/household-pulse-survey/data.html

"...how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting households across the country from a social and economic perspective." https://www.census.gov/data-tools/demo/hhp/#/

LAPOP Lab, Vanderbilt University. See the dropdown arrows for: AmericasBarometer (Studies by country); Data Access(Data playground); and Reports. https://www.vanderbilt.edu/lapop/

Choose English (top, right) Then, choose Online Data Analysis (top). https://www.latinobarometro.org/

Interactive maps and data by the Social Science Research Council. Social, education, and health data for states and cities. https://www.measureofamerica.org/maps/

"...interactive system that allows the user to create and download tables, based on selected variables from the following data files." Behavioral, Health, Population, TANF, Crime. https://healthapps.dhss.mo.gov/MoPhims/MOPHIMSHome

The Monthly Management Report is a monthly publication detailing information concerning the Temporary Assistance, Medicaid and Food Stamp programs administered by the Family Support Division and the MO HealthNet Division. https://dss.mo.gov/re/fsd_mhdmr.htm

Current Population Reports. By Lindsay M. Monte Issued March 2017. A person who has multiple partner fertility (MPF) is someone who has had biological children with more than one partner. https://www.census.gov/content/dam/Census/library/publications/2017/demo/p70br-146.pdf

Stats and reports on U.S. veterans. https://www.va.gov/VETDATA/index.asp

Intimate partner violence, sexual violence, and stalking. https://www.cdc.gov/nisvs/documentation/index.html

"The NPP Database offers state data on socio-economic needs and federal expenditures, and allows you to create customized tables, graphs and reports. The database is free of charge, although after your first visit you will be asked to register." https://www.nationalpriorities.org/

Collaboration between the United States Census Bureau and U.S. Census Bureau and Opportunity Insights at Harvard University. Which places in America offer children the best chance to rise out of poverty? Statistics on mobility trends and mobility outcomes. https://www.opportunityatlas.org/

From The Reinvestment Fund (TRF). Requires free registration. "Free datasets include Census, Postal Service, city crime rates from the FBI, Home Mortgage Disclosure Act, current unemployment rates from BLS, County Business Patterns, HUD, HHS and much more." https://www.policymap.com/maps

Population Trends, Education, Economic, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Reproductive Health. https://www.prb.org/resource-library/

https://dss.mo.gov/rr.htm

"...summarizes general information about households who reside in Public Housing, or who receive Section 8 assistance." https://pic.hud.gov/pic/RCRPublic/rcrmain.asp

By the Housing Assistance Council. Housing, community, and family information for all of the states' poverty levels. https://www.ruraldataportal.org/

From USAID. Demographic and health stats worldwide. Includes household environment, literacy, education, interpersonal relations, etc. https://www.statcompiler.com/en/

By the Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment/unemployment, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports.https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/state-fact-sheets/

Database of statistics related to metropolitan areas, cities, and suburbs. Includes demographics, economics, crime, buildings, employment, business, & government finances. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/socds.html

When census dept. ceased publishing Stat. Ab., ProQuest began publishing an online version. Off-campus access restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

https://libguides.wustl.edu/statistics

Statistical reports related to the SNAP program. https://www.fns.usda.gov/resources?f%5B0%5D=program%3A2&f%5B1%5D=resource_type%3A153&f%5B2%5D=resource_type%3A200&f%5B3%5D=resource_type%3A155&f%5B4%5D=resource_type%3A6

https://www.slavevoyages.org/

"2-1-1 Counts is the first tool to provide real-time, searchable and visual presentations of data from 2-1-1 call centers across the nation." https://211counts.org/home/index

https://data.un.org/

Provides statistics on an international scale for various topics. Some information is free; some must be subscribed to; and some is available for a charge. https://unstats.un.org/UNSDWebsite/

Statistics from the Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. Includes eating, health, food access/availability, nutrition, consumption, prices/expenditures, production, food security, organic food, etc. https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products.aspx

https://covid19.census.gov/?utm_campaign=20201223mspios2ccobsnl&utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

Census Bureau and Current Population Survey statistics. https://www.census.gov/topics/public-sector/voting.html

The AHS is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/ahs/

https://dss.mo.gov/re/

interactive data tool provides a range of demographic, economic and agricultural data for small towns and rural areas across the United States. Users can compare rural economic and social conditions among counties, states or regions within particular areas of interest. The atlas provides more than 60 statistical indicators, capturing conditions and trends across different types of non-metropolitan regions. https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/atlas-of-rural-and-small-town-america/go-to-the-atlas/

Current plus archive. The Council of State Governments. https://bookofthestates.org/

Current and archive.https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb/data-research/child-maltreatment

Current and archive. https://www.dss.mo.gov/re/csar.htm

https://www.city-data.com/

Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. "Socioeconomic indicators like poverty rates, population change, unemployment rates, and education levels vary across U.S. States and counties. ERS compiles the latest statistics on these measures..." https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/county-level-data-sets.aspx

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps. https://www.countyhealthrankings.org/explore-health-rankings

A product of the Robert Woods Johnson foundation and the University of Wisconsin’s Population Health Institute. Provides rankings down to the county level for every state. https://www.countyhealthrankings.org/

https://dph.illinois.gov/data-statistics.html

Interactive maps and data by the Social Science Research Council. Social, education, and health data for states and cities. https://www.measureofamerica.org/maps/

Missouri Dept. of Economic Development. "...industries, workforce, regions and economic conditions, with observations on the state's business climate." https://meric.mo.gov/

"...interactive system that allows the user to create and download tables, based on selected variables from the following data files." Behavioral, Health, Population, TANF, Crime. https://healthapps.dhss.mo.gov/MoPhims/MOPHIMSHome

https://mcdc.missouri.edu/

Current and archive. https://dss.mo.gov/re/canar.htm

https://dese.mo.gov/school-data

https://health.mo.gov/data/

The Monthly Management Report is a monthly publication detailing information concerning the Temporary Assistance, Medicaid and Food Stamp programs administered by the Family Support Division and the MO HealthNet Division. https://dss.mo.gov/re/fsd_mhdmr.htm

https://mffh.org/publications/

https://missourikidscountdata.org/

Current. https://www.kff.org/state-category/medicaid-chip/?state=MO

https://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/SAC/index_960grid.html

Current and archive. Data & Statistical Reports category has annual reports. https://health.mo.gov/data/vitalstatistics/

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/qtax.html

https://dss.mo.gov/rr.htm

By the Housing Assistance Council. Housing, community, and family information for all of the states' poverty levels. https://www.ruraldataportal.org/

2021. By Liz Deichmann. https://stldata.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/STL-Nonprofit-Indicators-Final-September-2021.pdf

Cancer stats for nation, states, counties. https://statecancerprofiles.cancer.gov/index.html

By the Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment/unemployment, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports.https://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/state-fact-sheets/

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/gov-finances.html

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/stc.html

https://www.kff.org/statedata/

Database of statistics related to metropolitan areas, cities, and suburbs. Includes demographics, economics, crime, buildings, employment, business, & government finances. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/socds.html

See also the state profiles. https://stateofthestates.org/

Quality and disparities in delivering healthcare. https://datatools.ahrq.gov/nhqdr

Missouri Department of Mental Health. https://dmh.mo.gov/alcohol-drug/reports/status

"2-1-1 Counts is the first tool to provide real-time, searchable and visual presentations of data from 2-1-1 call centers across the nation." https://211counts.org/home/index

https://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/SAC/data_and_statistics_ucr.html