Research Guides: A Social Work Research Guide: Grants & Philanthropy Related Websites Subpage

Grants & Philanthropy Related Websites Subpage

The following are frequently used websites that provide reference or statistical information:
(Note: NAICS code 813211 Grantmaking Foundations)

About Grants (NIH grant writing information)
Information on how to write applications for NIH (National Institutes of Health) grants. https://grants.nih.gov/grants/about_grants.htm
AmeriCorps Partner Tab
AmeriCorps provides funding to organizations committed to improving communities. Includes how to apply, and exploring our current funding opportunities. https://americorps.gov/partner
Assistance Listings
Formerly called: Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Federal funding available to groups, individuals, and local governments for federal programs. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings
Better Business Bureau Charity Information
https://www.bbb.org/local/0734/local_0734_charities-donors.html
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (grants) - now called Assistance Listings
CFDA is now called Assistance Listings. Lists programs and funding information. Has contact information for applying for funds. https://sam.gov/content/assistance-listings
Catalog of Nonprofit Literature (Foundation Center)
"...database of the literature of philanthropy. It incorporates the unique contents of the Foundation Center's five libraries..." https://catalog.candid.org/
Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University
Research archive may be helpful. https://philanthropy.iupui.edu/
Charity Navigator
Information and ratings on thousands of nonprofits. https://www.charitynavigator.org/
Databases Freely Available on Grants & Philanthropy
See the Grants and the Researchers boxes on the subpage, "Freely Searchable Databases by Subject for Alumni." https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301116#s-lg-box-888616
Developing Competitive SAMHSA Grant Applications
Information on how to write applications for SAMHSA. https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/developing-competitive-samhsa-grant-application-12122019.pdf
Exempt Organizations Select Check (IRS Internal Revenue Service)
From the IRS. Thousands of nonprofits with tax exempt status. https://www.irs.gov/charities-non-profits/search-for-tax-exempt-organizations
FDO Quick Start
Foundation directory online by Candid has a quick search for foundations. Requires free registration. https://fconline.foundationcenter.org/welcome/quick-start
Federal Assistance Award Data System (FAADS) (now known as usaspending.gov)
Contacts of grant recipients. One can contact them to learn about the successful recipients' experiences. https://www.usaspending.gov/
Federal Register
Announcements of guidelines for obtaining federal funds. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/FR
Financial Aid for Students: Online Resources
June 12, 2018. Congressional Research Service. Report number: R43108. https://crsreports.congress.gov/product/pdf/R/R43108
Foundation Center (now Candid)
Information related to non-federal sources of funding. Basic search is available about halfway down the page, FDO Quick Start. https://candid.org/find-funding?fcref=lr
Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing (similar to REF HG177.5 U6 G44)
https://grantspace.org/training/guide-to-proposal-writing-audiobook/
Foundation Center's Proposal Writing Free Tutorials (similar to REF HG177.5 U6 G44)
Webinars that are free. https://grantspace.org/training/search/format/on-demand/price/free/sort/date_desc_num/keyword/proposal/

Foundation Directory
Foundation Directory Online data is compiled from IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF, grantmaker websites, annual reports, printed application guidelines, the philanthropic press, and various other sources. Grantmaker Profiles include: Private & independent foundations, Corporate foundations, U.S. Federal funders, Public charities, and International foundations. Detailed grant information. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Gateway Center for Giving (now called Philanthropy Missouri)
Organization for grantmakers in Missouri. https://www.philanthropymissouri.org/
Grant Forward (formerly called IRIS) (grants database)
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php?q=grant%20forward&p=1
GrantGopher.com
Create a free account. Then, you can search for grants and view 5 profiles. https://grantgopher.com/#/
Grantmaking: FirstNations.org
"Our grantmaking program provides both financial and technical resources to tribes and Native nonprofit organizations to support asset-based development efforts." https://www.firstnations.org/grantmaking/
Grants.gov (federal grants)
https://www.grants.gov/

Web of Science (1900 - )
Grants Index. Contains over 5 million grant award records, 1953 to present, from over 400 funding agencies and more than 15 countries. To select the Grants Index, click on the "Search in" dropdown arrow. Select Grants Index. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Grants to Individuals
Find scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support for students, artists, researchers, and individuals. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

GuideStar
Provides "information about nonprofits and the work they do." This material is provided by the organizations and public files. The basic version is free to everyone. Off-campus access to the premier version is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
Library Catalog Search for Grants
https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=d:(grants%20OR%20scholarships%20OR%20endowments%20OR%20charitable)%20and%20d:(directory%20OR%20directories)&SORT=D
National Directory of Scholarships, Internships & Fellowships for Latino Youth [CHCI NextOpp] (REF LB2338 c66)
Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI) is proud to release CHCI NextOpp, a new powerful online version of its National Directory of Scholarships, Internships, and Fellowships for Latino Students. https://chcinextopp.com/guest-landing/
Nonprofit Explorer
By ProPublica. Database of tax exempt organizations. This source provides the 990 IRS filings along with executive compensation and other organizational information. Searches can be limited by broad subject category, state, or other filing type. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/
Nonprofit Missouri (NPMO)
Good advocacy resources and additional nonprofit resources. https://www.nonprofitmissouri.org/
Philanthropy Missouri (formerly known as Gateway Center for Giving)
https://www.philanthropymissouri.org/
Planning and Paying for College: Federal Government Resources
Dec.29, 2020. Congressional Research Service. Insight number: IN11563. https://crsreports.congress.gov/product/pdf/IN/IN11563
Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG)
2021. National Science Foundation. Formerly called the Grant Proposal Guide. https://www.nsf.gov/publications/pub_summ.jsp?ods_key=papp
Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT) (formerly CRISP)
Database for NIH (National Institutes of Health) funding. https://report.nih.gov/
R01 Sample Applications and Summary Statements
A few examples of applications from the NIH website.
SPIN - An InfoEd Global Product
Database of sponsored funding opportunities. Access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://research.wustl.edu/funding/finding-funding/
Statistics Subpage for Grants & Philanthropy
For statistics, see the Grants & Philanthropy box on the statistics subpage. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301062#s-lg-box-890022
Washington University's Office of Research, Identify Funding Section
https://research.wustl.edu/funding/
Washington University's Foundation Relations Department
Our purpose is to connect Danforth faculty and leaders with private foundation funding through skillful grants research, cultivation, solicitation, and stewardship practices. Has University Funding Research Resources. https://advancement.wustl.edu/corporate-foundation-relations/foundation-relations/
WUSTL Library Directories Related to Grants, Scholarships, Etc.
https://catalog.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=t:(directory%20OR%20directories)%20or%20d:(directory%20OR%20directories)%20and%20t:(grant*%20OR%20giving%20OR%20financial%20OR%20foundation*%20OR%20scholarship*%20OR%20money)&SORT=DX

A Social Work Research Guide

Brown School Reference Librarian

Grants & Philanthropy Related Websites Subpage

Subpages for the Websites Page