Brown School Library

The largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide, posting over 1000 stories daily in English and French. Offers a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming and over 900,000 articles dating from 1997.

Over 180,000 pages of documents and images: periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches. Two other collections (African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, and African Plants) are available through the site, but you will not be able to access the full-text of those materials.

'This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.' (from database homepage) Learn more about this database.

Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).

The complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and early 1900s. First-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Dates covered: 1827 - 1919.

Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.

Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries. Learn more about this database.

Historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.

Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles on Black Studies. Combines resources as: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and Black Literature Index.

Contains numerous multimedia sources on the published works of prominent African Americans.

Offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America's first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources.

NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct-action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond. Learn more about this database.

African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field’s institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

The Plantation Records in this module documents the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. As business owners, the commodities produced by plantation owners—rice, cotton, sugar, tobacco, hemp, and others— accounted for more than half of the nation’s exports. The plantation played a key role in the development of a nationwide market economy. Plantation records also document the personal lives of plantation owners and their families.

The St. Louis American stands as a steadfast witness to the community, serving and reporting on the African American experience since its beginning in March 1928. It has evolved into the single largest weekly newspaper in Missouri. The newspaper has been a crucial voice in highlighting St. Louis's historical significance for African Americans, from its key location on the Underground Railroad in the early to mid-19th century, to the establishment of a vibrant Black community, and serving as an active hub for civil rights in the 20th century.

Full text articles from scholarly business journals and other sources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Updated daily. Learn more about this database

EconLit with Full Text contains indexing and abstracts, some full text for 400+ journals and 500+ collected works per year. The database provides indexing and full text for articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and much more. Updated monthly.

Global reporting and analysis on economics, business, geopolitics, technology, and culture. Click "Additional Info" below for login/account creation instructions.
 

Searchable database of publications of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.

Combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Limited to 6 simultaneous users; logoff when finished. Learn more about the new interface.

Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis website with links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.

A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Download data into Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.

Current content of Financial Times (FT) daily newspaper. Includes full-page display (ePaper) of USA, UK, European, Asian and Middle East editions. Users will be asked to re-authenticate twice a year and may receive an email from the Financial Times requesting this. Click Additional Info below for instructions on creating a Financial Times account with your Washington University email.

Scanned IRS 990 returns provide information about the operations, personnel, and finances of nonprofit organizations. Includes over 1.5 million organizations and over 3 million records searchable using varied access points. Data can be sorted and reported in numerous ways.

"Labour statistics play an essential role in the efforts of member States to achieve decent work for all and for the ILO's support of these efforts. These statistics are needed for the development and evaluation of policies towards this goal and for assessing progress towards decent work. They are also an important tool for information and analysis, helping to increase understanding of common problems, explain actions and mobilize interest." (from database homepage)

Statistical information from a wide variety of sources prepared by the NBER. Emphasis is on U.S. but some other country data is also available. Also contains NBER Working Papers.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is an independent national statistical agency that serves as the principal fact-finding agency for Federal Government in broad field of labor economics and statistics. It collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to American public, U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor. An online glossary explains terms as BLS uses them.

Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 185+ billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data Planet repository. Data Planet offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. Learn more about this database.

Robust and highly-detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.

Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis website with links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.

A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Download data into Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.

Site maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy. Provides access to the full range of statistics and information produced by 70 federal government agencies that are of interest to the public.

Interact with, explore, and analyze Gallup data from the U.S. as well as over 160 countries. Includes U.S. economic, well-being, and political data collected daily since 2008 and world data covering economic, social, and well-being issues dating back to 2005. Users can perform detailed searches on hundreds of U.S. and global metrics; filter data by numerous demographic and socioeconomic groups; and create and export custom data tables, trends, charts, and scatterplots.

GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing actionable intelligence spanning 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers you broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies and driving innovation.​

Heath Poll Database is an archive of exclusively health-oriented survey questions. It is designed to support research on topics like the social determinants of health, access to care, individual health status, health policy, and health politics.

India-specific, Sector specific and State specific sites compiling secondary level socio-economic statistical data about India and its states on more than 35 variables. For full access click IP Login in blue banner on site. Please click Logout on blue banner when finished.

Social science data in machine readable form, including election results, polls, surveys, and census. Access is due to the Washington University’s membership in the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Download data and electronic codebooks directly from the ICPSR web site to any University IP address or by using the Olin Library proxy server. The Social Sciences Computing Facility in Seigle Hall will provide technical support for those who need assistance in obtaining data.

"Labour statistics play an essential role in the efforts of member States to achieve decent work for all and for the ILO's support of these efforts. These statistics are needed for the development and evaluation of policies towards this goal and for assessing progress towards decent work. They are also an important tool for information and analysis, helping to increase understanding of common problems, explain actions and mobilize interest." (from database homepage)

Statistical information from a wide variety of sources prepared by the NBER. Emphasis is on U.S. but some other country data is also available. Also contains NBER Working Papers.

Statistics compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics, which is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

A fully web-based online data and mapping application that provides over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.

500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

A tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data, created by users and bibliographers.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. The Center's mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and abroad. Founded in 1947, the Roper Center holds polling data ranging from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Its collection now includes over 22,000 datasets and adds hundreds more each year. In total, the archive contains responses from millions of individuals on a vast range of topics.

Portal for business and industry, government, and demographic statistics that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from some 18,000+ public and commercial sources onto a single, easy-to-search platform. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to qualitative facts on agriculture, economics, finance, information technology, politics and society, and much more.

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Learn more about this database

Official statistics, estimates, and projections produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. Includes indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Learn more about this database

Data tables on foreign nationals granted lawful permanent U.S. residence, admitted as temporary nonimmigrants, granted asylum or refugee status, or are naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including apprehensions and arrests, removals, and returns.

Indexes more than 400 English-language periodicals and books relating to education. Includes full-text articles from 204 of those titles. Updated monthly.

Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly. Links to fulltext ED documents have been added; more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004) are freely available. 

Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly. Links to fulltext ED documents have been added; more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004) are freely available. 

Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly.

Statistics compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics, which is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

Journal index of over 350 periodicals (including some international coverage) in engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology. Includes the full text of more than 98 periodicals beginning in January 1997.

Click "Archives" tab to filter to this collection. Supports research and teaching across various disciplines, including environmental history, twentieth-century global history, transnational studies, imperial and colonial history, and the regional histories of Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Caribbean. Cross-disciplinary themes of sustainability and development, colonial legacies in environmental contexts, and international relations across regions of British imperial and colonial activity give this a broad appeal across subjects that include geography, anthropology, and other social sciences departments.

Click "Archives" tab to filter to this collection. This diverse collection offers a glimpse into what shaped modern policy and legislation in the areas of conservation and environmental protection in the United States. Includes the work of early environmentalists George Bird Grinnell and “father of forestry” Joseph Trimble Rothrock, as well as later activists like Rosalie Edge and Velma “Wild Horse Annie” Johnston. Sift through the records of agencies such as the U.S. Forest Service and the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, as well as the many departments focused on conservation and land-use matters, from water conservation to wildlife management, at both the state and municipal levels.

Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

Contains several databases and publications: Local Climatological Data; Climatological Data; Hourly Precipitation Data; Storm Data; Monthly Climatic Data for the World; COOP Data/Record of Climatological Observations Form; Climatological Data National Summary; and more. Free due to WashU Libraries' status as a US Federal Depository Library.

Online library of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports, acquired, indexed, and archived by the National Technical Information Service. Contains over 2 million titles with links to over 600,000 full-text reports (in PDF). Note: Search to Public NTRL is free but in order to display a full text document you would need to register. Registration is free but Terms and Conditions of use need to be signed.

Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology is an extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline. Topics from all the relevant areas have been selected; these include articles on autoecology, population, community, and ecosystem ecology, the main biomes of the world, as well as articles related to the synthesis of ecology with other disciplines including human ecology, agroecology, and chemical ecology, for example.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science is updated monthly and includes multi-media features embedded in articles, along with cross-referenced links. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science contains in-depth peer-reviewed articles and broad coverage of the field.

Selected Web sites, technical reports, journal articles and other publications. Science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Allows multidatabase searching across up to 10 files.

Grants database that searches some 14,000 funding opportunities available to graduate students, faculty, undergraduate students, and institutions. Access due to a subscription by the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences.

Find scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support for students, artists, researchers, and individuals.

Scanned IRS 990 returns provide information about the operations, personnel, and finances of nonprofit organizations. Includes over 1.5 million organizations and over 3 million records searchable using varied access points. Data can be sorted and reported in numerous ways.

SPIN funding opportunities database is now available via the Research Management System (RMS). With over 40,000 opportunities from more than 10,000 sponsors, SPIN is a consolidated source for easily locating external funding opportunities. More info @ New SPIN Funding Opportunities Database Now Available

Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of 20th century and beyond from more than 35 countries. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.

Over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. Sourced from British and European libraries and archives.

An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings related to transgender history throughout the world.

Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes more than 921,000 records.

A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from 115 publications and archival material. Updated quarterly. Learn more about this database

Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Thousands of journals and other publications covering most subjects. 

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.

The massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.

A way to search for, read, save, and email current journal articles. Many of Washington University’s online journals can be accessed via BrowZine. Search by title or subject, and create personal bookshelves and notifications featuring top journal selections.  BrowZine functions on mobile devices as well as online. Download the app (free to all Washington University students, faculty, and staff) to access thousands of scholarly journals via smartphone or tablet.  Want to learn more about BrowZine? Go to libguides.wustl.edu/browzine or ask your subject librarian.

Provides reviews, ratings, and recommendations to help consumers compare price, performance, and reliability for various products and services, including cars, healthcare, appliances, electronics, baby and child gear, home and garden, personal finance, etc. Also presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial and regulatory actions that affect consumers.

Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. View 24-page previews of dissertations and theses and download the full text.

Includes current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Tables of contents of more than 13,000 publications, with a total of more than 4 million articles. All disciplines are covered, with an emphasis on the sciences.

Access to downloadable audiobooks. For access on mobile devices download the Libby app. Limited to account holders with a Washington University email address. Click Additional Info below for instructions on creating an OverDrive account with your Washington University email.

Contains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. 

Citations, abstracts, or full-text access to dissertations and theses.

The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.

Bibliographic information on over 300,000 serials (journals and magazines), including almost 55,000 ceased titles. Covers academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature.

Bibliographic records for U.S. Government publications generated by the Government Printing Office since July 1976. Many records contain direct links to publications available online. Updated daily with new and historical publication records.

CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs. This repository is retained indefinitely and is available for public health professionals, researchers, as well as the general public.

Theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.

Original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically.

Organized into six categories: Presidential Elections, Congressional Elections, Gubernatorial Elections, Campaigns and Elections, Political Parties, and Voters and Demographics.   Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America.

Full text. Journal index. More than 900 searchable full-text law journals and many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Campus-wide access is due to the subscription by the Washington University Law Library.

Current events and news. Includes access to the National Journal, the Hotline, Congress Daily, and other politics, policy, and government information.

Indexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies. Learn more about this database.

Public policy database with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 25,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, and librarianship. The library has access to North American Cities Reports and Global Think Tanks. Both are searchable through Policy Commons.

(1985-)Full-text of 430 political science and international relations journals, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. Also included are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network, and more than 700 Oxford Analytica country profiles, from 2008 to current.

Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes: CIS Legislative Histories (public laws back to 1969), Congressional publications (1817 - ), testimony from Congressional hearings (1824-), Congressional Record and Federal Register, U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969, Serial Set Maps, 1789-1969, and more. Learn more about this database.

Covers political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. Includes the former ABC POL SCI database. Learn more about this database.

Indexes over 5,000 journals in a variety of subject areas. Full text available for the journals to which the Libraries subscribe.

This resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

Journal index. Article citations about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Analyses of current political, economic, and social issues as well as unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters.

An annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants.

Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia to guide researchers to the best available scholarship in Latin American Studies. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Also includes expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline – whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set – to streamline the research process.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in Latin American History. The encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. This source is regularly updated.

Access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

Access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. Learn more about this database.

A searchable archive of historical documents gathered by the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine in collaboration with the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of 20th century and beyond from more than 35 countries. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.

Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social history, and public policy implications of disease.

Searchable database of publications of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.

Click "Archives" tab to filter to this collection. This diverse collection offers a glimpse into what shaped modern policy and legislation in the areas of conservation and environmental protection in the United States. Includes the work of early environmentalists George Bird Grinnell and “father of forestry” Joseph Trimble Rothrock, as well as later activists like Rosalie Edge and Velma “Wild Horse Annie” Johnston. Sift through the records of agencies such as the U.S. Forest Service and the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, as well as the many departments focused on conservation and land-use matters, from water conservation to wildlife management, at both the state and municipal levels.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text.  More information about HathiTrust.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos. Also features video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Major partners include the National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, University of Alberta, Moravian Archives, Gonzaga University, Wichita State University, and more.

Journals, books, images and primary sources.

NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct-action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond. Learn more about this database.

This collection includes political, religious, legal, medical, commercial, and military perspectives of Native American history. Users are provided a diverse collection of primary source materials dating from 1800 through the late 20th century.

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in Latin American History. The encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. This source is regularly updated.

Deadly epidemics have been challenging the populace since the earliest settlers came to American shores. Research and read first-hand accounts of American infectious diseases in these collections. Part I: Newspapers (1736-1922), Part II: Books (1823-1928).

The Plantation Records in this module documents the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. As business owners, the commodities produced by plantation owners—rice, cotton, sugar, tobacco, hemp, and others— accounted for more than half of the nation’s exports. The plantation played a key role in the development of a nationwide market economy. Plantation records also document the personal lives of plantation owners and their families.

The Times Educational Supplement (TES) is one of the most well-regarded primary and secondary education news sources. Founded a handful of years before the onset of World War I, TES became the leading publication on public policy and pedagogical practice over the decades, not only in the United Kingdom but worldwide. The current TES works with 25,000 schools in more than 100 countries and provides innovative services and access to over 900,000 teacher-made resources to help teachers succeed in the classroom.

Citations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in English and other European languages, 19th century to present. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.

Includes current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos. Also features video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Major partners include the National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, University of Alberta, Moravian Archives, Gonzaga University, Wichita State University, and more.

This collection includes political, religious, legal, medical, commercial, and military perspectives of Native American history. Users are provided a diverse collection of primary source materials dating from 1800 through the late 20th century.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.

Original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically.

In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

(1969-) Covers over 450 publications which support research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. In addition to scholarly journals, this database also includes trade publications, reports, news, crime statistics, and crime blogs. Covers such topics as criminology, corrections & law enforcement, criminal law, criminal justice, criminal rehabilitation, addictions, alcoholism, gambling, child abuse, and industrial crime.

Full text. Journal index. More than 900 searchable full-text law journals and many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Campus-wide access is due to the subscription by the Washington University Law Library.

Indexing and full text of over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications.

Indexes legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand between 1908 and 1981.

Legislative Insight provides legislative histories with digital full-text publications. It contains over 27,000 legislative histories for federal laws, including some enacted as far back as 1789. Only includes congressional publications that are related to bills enacted into law that are included in this database. For other full-text congressional documents, see ProQuest Congressional.

Database covers corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime. Includes abstracts to Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research.

Current events and news. Includes access to the National Journal, the Hotline, Congress Daily, and other politics, policy, and government information.

Up-to-date news, business, and legal information. 

Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes: CIS Legislative Histories (public laws back to 1969), Congressional publications (1817 - ), testimony from Congressional hearings (1824-), Congressional Record and Federal Register, U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969, Serial Set Maps, 1789-1969, and more. Learn more about this database.

Covers political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. Includes the former ABC POL SCI database. Learn more about this database.

Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of 20th century and beyond from more than 35 countries. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.

Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. Also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Contains books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Includes selections from The National Archives in Kew, activist and publisher Tracy Baim, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, among others.

Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Indexed materials are international in scope selected from psychology and related journals published globally in over 25 languages. Updated weekly. Learn more about this database

Offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience from the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group (English-language titles).

1985-Present; ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HAPI: (a) provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and "reinvention of the wheel."

Database is a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments, covering psychology, education, business, leadership, and more. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Psychology provides long-form, articles written by experts from the field.

A free preprint service for the psychological sciences.

Online periodical containing reviews for psychology-related material published by the American Psychological Association.

Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Users can create clips and store them in the Video Library. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice as it is done by today's leading practitioners in North America. The database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics.

Produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Both current and retrospective coverage to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Learn more about this database.

The largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide, posting over 1000 stories daily in English and French. Offers a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming and over 900,000 articles dating from 1997.

Includes current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Limited to 6 simultaneous users; logoff when finished. Learn more about the new interface.

Current content of Financial Times (FT) daily newspaper. Includes full-page display (ePaper) of USA, UK, European, Asian and Middle East editions. Users will be asked to re-authenticate twice a year and may receive an email from the Financial Times requesting this. Click Additional Info below for instructions on creating a Financial Times account with your Washington University email.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Provides information from the world's top news resources. A good source for local and regional news. Please note that full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

Create an account using your Washington University email address. See the FAQ.
To register for an account, 
1. Follow the link to accessnyt.com 
2. Type and select "Washington University - Saint Louis” in the box.
3. Create account and complete registration fields.

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database.

Up-to-date news, business, and legal information. 

Full-color, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world, providing instant access to 1000+ newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. For most papers, only the most current 60 days are available. Learn more about this database.

Offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.

1946-Present, international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Learn more about the new interface.

If you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed.

Provides access to over 60 key medical texts, including Harrison’s Online, plus a drug database, case files, and practice guidelines.

Offers medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources.

A searchable archive of historical documents gathered by the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine in collaboration with the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Indexed materials are international in scope selected from psychology and related journals published globally in over 25 languages. Updated weekly. Learn more about this database

Full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Ovid updates books with most recent edition or with chapter/section updates when they are received from the publisher. Select Books@Ovid and pull down "limit to Books" to browse the available eBooks including many of the current Washington Manuals. To download a PDF file select the View in Book Reader button to access the eBook. Then select the green arrow to view the available Tools. Export to PDF is one of the available Tools. Learn more about the new interface.

CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs. This repository is retained indefinitely and is available for public health professionals, researchers, as well as the general public.

Indexes journals and other materials in the fields of nursing and allied health.

Evidence-based healthcare. Includes several distinct searchable databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and others. Provides Cochrane evidence based reviews for interventions, therapies, and rehabilitation in the healthcare field. Clinical trials are searchable and linked to full text articles where available.

Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social history, and public policy implications of disease.

Ditki (formerly Draw it to Know it) provides a multi-modal, efficient learning platform for faculty and students. The step-wise, instructional approach to learning engages one in ways that promote quicker understanding and long-term retention, to encourage confidence in subject mastery. Washington University in St. Louis has access to all the modules. Users will need to register for individual accounts to access the self-assessment exams. Includes modules in Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology, Neuroscience, Biochemistry and more. Prepare for exams with interactive exercises, drills, quizzes, and downloadable flashcards.

A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more.

Provides information on public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology, and mycology.

Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

1985-Present; ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HAPI: (a) provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and "reinvention of the wheel."

Heath Poll Database is an archive of exclusively health-oriented survey questions. It is designed to support research on topics like the social determinants of health, access to care, individual health status, health policy, and health politics.

Book catalogue of the Army Surgeon General's library and the predecessor of Index Medicus/ Medline. Invaluable for searching materials on the history of medicine, especially pamphlets, dissertations, and journal articles from the 19th and early 20th centuries.  Learn more about this database.

Provides 16,000+ videos illustrating key concepts, research techniques and experiments across multiple science disciplines.
JoVE Unlimited access includes:
● JoVE Journal: Peer-reviewed journal with articles published in video and text format.
● JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments: Video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments.
● JoVE Science Education: A library of videos that illustrate research methods, concept application, and real-world examples.
● JoVE Lab Manual: Curriculum-focused video resources for commonly taught introductory labs with step-by-step instructions.
● JoVE Core: Video textbooks that bring introductory concepts and methods to life.
● JoVE Book: Digital book that explains scientific concepts and practices through video demonstrations, supplemented with in-depth text explanations and practice quizzes.

Indexes the scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.

MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). More information.

Over 1000 fulltext ebooks, over 500 fulltext ejournals, and databases Medline (Ovid) and Health & Psychosocial Instruments. Learn more about the new interface.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on public health, a field with a mission to assess, develop, and assure the health of a population.

International database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care.

Over 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database.

Deadly epidemics have been challenging the populace since the earliest settlers came to American shores. Research and read first-hand accounts of American infectious diseases in these collections. Part I: Newspapers (1736-1922), Part II: Books (1823-1928).

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.

Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature.

Journal, essay, and book review index. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion.

Presents religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many updated, and approximately 600 new articles have been added.

'This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.' (from database homepage) Learn more about this database.

Information on journal rankings and impact factors in the sciences and social sciences, based on citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.

Tool to visualize research performance of groups and individuals, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyze research trends. 
Individual SciVal account required. If you have an account for Scopus or ScienceDirect (or other Elsevier product), you can use your Elsevier account credentials for SciVal. If you do not have an Elsevier account, you can register by clicking 'Register Now' link on the SciVal Login page.  More information or see Online Manual or Quick Guide after login.

Bibliographic information on over 300,000 serials (journals and magazines), including almost 55,000 ceased titles. Covers academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Abstracts and indexes over 600 journals and periodicals, from more than 16 countries, spanning literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics from 1987 to present.

Systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare. Freely available.

Indexes over 5,000 journals in a variety of subject areas. Full text available for the journals to which the Libraries subscribe.

Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields. Includes coverage of over 1,000 core titles and features full-text for more than 600 active periodicals.

Includes current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.

International database of bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters for the social sciences since 1951.  Learn more about this database.

Urban Studies is a broad, interdisciplinary field of study that includes subfields not only in most of the major social sciences, but also in the humanities, and in more technical fields such as architecture, planning, engineering, environmental science, and legal studies. Bibliographic essays within Oxford Bibliographies in Urban Studies are written by known experts in the field, who can provide a guided selection of these pertinent materials, as well as the much needed content for understanding the referenced titles.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.

Free, open access, open source archive for social science research; papers on SocArXiv will be permanently available and free to the public.

Provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). The SSRN eLibrary consists of abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.

Scholarly journals, plus extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Access provided by the Brown School Library.

(1952-) Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts are pulled from nearly 2,000 serial publications including journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers, plus citations to important book reviews related to the social sciences.

(1985-) Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. Provides full-text coverage of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work, including many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.

Data tables on foreign nationals granted lawful permanent U.S. residence, admitted as temporary nonimmigrants, granted asylum or refugee status, or are naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including apprehensions and arrests, removals, and returns.

The Encyclopedia of Social Work is the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly. Updates will occur on a monthly basis.

Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field of social work scholarship.

Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Learn more about this database

Database is a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments, covering psychology, education, business, leadership, and more. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.