Here are links to the boxes on this Sessions & Handouts page. The links will quickly jump the screen to the boxes of information.
Tutorial Videos
Brown School Library Sessions
Additional Sessions at WUSTL
Brown School Library Session Handouts
Feel free to attend the following library sessions. Many of the sessions offer hands-on instruction. In addition to Brown School Library sessions, the list includes selected sessions from WashU's Becker Medical Library and WashU's Olin Library.
Catalog of Library Materials
Learn how to search the catalog, request WashU items, set up a reading history, and renew checked out items. No registration needed.
By appointment or Recorded session
Course Reserves Tips
Learn how to find and use the Brown School course reserves located in the Library Catalog and Ares.
Please email the Library for a one-on-one or small group appointment: brownlibrary@wustl.edu
Data Visualization in Tableau
Learn how to use Tableau to create tables, graphs, charts and thematic maps. This workshop is introductory and intended for people with little to no Tableau experience.
February 17, 1:00 ‒ 3:00 p.m., Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
Please register if you need a Zoom link: https://library.wustl.edu/events/data-visualization-in-tableau-5/
Don’t Sign Your Rights Away: Author's Rights
Hope to publish an article in the future? Learn how to retain your copyrights so you can freely use your own work for teaching, scholarly, and professional activities. Otherwise, you may have to pay the publisher in order to use your own work. Learn about WashU's open access repository for articles. No registration needed.
By appointment or PowerPoint slides
Evidence-Based Resources
Learn about the evidence-based resources. Covers evidence-based databases, websites, and filters. These resources should save you some time when doing evidence-based assignments. No registration needed.
By appointment or Tutorial
Finding Similar Phrases for Database Searching
Learn how to find similar phrases in order to expand your database search. Covers the research guide tab, database thesauri, database words, and a thesaurus. No registration needed.
By appointment or Recorded session
GIS Week in November (Geographic Information Systems) (November 2025)
Learn about some geospatial resources at WUSTL.
Green Get-It Button
Learn how to use the green get-it button to retrieve full text items. Learn what to do when the full text doesn't display. No registration needed.
By appointment or Recorded session
Interlibrary Loan (Mobius and ILLiad)
WashU cannot buy every book and journal that is available. Learn how to use the interlibrary loan system to request items that WashU does not own. No registration needed.
By appointment or Recorded session
Introduction to Data Sourcing (Data Sorcery)
Learn about freely available data sources for socio-economic, demographic, health, public policy, market, and environmental research. Particular emphasis will be put on how to find and use Census data.
February 3, 1:00 - 3:00 p.m., Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
Please register if you need a Zoom link: https://library.wustl.edu/events/introduction-to-data-sourcing-data-sorcery-3/
Introductory Compute – Getting Started with Open On Demand (OOD)
This webinar is offered by Becker Library and WashU's Research Infrastructure Services (RIS). Attendees will learn how to use the OOD web interface to connect to and interact with RIS's Scientific Compute platform, and access a variety of software for running jobs on the system.
February 19, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m., via Zoom
Please register: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/?page=CiviCRM&q=civicrm/event/info&reset=1&id=877
Library Resources After Graduation
Learn about the library resources that are available to you after you graduate. No registration needed.
By appointment or PowerPoint
Love Data Week (February 10-14, 2025)
FAIR or FOUL? Introduction to Good Data Documentation
Join us to learn best practices for documenting data, documentation tools, and work on documentation of a dataset.
February 10, 1:00 - 3:00 p.m., Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
Please register if you need a Zoom link: https://library.wustl.edu/events/fair-or-foul-introduction-to-good-data-documentation-2/
The 3D Data Ecosystem: Creation, Ownership, and Impact
This split-session workshop delves into the dynamic realm of 3D data, from its creation and ownership to its transformative applications in 3D design, 3D printing, 3D scanning, and virtual reality. Part 1 explores the lifecycle of 3D data—from its creation and acquisition to issues of ownership, accessibility, and integration into cutting-edge technologies. The discussion will highlight how 3D data drives innovation across digital and physical domains, shaping industries and redefining possibilities. In part 2, participants will have the opportunity to experience live demos exploring virtual reality and gain hands-on insight into how 3D data shapes immersive environments. Join us to uncover the power of 3D data and its impact on creativity, collaboration, and the future of 3D technology.
February 10 (Part 1), 3:00 - 3:45 p.m., Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
February 10 (Part 2), 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., In-Person Only, Olin Library, Instruction Room 2
Please register if you need a Zoom link for Part 1: https://library.wustl.edu/events/the-3d-data-ecosystem-creation-ownership-and-impact/
Advancing a Modernized Biomedical Data Ecosystem
Join Ishwar Chandramouliswaran, Lead Program Director at the NIH’s Office of Data Science Strategy, for a comprehensive webinar on the FAIR Data and Resources Unit’s strategy and initiatives. This unit is dedicated to modernizing the biomedical data resource ecosystem through leadership, strategic planning, and NIH-wide coordination. Through this webinar you’ll gain insights into the NIH’s initiatives, explore collaboration opportunities, and learn how to promote/adopt FAIR data practices in biomedical research.
February 13, 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m., via Zoom
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/advancing-a-modernized-biomedical-data-ecosystem/
How Data Viz Can Save the World
We all have an ethical responsibility to do our data visual justice – to give it more life in our worlds, no matter how big or how small. You might think that taking the time to present your data effectively won’t really make a difference. No matter the size of your stage, your data can help us meet the most pressing challenges of our time with a clear message that will persuade others to change their actions and help save the world.
February 13, 2:15 - 3:45 p.m., Emerson Auditorium, Knight Hall, and also Zoom
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/how-data-viz-can-save-the-world/
Seeing Data Clearly: Visualization Literacy in a Data-Driven World
Visualization literacy—the ability to interpret, evaluate, and create meaningful visual representations of data—is essential for informed decision-making in today’s data-driven world. This talk delves into the process of developing a concise and accurate assessment tool for measuring visualization literacy, focusing on its design, implementation, and refinement. Highlights ongoing efforts to adapt and expand the tool for more generalized and global contexts, addressing the challenges of balancing simplicity, precision, and cultural relevance. This session serves as a call to action, encouraging participants to actively advance visualization literacy as a critical global initiative.
February 14, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. via Zoom
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/seeing-data-clearly-visualization-literacy-in-a-data-driven-world/
Managing Large Writing Projects
Looking ahead and trying to make plans for this semester’s major assignments? Feeling overwhelmed by the thought of a 10, 20, 30 page paper? Workshop covers best practices and practical strategies for managing large or long-term writing projects, such as final course essays, capstones, or theses. Our conversation will leave space for participant discussion, student writing activities, and tips to help expand to your writing toolkit.
February 12, 11:00 a.m. - noon, The Writing Center’s classroom space, Mallinckrodt 132
Please register: https://writingcenter.wustl.edu/calendar_event/managing-large-writing-projects/
Medline via PubMed: A Fantastic, Free Health Database
Learn how to effectively search Medline via PubMed for public health, psychological, and therapeutic information. Covers MeSH searching, applying limits, using the search history, changing the results display, accessing full text, using the evidence-based clinical queries, and more. No registration needed.
By appointment or Recorded session
Navigating the NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy Updates
The NIH has released a series of updates to the 2023 Data Management and Sharing policy in 2024 and plans to introduce a new Data Management and Sharing Plan (DMSP) template in the first quarter of 2025. Additionally, the NIH has issued new implementation updates for data management and access practices under the GDS policy (NOT-OD-24-157), which took effect on January 25, 2025. If you access controlled data shared in any of the NIH controlled-access data repositories, you will be impacted by these implementation updates. Join this session, led by Dr. Seonyoung Kim from the Data Management and Sharing Services Group at Becker Library, to learn about all the updates regarding the NIH sharing policies and how to navigate them.
February 6, 1:00 - 2:00 p.m., via Zoom
Please register: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/?page=CiviCRM&q=civicrm/event/info&reset=1&id=870
Open Access Month (October 2025)
A series of events highlighting trends in open science, open data and open access. Presented by Bernard Becker Medical Library and Washington University Libraries with sponsorship from the Digital Intelligence & Innovation (DI2) Accelerator.
Python Workshops
Recorded sessions are in the Previous Workshops section, Python tab: https://becker.wustl.edu/services/research-computing/
Introduction to Text Analysis in Python Series
This four-session course will provide participants with an introduction to analyzing textual data using Python. Topics will include how to read and prepare textual data for computational analysis, and basic techniques for analysis of large textual corpora, such as word frequency analysis, topic modeling, clustering and basic machine learning classification. This course is intended for graduate students, faculty and staff from any field at WashU who are interested in learning about quantitative text analysis and would like to become familiar with the main libraries and functions used to work with textual data in Python. Participants are expected to have a basic proficiency in Python. Participants will use their own laptops.
January 27, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., (part 1) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
January 29, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., (part 2) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 3, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., (part 3) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 5, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., (part 4) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/introduction-to-text-analysis-in-python/
Data Analysis and Visualization with Python Series
This four-session course will introduce participants to the primary packages and methods for data analysis and visualization in Python. Initial sessions will explore how to use the popular Pandas library for the management and preliminary analysis of data, with a particular focus on CSV and JSON format datasets. In later sessions, you will learn how to produce customized static and interactive visualizations of your data using the Matplotlib, Seaborn, Plotly and Bokeh libraries. This class is intended for graduate students, faculty and staff at Wash U who have basic familiarity with Python. Participants will use their own laptops.
February 17 (part 1), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 19 (part 2), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 24 (part 3), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 26 (part 4), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/data-analysis-and-visualization-with-python-series-2/
R Workshops
Recorded sessions available. Introduction to R sessions: https://wustl.app.box.com/s/xz68on19wnnp8o0jtctz5h8i4pvcaaqn
Recorded sessions available: Advanced Data Visualization and data wrangling in R: https://wustl.app.box.com/s/gsxu4l7qma5yfgqdd60zzayj9kii0v7e
Introduction to R Series
This 4-session course will introduce the R programming language. Designed to build foundational skills, this course acts as a precursor to more specialized courses, whether at TRIADS or elsewhere. We will explore the components of the R/RStudio working environment, delve into handling diverse data structures in R (including vectors, matrices, and data frames), and acquire the skill to create and apply our own functions. The course is structured for maximum accessibility, making it suitable for those with no prior background in any programming language or quantitative methods. This class will be fully in-person, and participants will use their own laptops.
January 28, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., (part 1) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
January 29, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., (part 2) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 4, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., (part 3) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 5, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., (part 4) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/introduction-to-r-series-2/
Introduction to R - Basic R for Beginners
Introduction to the R programming language, R data objects, and basic R code for some common data analysis tasks. A small example dataset will be used to demonstrate data exploration, manipulation, and visualization using built-in functions available in base R.
February 5, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., via Zoom
Please register: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/event/info/?reset=1&id=873
Introduction to Data Analysis and Visualization in R Series
In this 4-session course, participants will gain fundamental skills in data analysis and visualization using R. The course covers the basics of data manipulation using base R functions, dplyr and tidy libraries, and creating visualizations using ggraph. This course is intended for graduate students, faculty and staff from any field at WashU. This course requires basic skills in R programming language. However, for those who are not familiar with R but wish to participate, we can provide recommended learning materials in advance to help bridge any knowledge gaps. Please reach out early! Participants will use their own laptops.
February 18 (part 1), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
February 19 (part 2), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
February 25 (part 3), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
February 26 (part 4), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/introduction-to-data-analysis-and-visualization-in-r-series/
REDCap Workshops
REDCap is a secure, web-based application for building and managing online databases and surveys, but you do not need web development or computer programming experience to use REDCap. REDCap has built-in quality assurance/quality improvement features and is HRPO compliant. If you have a WUSTL Key, you can use REDCap for free! Note: some REDCap workshops are recorded. The recordings are available at the following website: Recorded sessions available
Research Like a Pro: Verifying AI-Generated Content
While navigating the complexities of academic research, ensuring the accuracy and credibility of AI-generated data is quickly emerging as an essential research skill. This webinar will demonstrate practical strategies for cross-referencing AI content with reputable sources, highlight the importance of human oversight, and provide tips for developing critical evaluation skills. Leave equipped with the tools to assess and use AI-generated information in your scholarly work.
February 4, 1:00 - 1:30 p.m., Olin Library, Instruction Room 1 & also Zoom
Please register if you need a Zoom link: https://library.wustl.edu/events/research-like-a-pro-verifying-ai-generated-content/
SciComm Journal Club
Reimagining publics and (non) participation: Exploring exclusion from science communication through the experiences of low-income, minority ethnic groups
Evaluate the structural inequalities that limit the participation of underrepresented groups in science communication and reflect on ways to design science communication activities that include multiple voices, perspectives, and values. Leslie Sutton (DBBS program in Developmental, Regenerative, & Stem Cell Biology) will lead the discussion. Reading is suggested but not required to attend.
February 19, 3:00 - 4:00 p.m., Becker Medical Library, Room 405, 660 South Euclid Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63110-1010
Please register: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/?page=CiviCRM&q=civicrm/event/info&reset=1&id=880
Search Strategies for Database Searching
Learn about the basic search strategies and use them in a database search in order to find relevant articles. Covers Boolean Operators, truncation, phrase searching, field qualification, proximity operators, using the search history, and applying limits. No registration needed.
January 29, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., Goldfarb Hall, room 359
By appointment or Tutorial
Social Explorer Census & Social Statistics
Learn how to use Social Explorer for census and social statistics. Generate maps. Overview of the 2010 census and the American Community Survey. Produce statistical reports through the Premade, Keyword, and table features (age, race, households, education, income, etc.). No registration needed.
By appointment
Social Welfare Policies & Services Class: Library Resources
Learn about library resources that may help you with your Social Welfare Policies & Services class assignments. Covers Congress.gov, ProQuest Congressional, CQ Researcher, PAIS, and more. No registration needed.
By appointment
Tour the Brown School Library
Take a walking tour of the Brown School Library and learn where the resources are located. No registration needed.
By appointment
Zotero Sessions
Zotero Citation Manager
Learn how to use Zotero to organize citations and create APA bibliographies. No registration needed.
January 30, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., Goldfarb Hall, room 359
By appointment or Recorded session
Zotero Zoom Through
Collect and organize sources as-you-go, and cite with Zotero. In this brief workshop you’ll learn and practice the essentials for using this powerful citation management program. You will leave the session with the basics and a checklist to take you through additional Zotero features we may not be able to cover in this 30 minute session, including: in-text citations with dynamic bibliographies, space-saving strategies, and advanced setting options. Note: If possible, please download the Zotero desktop client on your own laptop prior to the session, and please create your Zotero online account. If you are attending the session in person, please bring your own laptop.
February 3, noon – 12:30 p.m., Olin Library, Instruction Room 1 & also Zoom
Please register if you need a Zoom link: https://library.wustl.edu/events/zotero-zoom-through-4/
Here is the above list in chronological order:
January 28, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., Zotero Citation Manager, via Zoom
January 28, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., Introduction to R (part 1) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
January 29, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., Introduction to Text Analysis in Python (part 2) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
January 29, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., Introduction to R (part 2) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
January 29, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., Search Strategies for Database Searching, Goldfarb Hall, room 359
January 30, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., Zotero Citation Manager, Goldfarb Hall, room 359
February 3, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., Introduction to Text Analysis in Python (part 3) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 3, noon – 12:30 p.m., Zotero Zoom Through, Olin Library, Instruction Room 1 & also Zoom
February 3, 1:00 - 3:00 p.m., Introduction to Data Sourcing (Data Sorcery), Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
February 4, 1:00 - 1:30 p.m., Research Like a Pro: Verifying AI-Generated Content, Olin Library, Instruction Room 1 & also Zoom
February 4, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., Introduction to R (part 3) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 5, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., Introduction to R - Basic R for Beginners, via Zoom
February 5, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., Introduction to Text Analysis in Python (part 4) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 5, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., Introduction to R (part 4) Olin Library, Instruction Room 3
February 6, 1:00 - 2:00 p.m., Navigating the NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy Updates, via Zoom
February 10, 1:00 - 3:00 p.m., FAIR or FOUL? Introduction to Good Data Documentation, Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
February 10 (Part 1), 3:00 - 3:45 p.m., The 3D Data Ecosystem: Creation, Ownership, and Impact, Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
February 10 (Part 2), 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., The 3D Data Ecosystem: Creation, Ownership, and Impact, In-Person Only, Olin Library, Instruction Room 2
February 12, 11:00 a.m. - noon, Managing Large Writing Projects, The Writing Center’s classroom space, Mallinckrodt 132
February 13, 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m., Advancing a Modernized Biomedical Data Ecosystem, via Zoom
February 13, 2:15 - 3:45 p.m., How Data Viz Can Save the World, Emerson Auditorium, Knight Hall, and also Zoom
February 14, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. Seeing Data Clearly: Visualization Literacy in a Data-Driven World, via Zoom
February 17 (part 1), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Data Analysis and Visualization with Python Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 17, 1:00 ‒ 3:00 p.m., Data Visualization in Tableau, Olin Library, Instruction Room 2 & also Zoom
February 18 (part 1), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Introduction to Data Analysis and Visualization in R Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
February 19, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m., Introductory Compute – Getting Started with Open On Demand (OOD), via Zoom
February 19 (part 2), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Data Analysis and Visualization with Python Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 19 (part 2), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Introduction to Data Analysis and Visualization in R Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
February 19, 3:00 - 4:00 p.m., SciComm Journal Club, Becker Medical Library, Room 405, 660 South Euclid Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63110-1010
February 24 (part 3), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Data Analysis and Visualization with Python Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 25 (part 3), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Introduction to Data Analysis and Visualization in R Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
February 26 (part 4), 11:30 a.m. ‒ 1:00 p.m., Data Analysis and Visualization with Python Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 3
February 26 (part 4), 2:00 ‒ 3:30 p.m., Introduction to Data Analysis and Visualization in R Series, Olin Library, Level A, Instruction Room 1
