Research Guides: A Social Work Research Guide: Social Policy

What is on This Social Policy Page

This social policy page has resources that may help you with your social welfare/policy class assignments. For the assignments, it is easier to work with a bill that became a law. It is more difficult to work with bills that died in committee or are currently active in Congress. At the federal level, Congress.gov has a limit, "Became Law," which filters out the bills that died in committee or are currently active in Congress.

Social Policy - Choosing a Topic Subpage

Green Book Updates on the Ways & Means Committee Website
Updates to selected chapters of the Green Book posted on the House committee's website. 2008-current. https://greenbook-waysandmeans.house.gov/
Green Book 2004 in Electronic Format
Describes the major social welfare programs in detail. Lists enabling legislation for many programs. Discusses the finances of many programs. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/green-book?path=/GPO/Background%20Material%20and%20Data%20on%20the%20Programs%20within%20the%20Jurisdiction%20of%20the%20Committee%20on%20Ways%20and%20Means%20%2528Green%20Book%2529
Green Book 2004 in Paper Format
Describes the major social welfare programs in detail. Lists enabling legislation for many programs. Discusses the finances of many programs. A paper version is in the Brown School Library (REF HC110 P63 B29). Here is the catalog record: https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1280909~S2
Assistance Listings (SAM.gov)
Descriptions of federal programs that provide public assistance. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) in Electronic Format
Bottom, left section of the Assistance Listings webpage. CFDA in PDF format. Describes federal government domestic programs. Lists enabling legislation and funding. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings
Handbook of Social Policy (Electronic Book)
Discusses many social programs and provides some historical background. A paper version is in the Brown School Library (REF HN65 H345). Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b8006560~S2

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance for 2017 Part 1
The 2017 e-book contains some definitions that are hard to find on the new website. This may be helpful for definitions and program numbers.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance for 2017 Part 2
Use the website for the newest program entries. Archived programs and the Crosswalk of title/number changes may help.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance for 2017 Part 3
Appendix tables. The budget functional code appendix and the historic profiles appendix of program changes may help.

Social Policy - Legislative History Resources

Flowchart of How a Bill Becomes a Law
From Congressbythenumbers.com. Descriptions of the process appear towards the middle of the webpage. https://hobnobblog.com/legislative-process-flowchart-from-the-congressional-deskbook/
Legislative Process Videos for How a Bill Becomes a Law
From Congress.gov. Brief videos explain the process. https://www.congress.gov/legislative-process

How a Bill Becomes A Law
Flowchart of how a bill becomes a law with the names of the government resources where you can read the full text.

Congress.gov
Congressional website for selected legislative information including How a bill becomes a law, Member profiles, and full coverage of legislation 1995+ https://www.congress.gov/
Congress.gov: Updates and Overview Tutorial Video
1 hour video tutorial covers: overview of Congress.gov and options when searching for legislation.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Federal. Has older legislation than Congress.gov. Has full text Hearings and mentions presidential signing statements. Has the Serial Set 1789-1969. Not as user-friendly as Congress.gov. Fewer CBO cost estimates. Selected laws 1984 to now have full bill tracking. Selected laws 1969-1983 have abbreviated info. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Legislative Insight
Federal. Over 18,000 federal legislative histories with digital full text publications covering laws from 1929 to present. Has 10,000 laws passed between 1929 and 1968 that are not in ProQuest Congressional. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Hein Online's US Federal Legislative History Library
Histories and documents for many major public laws. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet
https://www.llsdc.org/legislative-histories
Legislative Histories at the Dept. of Justice
"U.S. Public Law; House and Senate Documents; House, Senate, and Conference Reports; House and Senate Committee Hearings; Congressional Debates (Congressional Record); related Bills; and Presidential Signing Statements." https://www.justice.gov/jmd/ls/legislative-histories
CQ Almanac (1945 - )
Takes a very, very long time to load. Please be patient. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
CQ Almanac (Congressional Quarterly Almanac) in Paper Format
Histories for major federal legislation. 1945 - 2010. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/t?SEARCH=cq+almanac
Congressional Digest (Online Format)
Federal. Full text articles on selected legislation. Includes background, pros and cons, etc. 1922+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7546362~S2
CQ (Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Online)
Formerly CQ Weekly. Federal. Full text articles on selected legislation. Includes background, politics, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. Click the drop-down arrow and choose SEARCH CQ MAGAZINE. Then type in your key words. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7548627~S2
WUSTL Library Catalog
Has many government publications after 1976. For histories, use the word search: ("legislative history" OR "legislative histories") AND keyword(s) of your topic. For example: ("legislative history" OR "legislative histories") AND labor
For committee reports, hearings, etc. use keyword searching. https://spokane.wustl.edu/
Congressional Record via Congress.gov
Official record of proceedings and floor discussions of Congress. 1995+ https://www.congress.gov/congressional-record
Congressional Record via GovInfo
1994+. Advance keyword search option available through the Search Government Publications link. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/crec
Congressional Record via ProQuest Congressional
1985+. Choose Advanced search mode. Select only Congressional Record. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Congressional Record via Hein Online
1873+. Choose US Congressional Documents. Then, choose the appropriate Congressional Record. 1789-1872 is available under different titles. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Congressional Record via American Memory Project: A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
1789-1875. https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwac.html
Congressional Record via HathiTrust
Selected full text 1810+ https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/ls?a=srchls;op2=AND;anyall2=phrase;q2=congressional%20record;field2=title;op3=AND;yop=after;facet_lang=language008_full%3AEnglish;lmt=ft
Congressional Record in Paper Format
1874-2006 in paper format in the Government Documents section at Olin Library. SuDoc number: X/A. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b3536130~S2
Compilation of Presidential Documents via GovInfo
Switched from weekly to daily January 20, 2009. President may explain the law's value during a signing ceremony. 1993+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/CPD
Compilation of Presidential Documents via Hein Online
Click on the appropriate compilation. The list includes weekly and daily 1965+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Compilation of Presidential Documents via American Presidency Project
1977+. https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/
Compilation of Presidential Documents via HathiTrust
Selected full text 1950+. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/ls?a=srchls;op2=AND;anyall2=phrase;q2=compilation%20of%20presidential%20documents;field2=title;op3=AND;yop=after;facet_lang=language008_full%3AEnglish;lmt=ft
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents in Paper Format
1965-2000. In paper format in the Law Library to 1965. In paper format in Olin library to 1985. SuDoc number: AE 2.109. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b2246098~S2
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States via GovInfo
1991+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/PPP
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States via Hein Online
See the tabs for Messages and papers and also Public papers. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States via Nexis Uni
CLICK ON CONTINUE. 1981+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States via American Presidency Project
1929+. https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States in Paper Format
Includes the weekly compilations of presidential documents. In paper format at the Law Library and Olin Library. 1929+. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1681111~S2
Miller Center - U.S. Presidents
Choose a president. Provides context and has a tab for Major Events. Some legislative context appears in major events. https://millercenter.org/president
Miller Center - Famous Presidential Speeches
Some speeches address legislative issues. Older years are transcripts. Recent years have audio, video, and transcripts. https://millercenter.org/the-presidency/presidential-speeches
CIS US Serial Set Index via Hein Online
Index to many congressional publications. Produced by the Congressional Information Service. 1789+
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
CIS US Serial Set Index in via ProQuest Congressional
Choose the Advanced search mode and select Miscellaneous Publications.. Index to many congressional publications. Produced by the Congressional Information Service. 1789-1969. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
CIS US Serial Set Index in Paper Format
Index to many congressional publications. Produced by the Congressional Information Service. WUSTL has 1789-1969 in paper format. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1080790~S2
American Memory Project: A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation Serial Sets
1789-1917. American State papers and Serial Set search. https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwss.html
Green Book Updates on the Ways & Means Committee Website
Updates to selected chapters of the Green Book posted on the House committee's website. 2008-current. https://greenbook-waysandmeans.house.gov/
Green Book (Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Electronic Format
2004. Describes major social welfare programs. Has legislative history and finances. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/green-book?path=/GPO/Background%20Material%20and%20Data%20on%20the%20Programs%20within%20the%20Jurisdiction%20of%20the%20Committee%20on%20Ways%20and%20Means%20%2528Green%20Book%2529
Green Book in Paper Format
The Brown School Library and Olin Library both have the 2004 edition in paper format. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1280909~S2
GovInfo Discover U.S. Government Information
Has legislation, reports, hearings, and many other government related documents. Most are mid 1990's to present. https://www.govinfo.gov/
HathiTrust
Has many government publications. Some are very old. Make sure to use the tab for Full View. https://www.hathitrust.org/
Legal Information Institute [LII]
By the Cornell Law School. Access to a variety of resources. https://www.law.cornell.edu/
Catalog of US Government Publications via Catalog Interface
Federal government publications. August 1976+. Consider searching the Advanced Search mode. https://catalog.gpo.gov
GPO Catalog of US Government Publications via FirstSearch
Alternate search interface for government publications. August 1976+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
MetaLib [federated search of congressional pubs and GovInfo]
"...federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations..." Choose GPO Resources to search congressional publications and the GovInfo together. https://metalib.gpo.gov
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications in Paper Format
Catalog of government publications 1934-2004 in paper and microform issues. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1135602~S2
Additional U.S. Government Agencies Government Documents at WUSTL Pre-1976 in Paper Format
Many older government documents are available in paper format even though they may not appear in the WUSTL library catalog. Here is the guide to locating these documents. https://wayback.archive-it.org/4359/20201217164524/https://library.wustl.edu/units/westcampus/govdocs/usgovagencies/
American Memory Project: A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
Selected bills, statutes, serial set, Congressional Record, 1774-1875. https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html
Congressional & Federal Government Web Harvests
Congressional web sites have been preserved at the end of each Congress (every 2 years). Helpful for congressional committee webpage information. https://www.webharvest.gov/
United States Congressional Web Archive
Committee websites and member websites back to 2002. Selective captures. https://www.loc.gov/collections/united-states-congressional-web-archive
Legislative Branch Web Archive
Congressional groups and agencies. Selective captures back to 2001. https://www.loc.gov/collections/legislative-branch-web-archive/about-this-collection/
Archive-It
Content from government websites via periodic captures. May have agency website content and reports. Can limit to federal deposit library program by typing fdlp in the box. https://archive-it.org/
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Key federal records. https://www.archives.gov/
Immigration and Nationality Act Website
https://www.uscis.gov/laws-and-policy/legislation/immigration-and-nationality-act
Medicaid Books in the WUSTL Library Catalog
The WUSTL libraries have many books related to Medicaid and Medicare. Since both come from the same bill, origins and history are the same for both programs. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=t:((medicare%20OR%20medicaid)%20AND%20(histor**%20OR%20%22legislative%20process%22))%20or%20d:((medicare%20OR%20medicaid)%20AND%20(histor**%20OR%20%22legislative%20process%22))&SORT=D
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: History (Medicaid)
Medicaid and Medicare come from the same bill. The agency's History section has some useful information and documents. https://www.cms.gov/about-cms/agency-information/history
History of Medicare (includes Medicaid)
Medicaid and Medicare come from the same bill. See chapter 4 and also the chronology for 1965. https://www.ssa.gov/history/corning.html
Legislating Medicaid: Considering Medicaid and Its Origins
Provides a good understanding of the beginnings of Medicaid. Article by Moore, J. Source: Health Care Financing Review 27(2) p. 45-52 (2005).https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Research/HealthCareFinancingReview/downloads/05-06Winpg45.pdf
Medicaid Reform (article has background and chronology)
Title: Medicaid reform. Author: Rebecca Adams. Source: CQ Researcher 14(25) p.589-612 (July 16, 2004). Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Medicare and Medicaid Provisions of the "Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982" (P.L. 97-248)
CRS report in the database ProQuest Congressional. Discusses the 1982 amendments. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Social Security Medicare Program Enacted (includes Medicaid)
Great article for legislative history for Medicare/Medicaid. Located in CQ Almanac (1965), 21st ed., pages 236-45. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Public Health--Inside or Outside the Mainstream of the Political Process? Lessons from the Passage of Medicaid
Article has Medicaid history. By Bernstein, B. Source: American Journal of Public Health and the Nation's Health 60(9) p. 1690–1700 (1970). https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1349064
Medicare Books in the WUSTL Library Catalog
The WUSTL libraries have many books related to Medicare and Medicaid. Since both come from the same bill, origins and history are the same for both programs. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=t:((medicare%20OR%20medicaid)%20AND%20(histor**%20OR%20%22legislative%20process%22))%20or%20d:((medicare%20OR%20medicaid)%20AND%20(histor**%20OR%20%22legislative%20process%22))&SORT=D
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: History (Medicare)
Medicare and Medicaid come from the same bill. The agency's History section has some useful information and documents. https://www.cms.gov/about-cms/agency-information/history
History of Medicare
Useful history and chronology--particularly chapter 4 and the chronology for 1965. https://www.ssa.gov/history/corning.html
Legislative History of the Medicare Program to 2015
Major changes to Medicare 1966-2015. Scroll down to the section: Medicare: History of Provisions. https://www.ssa.gov/history/pdf/hlth_care.pdf
Medicare: A Timeline of Key Developments
Timeline of basic legislative history from the Kaiser Family Foundation. 1965+. https://www.kff.org/medicare/timeline/medicare-timeline/
Social Security Act of 1935
The government's main web page for resources related to the Act. Has excellent information on background, history, changes, etc. https://www.ssa.gov/history/
A Brief History of Social Security (2005)
The chronology beginning on page 20 may be helpful. https://www.ssa.gov/history/pdf/2005pamphlet.pdf
Legislative Histories Section of Social Security Act of 1935
Scroll down to the Legislative Histories section. There are three sections of interest. At the top: 1935 law, in the middle: Congressional vote tallies, at the end: Legislative histories. https://www.ssa.gov/history/law.html
Social Security Act of 1935 - Detailed Chronology of Social Insurance & Social Security
The section for the 1930's may be helpful. https://www.ssa.gov/history/chrono.html
Social Security: Major Decisions in the House and Senate Since 1935
CRS report. Includes legislative histories. https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/RL30920.pdf
Supplemental Security Income Program
By Mary C. Daly and Richard V. Burkhauser. Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco (2000). The History chapter and Table 1 may be helpful. https://www.frbsf.org/economic-research/publications/working-papers/2001/06/
Supplemental Security Income Program Description and Legislative History
From the Annual Statistical Supplement. Has extensive timeline. https://www.ssa.gov/policy/docs/statcomps/supplement/2020/ssi.html
Social Security Amendments of 1972: Summary and Legislative History
Article authored by R. M. Ball. Source: Social Security Bulletin 36(3) pages 3-25 (1973). Covers Supplemental Security Income. https://www.ssa.gov/policy/docs/ssb/v36n3/v36n3p3.pdf
Social Security in the United States by Paul Douglas
Good legislative history. Paper and online versions. Online version is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://catalog.wustl.edu/search/q?author=douglas%2C+paul&title=social+security
WIC Program: Background, Trends, and Economic Issues 2009 Edition
By Victor Oliveira and Elizabeth Frazao. Economic Research Report No. ERR-73. (2009) Has excellent legislative history chapter. https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/pub-details/?pubid=46177
WIC Program: Background, Trends, and Economic Issues, 2015 Edition
By Victor Oliveira and Elizabeth Frazao. Economic Information Bulletin Number 134. Although the 2009 edition has a much better description of the beginning legislative history of WIC, the 2015 edition has a chart that goes to 2014. https://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/pub-details/?pubid=43927
House of Representatives Website for Committees
Committee information for current session. https://www.house.gov/committees
Senate Website for Committees
Committee information for current session. https://www.senate.gov/committees/index.htm
Congress.gov Committee Information
https://www.congress.gov/committees
GovTrack.us Committee Information
Current committee information. https://www.govtrack.us/congress/committees/
Committee Reports via Congress.gov
1995+. https://www.congress.gov/quick-search/committee-reports
Committee Reports via GovInfo
1995+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/crpt
Committee Reports via ProQuest Congressional
1817+. Choose the Advanced search mode and select House and Senate Documents/Reports. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Committee Hearings via GovInfo
Selected hearings 1985+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/chrg
Committee Hearings via ProQuest Congressional
1824+. Choose the Advanced search mode and select Hearings. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Committee Hearings via Hein Online
Selected hearings 1889+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Committee Hearings via HathiTrust
Selected hearings 1920+. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/ls?a=srchls;op2=AND;anyall2=phrase;q2=hearings;field2=title;op3=AND;lmt=ft;yop=after;facet_lang=language008_full%3AEnglish&facet=countryOfPubStr:%22United%20States%22
United States Government Manual via GovInfo
Information on executive, judicial, and legislative branches including departments and agencies. 1995+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/GOVMAN
United States Government Manual via Hein Online
1935+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
United States Government Manual in Paper Format
1973-2013. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1056114~S2
United States Government Manual in Paper Format
1935-1948. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1874214~S2
United States Statutes at Large via GovInfo
Federal laws arranged by public law number. Cited by volume and page number. 1951+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/statute
United States Statutes at Large via Hein Online
1789+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Public Laws via Congress.gov
1951+. https://www.congress.gov/public-laws
Public Laws via Nexis Uni
CLICK ON CONTINUE. Has federal public laws 1988+. Link expires on July 21, 2025. [Advanced Search, Legal, Statutes and legislation, US legislation] Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Public Laws via GovInfo
1995+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/plaw
Public Laws via GovTrack.us
1799-1873, 1973+. Choose the congress, checkmark Enacted. https://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/browse
Live House Proceedings - House of Representatives Floor Proceedings
Video of House of Representatives floor proceedings. https://live.house.gov/
House Committee Hearings and Meetings Video through Congress.gov
Most go back a few years. Note: committee and subcommittee websites may archive much further back. https://www.congress.gov/committees/video
Senate Floor Webcast
Video of Senate floor proceedings. Archived to second session 112th Congress. https://www.senate.gov/floor/
C-SPAN Video Library
Congress tab has members, committees, votes, and bills browsing. Can keyword search also. Covers all aspects of Congress. https://www.c-span.org/congress/
Government Information Research Guide: Legislative Histories Tab
By WUSTL. Great information on the legislative process. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46915&p=301448
Kids in the House - Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives
Good source for basic information on first day of congress, leadership, how a bill becomes a law., committees. https://kids-clerk.house.gov/
Learn About the Legislative Process
https://www.congress.gov/help/learn-about-the-legislative-process
Congress.gov The Legislative Process
Brief videos on the basic process. https://www.congress.gov/legislative-process
House Rules Explained
The House Rules Committee has an online Parliamentary Bootcamp that gives an overview of House Floor procedures via PDFs. https://www.house.gov/the-house-explained#rules
Congressional Procedures and the Policy Process by Walter J. Oleszek
Book in the Brown School library. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/a?searchtype=t&searcharg=Congressional+procedures+and+the+policy+process&SORT=D
How Congress Works
Great chapter on the committee system. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b4930663~S2
Dance of Legislation
Book by Eric Redman. Firsthand account of how a bill moved through the process to become law. Discusses the political maneuverings that happened at various stages. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/t?SEARCH=dance+of+legislation
Search in the Catalog for Terms on How a Bill Becomes a Law
Consider searching the catalog with some of these terms: "how a bill becomes a law" "how laws are made" "legislative process" "Legislation United States" "United States Congress" "United States Congress Rules and Practice" "United States Politics and Government"
https://spokane.wustl.edu/
Facts & Milestones
U.S. Senate. Facts about senators. https://www.senate.gov/senators/facts_milestones.htm
Statistics and Lists
U.S. Senate. https://www.senate.gov/reference/stats_and_lists.htm
Institution
By the U.S. House of Representatives. Historical information including statistics. https://history.house.gov/Institution/
Statistics and Historical Comparison
By GovTrack. "Here are counts of bills and resolutions by status and by when they were introduced or enacted."
https://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/statistics
Vital Statistics on Congress
From The Brookings Institution. https://www.brookings.edu/multi-chapter-report/vital-statistics-on-congress/
Congressbythenumbers.com
Statistics related to recent congressional sessions. https://hobnobblog.com/congress-by-the-numbers/

Social Policy - Legislative History Searching for Articles

When searching for articles on the origins of legislation, consider using some of the following words in the title field along with keywords related to your law: Background Congress* Develop* Enact* Histor* House Legislat* Origin* Overview Representative* Review Senat*
Anniversary articles often include history. Consider: Anniversary Birthday "5 yr" "5 year*" "five year*" "10 yr" "10 year*" "ten year*" "20 yr" "20 year*" "twenty year*" "50 yr" "50 year*" "fifty year*" "100 yr" "100 year*" "hundred year*"
Words for the bill's path: Act Agree* Amend* Approve* Bill Clear* Compromis* Conference* Engrossed Enrolled Move* Pass* Reconcil* Reauthoriz* Send* Sent Signed Version* Vote*

Social Policy - Legislative History - Tracking Bills

BillTrack50
Requires free registration. Can view state and federal bills. https://www.billtrack50.com/
Congress.gov Legislation Alerts
Track changes to a bill via email alerts. https://www.congress.gov/help/alerts
Congressional Digest (Online)
Includes the politics. 1922+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7546362~S2
Congressional Digest in Paper Format
Includes the politics. In paper format 1922+. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1242913~S2
CQ (Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Online)
Formerly CQ Weekly. 1983+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. CLICK THE DROPDOWN ARROW AND CHOOSE CQ MAGAZINE. Then type in your key words. (Note: CQ Magazine at the bottom is only 1983-April 27, 2015). https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7548627~S2
CQ Weekly in Paper Format
Includes the politics. 1976-May, 2014. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b2513835~S2
FastDemocracy.com
Search for federal or state bills for the past few congresses. Can set up bill or topic tracking for current congress. https://fastdemocracy.com/
GovTrack.us
Website. Tracks federal legislation. https://www.govtrack.us/
The Hill (Washington, D.C.) in Electronic Format
Includes the politics. 1995+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7572560~S2
LegiScan
Track congressional bills and state bills. https://legiscan.com/
National Journal in Electronic Format
Includes the politics. 1994+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7609327~S2
National Journal in Paper Format
Includes the politics. 1969-2010. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1048876~S2
OpenStates.org
Search upcoming legislation; Track bill progress. Search across the states or select a specific state. https://openstates.org/
Roll Call in Electronic Format
Includes the politics. 1990+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7633738~S2
Washington Post in Electronic Format
Includes the politics. 1974+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7654981~S2

Social Policy - Economics Related Resources

America's Finance Guide
From the Department of the Treasury. Includes revenue, spending, debt, and deficit. https://fiscaldata.treasury.gov/americas-finance-guide
Appropriations Status Table
1999+. Appropriations for the federal government. https://crsreports.congress.gov/AppropriationsStatusTable
Assistance Listings in Electronic Format
Formerly called: Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Describes federal government domestic programs. Lists enabling legislation and funding. 2008+. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings
Budget of the United States Government via Govinfo
President's budget proposal for a given fiscal year. 1996+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/BUDGET
Budget of the United States Government via Fraser
President's budget proposal for a given fiscal year. 1923+. https://fraser.stlouisfed.org/title/budget-united-states-government-54?browse=1920s
Budget of the United States Government in Paper Format
President's budget proposal for a given fiscal year. In paper format. 1936+. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b3569379~S2
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance in Electronic Format
Now called Assistance Listings. Describes federal government domestic programs. Lists enabling legislation and funding. 2008+. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Website. Information related to budget and tax issues that affect low and moderate income persons. Federal and state levels. https://www.cbpp.org/
Combined Statement of Receipts, Outlays, and Balances of the United States Government
"...presents budgetary results at the summary and detail level." Includes agencies. https://www.fiscal.treasury.gov/reports-statements/combined-statement/
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) Cost Estimates in Electronic Format
1997+. https://www.cbo.gov/cost-estimates
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) Cost Estimates via Congress.gov
1997+. After you find your bill/law, look to the right side for "More on This Bill, CBO Cost Estimates." Note: Many bills do not have a CBO cost estimate. https://www.congress.gov/
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) Cost Estimates via Hein Online
1970s +. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) Cost Estimates in WUSTL Libraries
Many reports are listed in the WUSTL library catalog. MODIFY the search for "cost estimate" AND "congressional budget office" by using AND with some keywords from bill's title/popular title. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search~S2/X?SEARCH=((%22cost%20estimate%22)%20and%20(%22congressional%20budget%20office%22))&SORT=D
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports in Electronic Format via UNT
Reports often include financial information related to the bill/law. https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/CRSR/
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports in Electronic Format via ProQuest
Choose the Advanced search mode and select CRS Reports. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports via Hein Online
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Department of the Treasury Tax Policy Resources
https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/tax-policy
Economic Report of the President in Electronic Format via FRASER
1947+. Annual report by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. https://fraser.stlouisfed.org/title/economic-report-president-45?browse=1940s
Economic Report of the President in Electronic Format via GovInfo
1995+. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/ERP
Economic Report of the President in Electronic Format via Hein Online
1947+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Economic Report of the President in Paper Format
1948+. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1032144~S2
Federal Assistance Award Data System (now known as usaspending.gov)
Financial assistance awards from federal agencies to all types of recipients. https://www.usaspending.gov/
Federal Program Inventory
From the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). Aggregates important information about the programs of the U.S. Government. Allows visitors to explore Federal financial assistance programs across categories, agencies, eligible applicants, and more. Uses publicly available, agency-provided data. This data is sourced from SAM.gov and USASpending.gov.
Financial Report of the United States Government
Balance sheet data and agency statements (html version). https://www.fiscal.treasury.gov/reports-statements/financial-report/
Government Accountability Office Reports in Electronic Format via GAO
1971+. Reports discuss the efficiency, effectiveness, and cost-benefit of selected legislation. GAO is part of the Legislative Branch. https://www.gao.gov/search
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via Hein Online
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. ***EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Government Accountability Office Reports in the Library Catalog
Includes selected online and paper reports. MODIFY the search and then add in your keywords. SuDoc number: GA 1.13. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=(%22ga%201.13%22)&SORT=D
Green Book Updates on the Ways & Means Committee Website
Updates to selected chapters of the Green Book posted on the House committee's website. 2008-current. https://greenbook-waysandmeans.house.gov/
Green Book (Background Material and Data on Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Electronic Format
2004. Describes major social welfare programs, enabling legislation, and financial information. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/green-book?path=/GPO/Background%20Material%20and%20Data%20on%20the%20Programs%20within%20the%20Jurisdiction%20of%20the%20Committee%20on%20Ways%20and%20Means%20%2528Green%20Book%2529
Green Book (Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Paper Format
2004. Describes major social welfare programs, enabling legislation, and financial information. In the Brown School Library and Olin Library. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1280909~S2
IRS Tax Statistics
"Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system." https://www.irs.gov/statistics
IRS Tax Statistics - IRS Data Book
"...contains statistical tables and organizational information on a fiscal year basis. The report provides data on collecting the revenue, issuing refunds, enforcing the law, assisting the taxpayer, and the budget and workforce." https://www.irs.gov/statistics/soi-tax-stats-irs-data-book
IRS Tax Statistics Products
https://www.irs.gov/statistics/soi-tax-stats-products-publications-and-papers
National Priorities Project [federal spending]
"National Priorities Project is a national non-profit, non-partisan research organization dedicated to making complex federal budget information transparent and accessible..." https://www.nationalpriorities.org/
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Publications: Budget of the United States Government
https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/budget
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Reports in Electronic Format
OMB is part of the Executive Branch. Previous OMB reports in each president's archived webpages. https://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/legislative/omb-reports/
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Reports in Print Format
Includes financial aspects of selected legislation. OMB is part of the Executive Branch. Many reports are in the WUSTL libraries. SuDoc number: PrEx 2. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search~S2/?searchtype=X&searcharg=a%3A%28%22united+states%22%29+and+a%3A%28%22office+of+management+and+budget%22%29&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&availlim=1&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=Xa%3A%28%22united+states%22%29+and+a%3A%28%22office+of+management+and+budget%22%29%26SORT%3DD
U.S. Inspectors General Reports in Electronic Format
Performance of agency programs and financial information. Semiannual and annual reports may be helpful. Part of the Executive Branch. Choose the agency, and then look for reports. https://www.ignet.gov/content/inspectors-general-directory
USASpending.gov
USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. The Profiles tab allows one to drill down for more specific spending. https://www.usaspending.gov/

Social Policy - Economics Searching for Articles

When searching for journal articles, the following words may be helpful: allocat* appropriat* budget* charg* cost* dollar* economic* expend* expense* fee fees financ* fiscal* fund funded funding funds income* money* monies pay* reimburs* revenue* spend* spent tax*

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes taxation, subsidies, government policy. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Business Source Complete (1965-) This link opens in a new window
Includes economics, financial, accounting, management, business, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
EconLit with Full Text (1969 - ) This link opens in a new window
Economics and financial topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Factiva (6 users) This link opens in a new window
Business and economic news. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Social Policy - Background & Opinion Resources

Green Book Updates on the Ways & Means Committee Website
Updates to selected chapters of the Green Book posted on the House committee's website. 1996-current. https://greenbook-waysandmeans.house.gov/
Green Book (Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Electronic Format via GovInfo
Federal. 2004 edition from the House of Representatives. Describes major welfare programs. Includes background, context, enabling legislation, and financial information. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/green-book?path=/GPO/Background%20Material%20and%20Data%20on%20the%20Programs%20within%20the%20Jurisdiction%20of%20the%20Committee%20on%20Ways%20and%20Means%20%2528Green%20Book%2529
Green Book (Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Paper Format
2004. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1280909~S2
Handbook of Social Policy (Online Format)
Federal. Discusses many social programs and provides historical background and context. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b8006560~S2
Catalog - Materials in the WUSTL Libraries
Many library materials discuss specific programs in detail. They often include history, social context, key legislation, how the program affects society, and needed changes. https://spokane.wustl.edu/

Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
America: History & Life (1964-) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the U.S. and Canada. Includes recent history. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
1699+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
American Periodicals (1740 - 1940) This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff
Annual Reviews (1950 - ) This link opens in a new window
Review articles on a broad range of social and policy topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987-) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of social sciences. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) (1991 - ) This link opens in a new window
Think tank working papers, policy briefs, summaries, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY

Congressional Digest (Online Format)
Federal. Full text articles on selected legislation. Includes background, pros and cons, etc. 1922+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7546362~S2
Congressional Research Service: Search CRS Reports *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
From the Congressional Research Service. "This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress." https://crsreports.congress.gov/ ***EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Congressional Research Service Reports via UNT *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Federal. Provides policy and legal analysis to committees and members of both the House and Senate. Part of the Legislative Branch. https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/CRSR/
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Congressional Research Service Reports via ProQuest Congressional *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Federal. Has many full text reports. 1916+. Choose the Advanced search mode and select CRS Reports. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports via Hein Online
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Congressional Research Service Reports via crsreports.com
Another website to try if the UNT or ProQuest websites fail to provide your needed information. https://www.crsreports.com/
Congressional Research Service Reports via everycrsreport.com
Use if other resources fail to provide your needed information. Authorship is redacted on this website. https://www.everycrsreport.com/

CQ Researcher (1991 - ) This link opens in a new window
Some state level if it is of national importance. Discusses many legislative/policy issues. Includes history, major legislation, context, current situation, needed changes. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY

CQ (Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Online)
Formerly CQ Weekly. Federal. Full text articles on selected legislation. Includes background, politics, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. Click the drop-down arrow and choose SEARCH CQ MAGAZINE. Then type in your key words. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7548627~S2
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via GAO *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Federal. 1971+. Reports discuss the efficiency, effectiveness, and cost-benefit of selected legislation. GAO is part of the Legislative Branch. https://www.gao.gov/search
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via GovInfo *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
1989-2008. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/GAOREPORTS *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via Hein Online
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. ***EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports in the Library Catalog *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Includes selected online and paper reports. MODIFY the search and then add in your keywords. SuDoc number: GA 1.13. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=(%22ga%201.13%22)&SORT=D *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Government Printing Office (GPO) via Catalog Interface
Federal government publications. 1976+. Consider using the Advanced Search mode. https://catalog.gpo.gov/F?RN=96575195
Government Printing Office (GPO) via FirstSearch
Alternate interface. 1976+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications in Paper Format
Catalog of government publications. Approximately 1951-2004 in paper and microform. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1135602~S2
Additional U.S. Government Agencies Government Documents at WUSTL Pre-1976 in Paper Format
Many older government documents are available in paper format even though they may not appear in the WUSTL library catalog. Here is the guide to locating these documents. https://wayback.archive-it.org/4359/20201217164524/https://library.wustl.edu/units/westcampus/govdocs/usgovagencies/

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Broad variety of governmental and legal resources. Covers legislative and executive branches. Has legal journals. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951 - ) This link opens in a new window
Also known as IBSS. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Learn more about this database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Broad range of topics. Good database for older articles. Full text. Consider using the Advanced Search mode. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, legal resources. Includes: journals; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers. Legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes. Includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Most newspaper articles are full text. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Nexis Uni Tutorials on YouTube

National Journal in Electronic Format
Federal. Political and legislative topics. 1994+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7609327~S2
National Journal in Paper Format
1969-2010. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1048876~S2
NTIS/NTRL (National Technical Information Service/National Technical Reports Library)
Over 3 million federal government publications covering over 350 subject areas related to government funded activities. 1964+. https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public affairs and public policy. 1914+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
Social Services Abstracts (1979 - ) This link opens in a new window
Covers social work and welfare, human services, policy, community development, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of social and societal topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - ) This link opens in a new window
Covers politics, policy, and legislation. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY

USA.gov
Gateway to government information. Some state and local information. https://www.usa.gov/
Additional Database Resources at WUSTL
WUSTL provides access to hundreds of databases. Search by database name, topic, or browse the A-Z list. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. 1827-1919. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Atlanta Daily World, Historical (1931-2010) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Baltimore Afro-American, Historical (1893 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Boston Globe (1872-1989) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Coverage: 1872-1991. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-2010) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Covers 1909-2010. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Most newspapers are full text. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Factiva (6 users) This link opens in a new window
Covers many business and financial newspapers. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era, Reconstruction, and the Gilded Age (1857 - 1912) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Hartford Courant (1764-1987) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Covers 1764-1997. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Los Angeles Times (1881-2015) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. 1939-2010. Offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Many newspapers are full text. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Nexis Uni Tutorials on YouTube
New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. 1851+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers (1800 - 1900) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Philadelphia Tribune, Historical (1912-2010) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. "The Philadelphia Tribune, the oldest continuously published black newspaper..." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Pittsburgh Courier, Historical (1911-2010) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. "The Pittsburgh Courier was one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers..." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Wall Street Journal via Factiva
Newspaper. CHOOSE Source. Click on the plus sign for The Wall Street Journal. Click on The Wall Street Journal Online. Change the Date from "in the last 3 months" to "All dates." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889-2003) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Covers 1889-2011. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1975 - ) This link opens in a new window
1893+. Directory of American films. Choose from the Genre of documentary. Note: The film may not be available at WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

C-SPAN Video Library
Videos of federal government activities. Consider the tabs for Congress, Executive, and Supreme Court. https://www.c-span.org/
FactCheck.org
"...aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases." Search tab has a keyword box and Archives tab has an issues section. https://www.factcheck.org//
PolitiFact.com
"PolitiFact is an independent fact-checking journalism website aimed at bringing you the truth in politics. PolitiFact's reporters and editors fact-check statements from the White House, Congress, candidates, advocacy groups and more, rating claims for accuracy..." https://www.politifact.com/

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (1975 - ) This link opens in a new window
Search using keywords and documentar* Note: The film may not be available at WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Search using a keyword and documentary. Note: The film may not be available at WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Google Advanced Search for Film Clips
Search Google with your topic's keywords and some of the following: cinema documentaries documentary film films "motion picture" "motion pictures" movie movies "streaming video" "streaming videos" videocast videocasts. https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Google Advanced Search for Radio & Television Clips
Programs on your topic may have clips, interviews, podcasts, etc. Search Google with your topic's keywords and some of the following: broadcast broadcasts interview interviews newscast newscasts podcast podcasts radio "streaming video" "streaming videos" television transcript transcripts video videocast videocasts videos webcast webcasts. https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Nexis Uni Search for News Transcripts
CLICK ON CONTINUE. After page loads, Search Within Results for the keywords related to your topic. Link expires 7-21-2025. [Advanced search> News> Publication Type=news transcripts> Limit to news transcripts] Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Social Policy - Background & Opinion Policy Organizations

Many associations, institutes, interest groups, research centers, think tanks, etc. produce opinion pieces, policy briefs, working papers, etc. Many of their websites have search boxes or list the publications in a publications tab or a research tab. To find these organizations, consider the following resources.

Brookings Institution
"Brookings brings together more than 300 leading experts in government and academia from all over the world who provide the highest quality research, policy recommendations, and analysis on a full range of public policy issues." https://www.brookings.edu/
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Analysis to inform debate over budget and tax policy issues to help ensure the needs of the low-income. Federal and state level. https://www.cbpp.org/
Congressional Member and Staff Organizations
Informal member groups/organizations registered with the Committee on House Administration. https://cha.house.gov/congressional-member-and-staff-organizations

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Information on over 1.5 million organizations. WUSTL subscribes to the Premier version which has more search features and extensive 990s compared to the free version. Off-campus access to the PREMIER version is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

IssueLab.org
By Candid. Social policy research from over 400 nonprofits. https://www.issuelab.org/
John F. Kennedy School of Government (Harvard University)
List of centers, institutes, think tanks, etc. with active links. From the library's research guide: Think tank search. https://guides.library.harvard.edu/hks/think_tank_search/US
JSTOR Open Research Reports (free full text)
"...from over 140 policy institutes around the world." https://about.jstor.org/oa-and-free/open-research-reports
Kaiser Family Foundation
"Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy...We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public." https://www.kff.org/

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Directory of individuals and organizations. There is a tab for nonprofits and associations. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
NOTE: You'll need to allow popups in order to use this site.

Mathematica Policy Research
"Mathematica Policy Research is a pioneering nonpartisan research organization dedicated to improving public well-being. Our 1,200+ experts conduct policy research, data collection, and data analytics that meet the highest standards of quality and objectivity, working with decision makers across the public and private sectors."
https://www.mathematica-mpr.com/
Rand Corporation
"... research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest." https://www.rand.org/
Research Centers Directory in Paper Format
Directory of research centers in the United States. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1120204~S2
Google's Advanced Search for Title Keywords to Find Organizations
Use Google's advanced search in order to limit your keywords to the Title field. Combine your search topic with some of the following words: association, center, clearinghouse, commission, council, institute, network, research, "think tank". https://www.google.com/advanced_search

Here are selected examples of Brown School policy briefs:
Clark-Fox Policy Institute https://clarkfoxpolicyinstitute.wustl.edu/home/publications-2/policy-briefs/
Center for Advancing Health Services, Policy & Economics Research (formerly: Center for Health Economics and Policy) https://publichealth.wustl.edu/centers/cahsper/resources/policy-publications
Center for Public Health Systems Science https://cphss.wustl.edu/products/research-briefs/
Center for Social Development https://csd.wustl.edu/publications/pub-type/briefs/
Center for Violence and Injury Prevention https://cvip.wustl.edu/home/resources/policy-briefs/
Harvey A. Friedman Center for Aging https://publichealth.wustl.edu/briefs-on-aging/
International Center for Child Health and Development https://ichad.wustl.edu/reports/
Prevention Research Center in St. Louis https://prcstl.wustl.edu/tools-and-resources/issue-briefs/

Website Policy Paper Search in Google
Search your topic in Google and use some of the following phrases: "policy analysis", "policy brief", "policy paper", "policy report", "position paper", "program report", "progress report", "research paper", "research report", "white paper", "working paper" https://www.google.com/advanced_search

Social Policy - State & Local Resources

City of St. Louis Government Website
https://www.stlouis-mo.gov/
Council of State Governments (CSG)
"CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy." https://www.csg.org/
FastDemocracy.com
Search for federal or state bills for the past few congresses. Can set up bill or topic tracking for current congress. https://fastdemocracy.com/

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Directory of individuals and organizations. There is a tab for State and Local Government. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
NOTE: You'll need to allow popups in order to use this site.

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
Selected bills back to 1885. https://lrl.texas.gov/legis/billSearch/index.cfm
Missouri State Government Manual - Official Manual of the State of Missouri (also known as the Blue Book)
https://www.sos.mo.gov/bluebook
Missouri State Government Website
https://www.mo.gov/
Missouri State Government Website, Bill Information
Bill tracking section for both Missouri House and Senate bills. https://house.mo.gov/LegislationSP.aspx
Missouri State Government Website, Governor's Legislative Actions
Governor's actions on Missouri bills passed and sent to the governor. https://governor.mo.gov/actions/legislative-actions
Missouri State Government Website, Legislative Districts
Missouri House and Missouri Senate districts. https://www.sos.mo.gov/elections/s_default/maps
Missouri State Government Website, Legislator Look-Up
https://www.senate.mo.gov/LegisLookup/default
Missouri State Government Website, Registered Lobbyists
https://mec.mo.gov/MEC/Lobbying/Searches.aspx
Missouri State Government Website, State Statutes Search
Word search is at the top, followed by Chapters by title, followed by Chapters alphabetically. https://revisor.mo.gov/main/Home.aspx
Missouri State House of Representatives Videos
Floor debates and committee hearings 2015+. https://house.mo.gov/MediaCenter.aspx?selected=DebateArchive
Missouri State Senate Audio of Live Proceedings
Senate's audio archive of live proceedings 2009+. https://senate.mo.gov/Media/AudioArchive
National Association of Counties (NACo)
Policy and analysis from the perspective of the county. https://www.naco.org/
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Policy and analysis to guide state legislative personnel. Research tab is very helpful and includes the Bill Tracking summaries database. https://www.ncsl.org/
National Governors Association (NGA)
Policy and analysis to guide state governors. https://www.nga.org/
National League of Cities
Policy and analysis to guide municipal governments. https://www.nlc.org/

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Selected state statutes, regulations, and codes. Change the All Nexis Uni dropdown arrow to Statutes and legislation. Type your keywords into the search box. Once the results appear, use the Jurisdiction Filter. Then, limit your results by Category. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Nexis Uni Tutorials on YouTube

Open States
Discover politics in your state: Find your legislators, Review their votes, Search upcoming legislation, Track bill progress. Search across the states or select a specific state. Open States is a project of the Sunlight Foundation. https://openstates.org/
Saint Louis County Government Website
https://www.stlouisco.com/
State & Local Government Finances from the Census Bureau
More details on state finances. Local is aggregated for the entire state. https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/gov-finances.html
State Government Information from the Library of Congress
Links to state websites, statutes, and more. https://www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/index.html
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations: Website Links and Telephone Numbers
From the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC [LLSDC]. https://www.llsdc.org/state-legislation
State of the Cities Data Systems
Statistics related to metropolitan areas, cities, and suburbs. Includes demographics, economics, crime, buildings, employment, business, and government finances. https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/socds.html/socds.html
Statewide Ballot Measures Database
NCSL’s Statewide Ballot Measures Database includes all statewide ballot measures in the 50 states and the District of Columbia, starting over a century ago. New measures are added as they are certified and identified by NCSL staff. Results are updated soon after election night; each entry is then updated with “pass” or “fail.” https://www.ncsl.org/research/elections-and-campaigns/ballot-measures-database.aspx
United States Conference of Mayors (USCM)
Policy and analysis to guide mayors. https://www.usmayors.org/

Social Policy -Citing Government Items Resources

Certain government resources are cited differently. Consult these style guides if you use government resources.

Chapter in the AMA Manual of Style in Electronic Format
11th edition, 2020. Consult section 3.16. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style (Legal Items)
7th edition. 2020. See chapter 11. See 11.3 for in-text citations of legal materials. See 11.5 Statutes (Laws and Acts) reference examples. See 11.6 Legislative Materials (reference examples). https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7042764~S2
Peter Coogan: Brown School Communication Lab
Brown School students may contact Peter Coogan for assistance with APA citations. pcoogan@wustl.edu Can also schedule an appointment: Inside Brown, click on the Students tab, scroll down to and click on Communication Lab, and click on “click here to make an appointment,” which opens the log-in page for the Brown School Communication Lab portal on WCOnline. Click on a white space, fill out the appointment form.
APA Style Tutorials and Webinars
American Psychological Association. Resource for learning general information on APA 7th edition. Has a sample paper in APA 7th with annotation. https://apastyle.apa.org/instructional-aids/tutorials-webinars
APA Style Blog
American Psychological Association. Answers to specific problems. https://apastyle.apa.org/blog
NMU Olson Library (APA 7th edition)
Northern Michigan University. Numerous examples of APA 7th edition. https://lib.nmu.edu/help/resource-guides/how-guide/apa-style-7th-edition
Purdue OWL (APA 7th Edition)
Purdue Online Writing Lab, Purdue University. Instruction and examples of APA 7th edition. https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/apa_style/apa_style_introduction.html
Purdue OWL (APA 7th Edition): Legal References
Helpful information when citing some government resources such as legislation and committee reports, etc.

Social Policy - Biographical Information Subpage

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Search for congressmen 1774-present. "... by the Senate Historical Office and the Office of History and Preservation of the House of Representatives..." https://bioguide.congress.gov/search
Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-2005 : the Continental Congress, September 5, 1774, to October 21, 1788, and the Congress of the United States, from the First through the One Hundred Eighth Congresses, March 4, 1789, to January
Available in paper and also electronically from this WUSTL library catalog record. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b3021019~S2
Congressional Directory
Prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). 105th congress+ (1997+.). Short biographies and committee membership. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/CDIR
Congress.gov [member profiles]
Congressional website for selected legislative information including How a bill becomes a law, Member profiles, and full coverage of legislation 1995+ Member profiles back to 1973. https://www.congress.gov/members
Official Congressional Directory in Paper Format
1872+. Prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1204362~S2
Congressional Pictorial Directory in Electronic Format
1997+. Very basic biographical information. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/congressional-pictorial-directory?path=/GPO/Congressional%20Pictorial%20Directory
Congressional Pictorial Directory in Paper Format
1955+. In the WUSTL libraries. SuDoc number: Y 4.P 93/1:1 P/ https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b2272883~S2
GovTrack.us Historical List of Members of Congress
https://www.govtrack.us/congress/members/all
Members of Congress since 1789 in Paper Format
Book published in 1985. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1135049~S2
Almanac of American Politics in Paper Format
1972-2006. In the WUSTL libraries. Profiles of congressmen and state governors. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1032550~S2
Almanac of American Politics in Electronic Format
2000+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7519656~S2

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Current edition only. Click on Congress. Type in the name. Choose the person. After the profile loads, notice the Biography, Education, and Career history sections. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
NOTE: You'll need to allow popups in order to use this site.

Pro/Con Terms - Social Policy Subpage

The following words may help you as you conduct searches for the pro/con of a topic.

ASSESS terms:
accountab* analys* analyz* argu* assess* background cause* choice*
choosing chose* comparative comparing comparison conclud* conclusion*
debat* determin* differences dilemma* discuss* effects evaluat* examin*

expert* factor* future implement* indicator* issues judg* look*
measur* option* outcome* outlook overview* perspective* policy
prefer* principle* re-examin* reason* reexamin* research*
result* review* status summary

PRO terms:
accomplish* achiev* advoca* affect* affirm* agree* approv* assent*
backer* beneficial* benefit* best better capable "case for" champion compliant*
complies comply* concordance* concur* consent* cure* defend desire*
effective* embrace endorse enhanc* fantastic* favor favors favorable for friend*

gain* good great happy help* impact*  importan* improv*  "in favor of"
keep learn* like* love malleable merit* opinion* opportunit* permission*
permit* persua* position positive* praise* praising preach* pro progress*

promise* promote proponent* pros   prove* proving realit* recommend* right*
solution* solve* solving  strength* "subscribe to" succeed* success* support*
truth* understand* upgrad* uphold* value* win winner* winning* wins
won wonderful* work*

CON terms:
acced* acquiesce* adverse aftermath against alter* antagonist*
anti awful* backlash bad barrier* battl* bitter* block blunder* bump
"case against" catastroph* cautio* challeng* change* changing con
concern* conflict* confus* cons consequence* constrain*

contentio* contest* contrary controvers* cost* critic* critiqu*
damag* danger* defeat* defer* deficien* deficit* deleterious*
demand* destroy* destructive deter* detract* detriment* difficult*
disadvantage disagree* disapprove* discontent* discordance*
discourag* dislike* dismal*

drawback* error* evil* exclud* exclusion* fail* fallac* false falter*
farce* fault* fear* fight* fix* flaw* foe foes folly* forbear* forebod*
forego* forsak* fought hamper* harm* hate* hazardous hinder*
hindrance* horrible* hurdle* hurt* impair* impasse* imped*

imperil* implicat* inaccessib* inaccura* inappropriat* ineffective*
inhibit* insufficien* interfer* jeopardize judg* kill* lack* leaves
lesson* lies limit* lose* losing loss* malarky malcontent*
misconception* misconduct* mistake* misunderstand*

modifi* modify* myth* negative* nightmare* obstacle* obstruct*
opponent* oppose* opposing opposition peril* perplex* pitfall*
portend* preclud* preclusion* predicament* prevent* problem*
protest* ramification rancor* reduc* reform* repeal* rescind*
resist* rethink* re-think*

revamp* revise* revision* rhetoric* risk* roadblock* rotten*
ruin ruinous shortcoming* skeptic* "stumbling block*" terrible*
thwart* transform* trouble* tyrann* undermin* unfavorable
unintended unsuccess* untruth* vex* weak* weakness* withdraw*
withhold* worse worsen wrong* yield*

WashU Libraries

A Social Work Research Guide

Brown School Reference Librarian