A Social Work Research Guide

University of Southern California. "...School of Social Work professor Dorian Traube discusses Evidenced-Based Practice in the field of Social Work" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPqv9K-IZUI

https://libguides.wustl.edu/social-work/websitespage

https://libguides.wustl.edu/social-work/statisticssubpage

https://libguides.wustl.edu/social-work/testmeasuresubpage

An evidence-based database for systematic reviews in the social and behavioral sciences, along with education and criminal justice. https://www.campbellcollaboration.org/library.html

https://www.partnershipagainstcancer.ca/tools/cancer-guidelines-database/#

Child Trends’ What Works is a searchable register of over 700 programs that have had at least one randomized evaluation to assess child or youth outcomes related to education, life skills, and social/emotional, mental, physical, behavioral, or reproductive health. https://www.childtrends.org/what-works/

The CMA Infobase is a public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by the Canadian Medical Association, it includes guidelines developed or endorsed by an authoritative medical or health organization in Canada. https://joulecma.ca/cpg/homepage

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Quality measures inventory. https://cmit.cms.gov/cmit/#/

"...repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content... This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies." https://guidelines.ecri.org/

"U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical recommendations for each topic." https://www.ahrq.gov/prevention/guidelines/guide/index.html

McMaster University (Ontario, Canada). "Search our database of 8,295 quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data." Updated monthly. https://healthevidence.org/search.aspx

Turning Research Into Practice. "Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care." https://www.tripdatabase.com/

"...reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services." https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/topic_search_results?topic_status=P

From the EBSS Social Work Committee. Has general resources (Ref, Organizations, Databases), Statistics, Data Sets, Open Access, Tests & Measures, Policy, Selecting in Social Work, and Evidence Synthesis and Advanced Reviews. https://acrl.libguides.com/social_work_toolkit/home

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. https://aspe.hhs.gov/

From: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Numerous guidelines and best practices. https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/php/state-and-community-work/guides-for-states.html

Has models, frameworks, tools, and plans. https://www.cdc.gov/public-health-gateway/php/public-health-strategy/public-health-strategies-for-community-health-assessment-models-frameworks-tools.html

"...resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change. It offers thousands of pages of tips and tools for taking action in communities." The Community Tool Box is a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. https://ctb.ku.edu/en/toolkits

By the Community Tool Box. Following the list are resources by category. The Community Tool Box is a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. https://ctb.ku.edu/en/databases-best-practices

"... help researchers and practitioners navigate D&I theories, models, and frameworks (TMFs) through planning, selecting, combining, adapting, using, and linking to measures." https://dissemination-implementation.org/

Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating (EPPI) Centre is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. Offers resources related to health, education, and welfare. https://eppi.ioe.ac.uk/cms/

Information about evidence-based practice related to the behavioral sciences. https://ebbp.org/

From the National Cancer Institute. "The Evidence Based Cancer Control Programs (EBCCP) site was developed in response to Cancer Control P.L.A.N.E.T users’ need to easily access program materials for evidence-based cancer control programs." https://ebccp.cancercontrol.cancer.gov/index.do

An Evidence-based practice research guide produced by the University of Washington Health Sciences Library. https://guides.lib.uw.edu/hsl/ebp

You can search all EPC reports. https://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/evidence-based-reports/index.html

From the Child Welfare Information Gateway. Selected programs. https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/preventing/evidence/

Provides the definition of evidence-based practice along with guidance in formulating the question and advice on searching appropriate databases. Produced by Leonard Gibbs, Eamon Armstrong, Donna Raleigh, and Josette Jones. Based on: Evidence-Based Practice for the Helping Professions by L. Gibbs (2003).
http://www.evidence.brookscole.com/index.html

https://www.samhsa.gov/ebp-resource-center

These pages provide definitions of types of evidence-based studies. They also describe primary and secondary sources. https://guides.downstate.edu/c.php?g=856794&p=6137636

https://www.cdc.gov/public-health-gateway/php/communications-resources/national-health-initiatives-strategies-action-plans.html

From the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention). "How to" information and resources. https://www.cdc.gov/eval/resources/index.htm

"... growing interest in interventions attending to patients’ social determinants of health (SDH) in health care delivery, including both activities that mitigate the impacts of SDH on health care delivery and those that aim to change patients' SDH. Stronger evidence of effectiveness of interventions, complemented by convincing implementation and dissemination research, is needed to inform decision-making and secure health care sector funding for these activities. The Social Interventions Research and Evaluation Network (SIREN) at UCSF was launched in the spring of 2016 to synthesize, disseminate, and catalyze rigorous research in this field." https://sirenetwork.ucsf.edu/tools/evidence-library

World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/publications/guidelines/en/

Brown School research center. Research tab may be helpful. "The Centene Center for Health Transformation is an innovative industry-academic collaboration between the Brown School, Duke University and Centene Corporation, a leading Fortune 500 managed care company. The center focuses efforts on translating evidence-based healthcare methods into real-world settings to actively improve the lives and health of vulnerable populations." https://socialpolicyinstitute.wustl.edu/items/centene-center/

Brown School research center. The Publications tab may be helpful. The Washington University CDTR is a regional and national resource to investigators committed to translating interventions that have demonstrated efficacy into healthcare settings, communities, and populations at-risk. The CDTR supports studies around two interacting scientific themes: the root causes of diabetes and disparities; and the prevention of obesity as a major contributing cause of type 2 diabetes. CDTR Cores, offering a range of support and services, include: Dissemination and Implementation in Diabetes Research; Health Communication and Health Literacy; Health Informatics in Diabetes Research; Policy and Systems Science Analysis; Research Partnerships with American Indian/Alaska Native Communities; Solutions to Diabetes in Black Americans. https://cdtr.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. See the Projects & Publications tab. "...research agenda to improve mental health care in the social services." https://cmhsr.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. "The mission of the Center for Obesity Prevention and Policy Research (COPPR) is to improve the health of underserved populations by engaging in trans-disciplinary research that discovers new science and integrates it into policies designed to prevent obesity." https://obesityprevention.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. Products tab is helpful. "Our mission at the Center for Public Health Systems Science is to create sustainable solutions to public health problems. We achieve this by connecting research and evaluation, leading to: Better integration of theory and practice; Greater understanding of whole systems; Improved health policies; Rapid adoption of evidence-based policies and practices. .. We work toward our vision by concentrating in four focus areas: Prevention Policy Research - Engaging in innovative policy research in tobacco control and other chronic disease areas, Informing advocacy for effective public health policy. Policy and Systems Evaluation - Evaluating public health programs and policies, Examining multi-site local, state, and national initiatives, Building evaluation capacity. Innovative Methods - Social network analysis, Multi-level modeling; Concept mapping, Geographic information systems (GIS). Knowledge Translation - Communicating research and evaluation findings, Providing tools for program sustainability, Contributing to evidence-based guidelines, Implementing data visualization and dissemination best practices." https://cphss.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. The Publications tab is helpful. "The Center for Social Development's mission is to create and study innovations in policy and practices that enable individuals, families and communities to formulate and achieve life goals, and contribute to the economy and society. Through innovation, research and policy development, CSD makes intellectual and applied contributions in social development theory, evidence, community projects and public policy. .. he Center for Social Development’s broad engagements in research and social innovation encompass seven primary areas: Financial Inclusion; Civic Engagement and Service; Thriving Communities; Child and Youth Development; Social Justice; Environment and Social Development; and Race, Inequality and Social Mobility. " https://csd.wustl.edu/

CSD publications in lists by category. https://openscholarship.wustl.edu/csd/

Brown School research center. The Research & Resources tab may be helpful. "Our mission is to promote healthy young families and healthy young adults by advancing evidence-based violence prevention through a range of education, research, & training activities." https://cvip.wustl.edu/

"Established by the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis, the Maxine Clark and Bob Fox Policy Institute is a center for public policy engagement. Our mission is to advance social and economic justice by working collaboratively to connect evidence-based policy solutions to public awareness, practitioner training, and policy decision-making." https://clarkfoxpolicyinstitute.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. The Research tab is helpful. "... seeks to eliminate health disparities by increasing the reach and effectiveness of health information to low-income and minority populations.​​​ The HCRL’s innovative and community-based research: Finds new ways to reach disadvantaged populations affected most by health disparities; Develops and delivers effective health interventions designed specifically for these populations; Uses technology and partnerships to connect people to health services in their community." https://hcrl.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. The Publications tab is helpful. "The International Center for Child Health and Development (ICHAD)’s mission is to contribute to the reduction of poverty and the improvement of health and overall developmental outcomes for youth and families in low-resource communities, particularly those in sub-Saharan Africa. The Center conducts rigorous applied research focused on family-level economic strengthening and empowerment interventions that tackle the interactive effects of poverty, disease, and health-related risk factors for youth. ICHAD also seeks to increase public awareness and support for asset-based social programs, as well as to promote research-driven policy and programming." https://ichad.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. The Research and then the Products tabs may be helpful. "The Buder Center for American Indian Studies (BCAIS) is a premier graduate degree scholarship program in social work committed to the education of American Indian MSW students. The Buder Center recruits qualified American Indian scholars; provides student support in a demanding course of study; develops curriculum; conducts research and engages in policy development that directly impacts Indian Country. We prepare future American Indian leaders to practice in tribal and urban settings, making significant contributions to the health, wellness and the sustained future of Indian Country." https://sites.wustl.edu/budercenter/

Brown School research center. The Publications and the Tools & Resources tabs are helpful. "The Prevention Research Center in St. Louis (PRC-StL) explores behaviors that place people at risk for chronic diseases such as obesity, cancer and diabetes. Center researchers conduct and share research on physical activity, policy, the built environment, and the translation of evidence into public health practice, while placing particular emphasis on vulnerable populations." https://prcstl.wustl.edu/

Brown School research center. "Funded by the National Institute of Mental Health, the SMART Africa Center (Strengthening Mental health And Research Training) is an African regional trans-disciplinary collaborative center aimed at reducing gaps in child and adolescent mental health services and research in Ghana, Kenya, and Uganda through a population approach to child mental health." https://sites.wustl.edu/smartafrica/

Brown School research center. Our mission ​is to develop the science and application of system dynamics in human services and communities. The Social System Design Lab (SSDL) pursues its mission through research, community engagement, and teaching with a commitment to evidence based practice, social justice, and capacity building. https://socialsystemdesignlab.wustl.edu/

"... framework public health and clinical scientists can use to demonstrate the impact of their work in the real world." From the Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences (ICTS) at the School of Medicine and the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis. Covers clinical, community, economic, and policy/legislative benefits. https://translationalsciencebenefits.wustl.edu/

From WUSTL's Institute of Clinical & Translational Sciences, Bernard Becker Medical Library, Center for Public Health systems Science (Brown School). Impact of the translational science model applied to the real world. https://translationalsciencebenefits.wustl.edu/case-studies/