Alumni Library Resources
As a graduate of the Brown School, you have access to many library resources for your professional use and continuing education. Below is a list of online databases that are available for your use, along with instructions for accessing them.
Brown School Library
The Brown School has made SocINDEX for Alumni, CINAHL Plus and Academic Search: Alumni Edition available to alumni through a special agreement with EBSCO. To sign up for free access to these databases, please send an email to the Brown School Library. Please include the following in your email:
- Your name
- Your email
- Your address
- Your graduation year
- A username – please make this something recognizable, maybe your username for your email or internet system
- A password* – something you will remember that includes at least one special character (for example: !#$%&")
Once your information is received, your account will be established, and you will receive an email confirming your access. Note: These databases are for your use only. Your login information should not be shared with others. *your password will expire after 365 days
SocINDEX for Alumni provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include: abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others. Core journal coverage goes back to 1905; select journal coverage goes as far back as 1895. Login to SocINDEX for Alumni.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL plus) covers literature in journals, reports, conferences, dissertations and evidence-based practice. The database includes material back to 1937; some full text is included. Login to CINAHL plus.
Academic Search: Alumni Edition is multi-disciplinary database that includes over 2,600 full-text journals. Login to Academic Search: Alumni Edition.
General Access Databases
The ERIC database includes 800,000 references to a range of educational topics. The database, which is updated monthly, includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculum, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Find free access to ERIC here.
Medline, via PubMed includes more than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated daily. Find free access to MEDLINE here.
The PILOTS database (Published International Literature on Stress) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events without disciplinary, linguistic or geographical limitations and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Find free access to PILOTS here.