A Social Work Research Guide

Presidential public documents: "...The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1929; The Public Papers of the Presidents: since 1929; The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009; The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: post-2009; ...our archives contain data related to Midterm Elections, U.S. Party Platforms (from 1840), Statements of Administration Policy, White House Press Briefing Transcripts, Presidential Debate transcripts." Includes some elections statistics and a media archive. https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/

Formerly called: Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Federal funding available to groups, individuals, and local governments for federal programs. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings

Videos of Congressional remarks, interviews/speeches from all three branches of government. https://www.c-span.org/

Produced by Harvard's Kennedy School of Government, this database includes cases on public policy and government. Abstracts are free of charge. https://case.hks.harvard.edu/

Now called Assistance Listings. Federal funding available to groups, individuals, and local governments for federal programs. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings

"...electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government." Most records are July 1976 to present. https://catalog.gpo.gov

Census 2020 information. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/decennial-census/decade.2020.html

Special reports on a variety of topics. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/decennial-census/decade/decennial-publications.2010.html

Special reports on a variety of topics. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/library/publications-and-working-papers.html

https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/

Community facts. https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/services/topic.cfm?id=226&name=facts-and-figures

Use the atlas and zoom to the neighborhood. Moving the mouse will display the neighborhood names. Write down the census tract numbers. There is an imaginary decimal point before the last 2 digits. Go to data.census.gov to find demographics for the tract numbers.
https://statisticalatlas.com/place/Missouri/St-Louis/Overview

https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/public-safety/neighborhood-stabilization-office/neighborhoods/neighborhood-maps.cfm

https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/public-safety/neighborhood-stabilization-office/neighborhoods/neighborhood-associations-on-social-media.cfm

Neighborhood websites and neighborhood maps. https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/neighborhoods/

https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/live-work/community/neighborhoods/index.cfm

"...provides a forum for local governments of the bi-state St. Louis area to work together to solve problems that cross jurisdictional boundaries." https://www.ewgateway.org/

"Administration of federal funds for housing, community and economic development programs that strengthen the City of St. Louis and its neighborhoods." https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/cda/

Congressional website for selected legislative information including How a bill becomes a law, Member profiles, and full coverage of legislation 1995+ https://www.congress.gov/

"...independent, nonpartisan 501(c)4 organization that recognized the importance of the Congressional Social Work Caucus and sought to complement its mission and work...CRISP envisions an increased awareness among federal policymakers and the public of the benefits of social work..." https://www.crispinc.org/

Reports often include financial information related to the bill/law. https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/CRSR/

"...Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service..." https://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/index.html

See the Government Affairs box on the subpage, "Freely Searchable Databases by Subject for Alumni." https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301116#s-lg-box-888574

https://www.archives.gov/federal-register/executive-orders

Have a question about Federal programs, benefits, or services? https://www.usa.gov/contact

Free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. About 50 collections included. https://www.govinfo.gov/

"...find and track bills in the U.S. Congress and understand their representatives’ legislative record..." Starting a state legislative tracking option. https://www.govtrack.us/

"...searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online." https://metalib.gpo.gov

Updates to selected chapters of the Green Book posted on the House committee's website. 2008-2018. https://web.archive.org/web/20230616105216/https://greenbook-waysandmeans.house.gov/2018-green-book

Background Material and Data on Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means. 1996 - 2004. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/green-book?path=/GPO/Background%20Material%20and%20Data%20on%20the%20Programs%20within%20the%20Jurisdiction%20of%20the%20Committee%20on%20Ways%20and%20Means%20%2528Green%20Book%2529

Full text. "...social policy research created by nonprofit organizations..." https://www.issuelab.org/

https://laws.com/

https://www.law.cornell.edu/

Resources and guides related to federal law. https://www.llsdc.org/sourcebook

Up-to-date maps of municipalities, census divisions for St. Louis County. https://data-stlcogis.opendata.arcgis.com/

Can zoom in to see streets. https://stlcogis.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=57432ffb15134295a909eb5109ffbf2f

Full text. Disability, early childhood, education, family support, health, international, labor, nutrition. https://www.mathematica.org/evidence/publications#sort=%40mprcomputedcontentdate%20descending

Missouri Secretary of State, Missouri State Archives. "Missouri State Archives has territorial, state, federal and special census records from 1752 to 2004, which can be used to locate an ancestor’s specific location. In addition, tax lists are good substitutes when census records are not available." https://s1.sos.mo.gov/records/archives/archivesdb/census/Default.aspx

Bill tracking, statutes, legislator look-up, etc. https://www.mo.gov/government/legislative-branch/

List of selected Missouri state government databases. https://godort.libguides.com/missouridbs

https://www.mo.gov/

"...members are the 2700 local health departments across the United States." Community Health, Environmental Health, Public Health Infrastructure and Systems, and Public Health Preparedness topics. https://www.naccho.org/

National Conference of State Legislatures. Links to the state legislatures. Has a section for pertinent state laws by topic. https://www.ncsl.org/aboutus/ncslservice/state-legislative-websites-directory.aspx

"...resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information...over 350 subject areas..." https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/

https://www.princeton.edu/~ota/

Current and archive. https://www.sos.mo.gov/bluebook

https://revisor.mo.gov/main/Home.aspx

https://stlouiscountymo.gov/

Current. https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/handbook/handbook.html

Many government resources are listed on the Social Policy page of this Research Guide. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301069

A current source for state child welfare laws. Covers all 50 states. A product of Child Welfare Information Gateway. https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/state/

From the American Lung Association. "... tracks state tobacco control laws, such as restrictions on smoking in public places and workplaces and tobacco taxes, on an ongoing basis. It is the only comprehensive summary of tobacco control laws in all 50 states and the District of Columbia." https://www.lung.org/policy-advocacy/tobacco/slati

https://www.usa.gov/state-tribal-governments

Current and archive. https://www.nlc.org/resource/state-of-the-cities/

Database of statistics related to metropolitan areas, cities, and suburbs. Includes demographics, economics, crime, buildings, employment, business, & government finances. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/socds.html

For statistics, see the Census, Saint Louis, Social, and States boxes on the statistics subpage. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301062

"Check out Sunlight's noteworthy work in the areas of: Track Influence, The Inner Workings of Congress, Track Legislation and Public Policy and Mobile Apps." https://sunlightfoundation.com/

"Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups." https://www.crl.edu/programs/trail

Current: https://uscode.house.gov/
Archive: https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/uscode

Current plus archive. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/GOVMAN

Home page. "...provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public." https://www.gpo.gov/

Gateway to United States government information. https://www.usa.gov/

USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. The Profiles tab allows one to drill down for more specific spending. https://www.usaspending.gov/

HUD USPS ZIP Code Crosswalk Files. The first 3 crosswalk files are used to allocate ZIP codes to Census tracts, counties or Core Based Statistical Areas (CBSA). The last three are used to allocate Census tracts, counties or Core Based Statistical Areas to ZIP codes. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/usps_crosswalk.html